Criminal logo

Innocent

Can't be proven with facts. Just force.

By Zen AttractionPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Innocent
Photo by Alex Hudson on Unsplash

A journey into self reflection is only defined by the limits in which we choose to proceed. Depth only measures merit and the substance produced, not the outcome desired.

It wasn’t until graduation that I decided that I wanted to do something different with my life that I’d already been doing. It wasn’t anything drastic. Maybe it was just a second coming of age story. I had studied for five years and fortunately enough for me, I thought it was time for change.

Not knowing where to look initially I wandered here and there working at different offices in similar occupations. It was more so self-discovery as it was an adventure. This was my life, and I needed to know.

I was granted the privilege one summer back in the early days of college to intern at a law office and the skills that I learned there took me far in the years after. I can now apply it to my life lessons learned in the field. Let me tell you, when you come from a place of prominence, you see many things. You just don’t know what to expect.

I had taken a position as a paralegal’s assistant just to supplicate the income. One day an elderly lady walked in. I didn’t think much of it besides a few tax issues here and there. But from the way she was dressed, there obviously was more to it.

She had recently come back from vacation when she had noticed a mysterious file sitting on her counter. She brought it into me just to ask for friendly advice. I was happy to assist.

I opened the file to find a will and estate planned by her former husband. Apparently he had passed a few years back and nobody had notified her. She was still written in. I analyzed the documents carefully.

“He was a carpenter.” She pulls a mint from her purse. “The best in the industry.”

“I see here ma’am that his fortune was from planned investments?”

“He always did know how to organize.” She crinkles the wrapper then puts it back in her purse.

“Ma’am, now this situation may be a little bit difficult since he was deceased past the time of the will’s drafting. Now legally speaking, it’s difficult to tell the validity of such a document without the original. These are just printed copies.

“Oh my, you don’t say?”

I look at her. “Now ma’am, if there is any evidence that his investments are in an operating status, then we may be able to help you. I’ll go to the local voting office and see if he has any documentation in regards to where he has been in the past several years. Your husband was a wise man.” She stands up to leave. I shake her hand cordially and she exits.

This is a strange case indeed. I’ve never seen one quite this complicated but it’s here nonetheless. I go to make copies to bring home.

On the way out I’m greeted by a man in a burlapesque jacket. “Excuse me sir, can you please tell me where the Law Offices of Martin and Berlin is?”

I look at him confused. “I’m sorry sir but to my knowledge there isn’t one in town.”

He then grabs me by the wrists, puts a sack over my head and I hear a car screeching as I’m loaded in. I lose consciousness.

When I wake I’m in a dark room. There’s nothing much here than light from underneath a door. Sunlight through a window from what I can tell. I remain quiet. I hear speaking from the other side and I can just barely make out what they’re saying.

“He didn’t have it with him but he had the files. He knows about the case and that’s where he went wrong. The old lady didn’t need to notify him of the estate and now everything’s going sideways. It wasn’t his to deal with but now we have to take care of it. We move him at sundown.”

I go back to the corner where they had me and lay back down. The door opens. They drag me to another room about three paces to the left from the previous door. I’m none the wiser. I’m dropped to the floor where I’m greeted by a cold bucket of water and a kick to the side. I startle up and look around only to be in a white-walled room with overhead lights. There’s a metal table and chair. I suppose that’s where I’m to be seated. There is a woman waiting for me on the other side.

“You’ll take your seat now.” I look around confused.

“What is this?” She stares at me. I straighten up. “Where am I?”

“The details will be discussed later. Right now you’re on my time. You need to have a seat.”

I walk over to the chair and take my place. “It wasn’t right for us to get involved but you know nonetheless.”

“It wasn’t in your place to interfere. And that’s why we’re here.” She opens the file on the table. “The lady. She came in with an estate. She left with her purse. Do you remember what was on your desk?” I look at her puzzled. “No. No you don’t.” She closes the file. “You had your recorder sitting on the edge. You were taking a testimony and it wasn’t with a court order. Do you realize what you’ve done?”

I freeze for a second. “You went against your jurisdiction by operating outside of the confines of your junction. That’s punishable up to twenty years in prison if you can beat the case.”

I jump out of my seat. “You can’t do that!” She looks at me. I take my seat.

“Now you can either play along or face the penalty. It’s your choice.”

“What do I have to do?” She retrieves another file.

“Just blow the whistle when the times ready. You’ll know what to do next.” She slides the file across the desk, gets up, and walks out. The men follow.

I read contently to my hearts desire the full measure of just everything that I’ve been getting involved with. Scams, escrow, embezzlement, illegal gambling, the whole nine. My father being someone of prestige never did teach me about morals. But one thing is for sure: God has a way of redeeming a person to their former glory. And it’s hard to tell if I’m praying for something like a miracle or a way out. My tongue is still silver and my wits are still sharp. If only I can pinpoint exactly where I went wrong I just might make it out. It’s a race to hide the evidence at the crime scene and I’m the key witness to clean up the mess. Now I can only pray that I get everything needed to clean up my mess before I’m on the other side of the table again. This is my testimony.

innocence
4

About the Creator

Zen Attraction

Small town boy living in a gnarly city. Not hopeless but a bit of a romantic both in relationships and life. Through my writing I make it a personal mission to recreate a world for those few who still want to enjoy life's simple pleasures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.