Criminal logo

It Can't Wait

Just listen.

By Micah JamesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Full Axeman letter

They never caught me and they never will. They have never seen me, for I am invisible, even as the either that surrounds your earth. I am not a human being, but a spirit and a demon from the hottest hell. I am what you Orleanians and your foolish police call the Axeman…

- From the Axeman’s letter, March 13, 1919

This can’t wait. And please don’t interrupt me. If you do, I may not have enough time to tell you before I have to go back. Don’t you dare speak. When I am done and if there is time, then you are free to ask questions if you have any. But please, just listen.

And I know you just want me to get on with it, but I need you to promise me that this doesn’t leave this room. No, don’t say anything. Nod if you agree that you won’t say anything to anyone.

Okay, good.

Now, this is going to sound absolutely insane. Whether you believe it or not, you just need to hear me out. That’s all I ask.

You know those dreams I’ve been having? Well, I guess they’re more like nightmares, but I’ve told you about them. They’ve always felt like memories to me and it’s so obvious now. It’s crazy how obvious it was.

The Axeman of New Orleans. That’s me. Yes, the last trace of him was over 100 years ago, but it’s not impossible that he’s gone. I’m a demon! That’s how I’ve been able to live as long as I have.

In those dreams, I was always in hell or about to kill one of those victims. And I was sent to this realm to bring back pure souls. There were so many times I was almost caught. Thankfully I didn’t. I don’t know what would’ve happened if I did.

Have you read my letter? The one I wrote in 1919? So I know I was more eloquent in the letter, but my theory is that my grammar and speech changes with the times. I still have blanks in my memory in terms of my life here on earth. The memories of hell are a little fuller, but still…

And I think I was sent here to do the same thing. There hasn’t been anyone, though. My time here is running out and if I don’t find someone soon I have a feeling that I’ll get in trouble when I get back.

No, don’t worry. I see it in your eyes; you think I want to take your soul. You’re my best friend in this realm.

That’s the other problem. I kind of got attached to you, so I will definitely get in trouble for that. Nothing will happen to you. I hope.

I can see that you’re wondering why I’m telling you all of this, and you probably think I’m crazy.

Wait… please don’t walk away. Just let me finish telling you and then you can do whatever you think is right from there. If you want to call the police or commit me or anything else, I won’t blame you, but please, I need to get this out.

To prove to you that I’m actually the Axeman, I can tell you how I got into people’s houses if you want. You know how it always seemed to be small openings? At least too small for the perpetrator to get through?

Okay, so they always thought that the Axeman of New Orleans was this big guy, at least big enough that the openings he entered seemed impossible for him to slip through. And that’s true. You can see I’m a big guy; that much hasn’t changed in the past 100 years. But that’s what worked in my favor - being a demon and all.

My true form is just small enough to get through those makeshift entrances. So that’s what I did. I would change into my original self just long enough to enter or exit.

You probably want to see what I really look like, but I can’t show you that. There are implications if humans see the true form of demons or even angels, and I don’t want anything bad to happen to you.

Now, my whole reason for telling you this? It’s going to start again, and soon. I’m already in enough trouble starting this late and getting so attached to a human being, but if I don’t find at least some pure souls over the next few weeks then it’ll only be worse.

You have one of the purest souls I have ever come across and I don’t want to take it. You deserve a fighting chance to get into heaven, as much as I want to be with a friend like you for eternity.

Here’s what I want you to do. Take this note - it’s basically the same as the last one, just with different wording and different date - and send it into a newspaper two months from now. It doesn’t matter which; just send it. And don’t worry about your fingerprints. I put a spell on the envelope and letter so the police will not link you to the letter.

I need you to stay protected, and I won’t be able to stop once I start. I wrote some instructions out here so you won’t forget. But at midnight on March 13, 2019, play jazz music. It kept me at bay last time; it should keep me at bay this time. To be safe, keep some holy water near you until March 14 at midnight. That’s when I should be going back to hell.

Now that I’ve told you all this, let’s go our separate ways. You can do whatever you need to and choose to believe me or not. But no matter what you choose to do and believe, can you just promise me that you’ll at least play jazz music on March 13 at midnight?

Thank you. Be safe, and maybe I’ll see you again.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Micah James

Fiction, true crime, tattoos, and LGBT+ are my favorite things to write about.

Instagram: @allthingscreepypod

Business Inquiries: [email protected]

YouTube: All Things Creepy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.