Criminal logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Law School Murders: The Living

The subject of morticians arises.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Law School Murders: The Living
Photo by panyawat auitpol on Unsplash

The Goulding parked itself and Kim stepped out of it. She carried her briefcase and continued into the school. In about thirty more days, the world would know the sentence of the murderer of the three frat boys.

Once she realized this fact, Kim dug in even deeper into her work to keep herself from being too excited about the news. She considered Miss Nova’s request and found that she was more than prepared to hand her over to the authorities. She just couldn’t pinpoint the truth.

By Mayron Oliveira on Unsplash

“During the invasion, the killer used a claw of a hammer as well. This was admitted in court. But it didn’t matter. The evidence had mounted for weeks. In everything, there seemed to be just enough to prove the guilt of the defendant. That’s what you’re going to have to consider. Though you know that the person you’re defending is guilty, you must present a face that says that you can still help them.”

Then a brown hand went up in the air. Miss Nova’s.

“Yes.”

“Professor Jergensen, do you just sit there knowing that guilt of your client and you just stand up there and act like the person is innocent?”

“It’s sad but true. You're tasked with making sure justice is served. When you know the facts and the evidence and the proof to condemn them are stacked up against him or her, you must defend them. It’s the system of justice.”

By Eli Solitas on Unsplash

Miss Nova pressed. “But how many cases have there been when the defender completely bailed on their defendant?”

“Yes. it is in your rights to refuse to represent anyone. It then falls to the next lawyer until someone picks up the case.”

Miss Nova continued.

“What if nobody wants to defend them?”

“There would most likely be a mistrial.”

Miss Nova sat that last remark like a hammer slamming through a watermelon.

“If you have any other questions I’ll be available for after-hours in my office.”

Miss Nova found her way to Kim. She looked perky and primped.

“I’m sorry I ask so many questions during your lecture. I just have so many ideas popping up all the time.”

“What is it, Miss Nova?”

“I was really intrigued with the talk you gave. It really resonated with me. I’m considering being a public defender. I know there’s no money in it. But I like the idea of helping people, you know? That’s why I decided to become a PD because a prosecutor will be too vicious. I don’t want that. I want to be the hero of someone whose life has been upturned. I just want to be the one to aid them in this hour of need.”

By Rhodi Lopez on Unsplash

“Have you considered a full lawyer’s life?”

Kim asked.

“My parents are morticians. I know what it’s like to shelter someone from the storm. It’s a demanding job. It’s something I could have done more. I tried it. It wasn’t for me to explore. I remember what my dad always said, ‘It’s not the dead you have to worry about, it’s the living.’ I have been trying to live up to that statement ever since. The knowledge of people taking their frustrations out on others is truly appalling. The deceased don’t have that problem.”

Kim processed Nova’s words with a few red flags jumping up and out at her. She probably witnessed a great deal of deaths. So if she is the culprit behind the death threat, it would be poetic justice.

“No, my uncle was a mortician. I know that life to an extent. I haven’t been able to piece together everything.”

fiction

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.