Fiction logo

Revisions of Dread

Just Another Cabin Thriller

By MoonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1

The rain was relentless as I drove along the winding mountain road, the thunderous storm making the night seem darker than ever. My fingers clung to the steering wheel, knuckles white with tension. I had no choice but to keep going. There was no turning back now.

I had just finished my latest novel, a psychological thriller that had taken me months to complete. The relief of finally typing "The End" had been overwhelming. But my sense of accomplishment was short-lived. An urgent message from my publisher had cut through my celebration like a cold blade.

"We need you to make some changes," the email had read. "We want a different ending."

I had tried to argue, to stand my ground as the author, but they were adamant. They said my original ending was too dark, too disturbing. They wanted a more uplifting conclusion, one that would appeal to a wider audience. And they were willing to pay me handsomely for my compliance.

So, here I was, driving through the storm to a remote cabin in the mountains. My publisher had arranged this secluded location, far away from distractions, where I could work on the revisions in peace. But there was something about the whole situation that felt off, that sent shivers down my spine.

As I pulled up to the cabin, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched. The surrounding woods seemed to close in on me, their towering trees like silent sentinels. I dismissed my unease as paranoia, grabbed my bag, and entered the cabin.

Inside, the atmosphere was heavy and suffocating. The walls were lined with shelves filled with old books, and a dim light cast eerie shadows across the room. A fire crackled in the hearth, the only source of warmth and comfort in the place. It was clear that the cabin hadn't been used in years, and the thought of spending weeks here was unsettling.

I settled into the writing desk, staring at the manuscript spread out before me. The revisions they wanted were drastic, changing the entire tone of the story. It felt like a betrayal of my own work, my own vision. But I needed the money, and my career depended on it.

Days turned into weeks, and I became consumed by the revisions. The storm outside showed no sign of letting up, and the isolation of the cabin weighed on my mind. But I pressed on, rewriting page after page, trying to make the story something it was never meant to be.

One evening, as I huddled by the fire, I heard a creaking sound coming from the hallway. My heart raced as I turned to look, but there was nothing there. I convinced myself it was just the old cabin settling, but the feeling of being watched returned with a vengeance.

That night, I was jolted awake by a loud crash. I grabbed a flashlight and ventured into the darkness, my heart pounding in my chest. The source of the noise was the study, where my manuscript lay scattered on the floor. Pages were torn, and ink was spilled across the carpet.

I panicked, realizing that someone had been in the cabin. I called the police, but the storm had knocked out the phone lines. I was truly alone, trapped in this remote place with an intruder.

I returned to the study, determined to find answers. As I gathered the scattered pages, I noticed a handwritten note amidst the chaos. It was a message, and it sent a chill down my spine.

"We know what you did to the story. We're here to make sure it stays the way it was meant to be."

The words sent me into a frenzy. I knew I had to leave, had to get away from this cabin and the sinister presence that lurked within. But the storm outside had other plans. The rain pounded against the windows, and the wind howled like a relentless beast.

As I huddled in the corner of the study, clutching the manuscript to my chest, I realized the true horror of my situation. I was at the mercy of someone who was willing to do anything to protect my original ending. The nightmare of my own creation had come to life, and there was no escape from the misery that awaited me.

thriller
1

About the Creator

Moon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Well, I’m never changing the ending to my stories! Well written and genuinely horrifying! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.