Criminal logo

Find Me Guilty

Or Not

By MoonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Find Me Guilty
Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

I sat in the courtroom, dressed in my best suit, trying to appear composed. The trial was in full swing, and the tension in the air was palpable. They said I was the bad guy, but I knew they would find me innocent in the end. I mean, why wouldn't they? I shouldn't even be here in the first place.

The prosecutor was going through his evidence with a smug expression, believing he had me cornered. "Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, we have a mountain of evidence that points to the defendant's guilt. The fingerprints on the murder weapon, the security footage, and the eyewitness accounts all place him at the scene of the crime."

I leaned over to my defense attorney and whispered, "This is ridiculous. I was nowhere near that place that night."

She shot me a reassuring look. "Stay calm. We'll get through this."

As the trial continued, I watched the witnesses take the stand. Their testimonies were damning, each one painting a picture of a ruthless killer. But I maintained my composure, shaking my head at their lies. They didn't know what they were saying.

Finally, it was my turn to testify. I walked to the witness stand, my heart pounding in my chest. My defense attorney asked me questions, guiding me through my account of that night, the night when the victim had been brutally murdered.

"I swear, I had nothing to do with it. I was at home, alone, watching TV all night," I said with conviction. "I didn't even know the guy." That was the truth.

She nodded and said, "That's the truth, ladies and gentlemen. There's no concrete evidence tying my client to the crime."

The jury's eyes were on me, and I could sense doubt creeping in. Maybe, just maybe, they were starting to believe me.

But the prosecutor wasn't finished yet. He approached the witness stand with a sinister grin. "Mr. Simpson, can you explain how your fingerprints ended up on the murder weapon?"

I hesitated for a moment, trying to come up with a plausible explanation. "I must have touched it at some point. Maybe it was at a party or something."

The prosecutor raised an eyebrow. "A party, you say? With the victim?"

I stumbled over my words. "No, not with him. Maybe with the actual killer who then used it. I don't know."

The prosecutor's relentless grilling continued, chipping away at my credibility. I could see doubt on the faces of the jurors, and panic started to set in.

As the trial reached its climax, the prosecutor made his closing statement. "Ladies and gentlemen, the evidence is clear. George Simpson is guilty of murder. He may have put on a convincing act, but the truth is right in front of you."

I looked at the jury, hoping to find a glimmer of doubt, but their expressions were stern and resolute.

The judge began to instruct the jury, and I could feel my heart sink. It all came down to this moment.

The jury returned to the courtroom, their faces inscrutable. The judge asked, "Have you reached a verdict?"

The foreperson nodded. "We have, Your Honor. We find the defendant, George Simpson, not guilty."

A triumphant smile slowly spread across my face. I had done it. I had fooled them all. As I walked out of the courtroom, free and clear, I couldn't help but relish the satisfaction of getting away with the murder of a complete stranger.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Moon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.