Criminal logo

Detective Shadow - Chapter 2

Chapter 2: The Informant

By pasin corauPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Detective Shadow - Chapter 2
Photo by 𝓴𝓘𝓡𝓚 𝕝𝔸𝕀 on Unsplash

Detective Shadow walked out of the police station, deep in thought. He had a lot to process after his meeting with Chief Inspector Parker. The information he received was enough to convince him that the Big Bosses were indeed involved in the recent crime wave that had hit the city.

But he needed more. He needed to find someone who could provide him with concrete evidence. Someone who was willing to testify against the Big Bosses in court. That's when he remembered an old informant who had helped him solve a case a few years ago.

He made his way to a rundown bar on the outskirts of town, the kind of place where the air was thick with cigarette smoke and the patrons looked like they had a few too many drinks. As soon as he walked in, he spotted his old informant, a man named Frankie.

Frankie was a small-time crook, but he had connections in the criminal underworld that could prove useful. Detective Shadow approached him cautiously, not wanting to spook him.

"Frankie, long time no see," he said, trying to sound friendly.

Frankie looked up from his drink and recognized the detective. "Shadow, what brings you here?"

"I need your help, Frankie. I'm investigating the Big Bosses and I need someone who can give me inside information."

Frankie raised an eyebrow. "You're taking on the Big Bosses? You got guts, Shadow."

"I know it's risky, but I need to do this. Are you in?"

Frankie looked around the bar, making sure no one was listening in. "I'm in, but it won't be easy. The Big Bosses have eyes and ears everywhere."

"I know, but I'm counting on your connections to get me the information I need."

Frankie finished his drink and stood up. "Let's go to my place. We can talk there."

They left the bar and walked a few blocks until they reached a small apartment building. Frankie led the way to his apartment on the top floor.

The apartment was sparsely furnished, with a couch, a TV, and a small kitchenette. Detective Shadow sat down on the couch while Frankie poured them both a drink.

"So, what do you need to know?" Frankie asked.

"I need to know everything about the Big Bosses. Who they are, where they operate, and most importantly, who their enforcers are."

Frankie took a sip of his drink before answering. "The Big Bosses are a group of five men who run the criminal underworld in this city. They control everything from drugs to prostitution to illegal gambling. They've been around for as long as I can remember, and they're not to be messed with."

Detective Shadow nodded. "I know all that. What I need is specific information that I can use to build a case against them."

Frankie thought for a moment. "Well, I know that their main operations are based in a warehouse on the outskirts of town. It's heavily guarded, but I might be able to get you in if you're interested."

Detective Shadow's interest was piqued. "That's exactly the kind of information I need. When can we go?"

Frankie smiled. "How about tomorrow night? I'll make the arrangements."

Detective Shadow finished his drink and stood up. "Thanks, Frankie. You're a lifesaver."

Frankie nodded. "Just be careful, Shadow. These guys don't play nice."

Detective Shadow left the apartment, feeling hopeful for the first time in a long time. He knew that getting inside the Big Bosses' warehouse was a risky move, but it was also his best chance of finding the evidence he needed to take them down.The next morning, Shadow arrived at the precinct early. He went straight to the captain's office, determined to get to the bottom of this. Captain Williams was already there, looking over some papers.

"Good morning, Shadow," he said, not looking up.

"Captain, I need to talk to you about something."

Williams put the papers down and turned to face Shadow. "What's on your mind?"

"I think there's something going on here. I've been investigating the disappearance of the evidence from the Big Boss case, and I've come across some things that don't add up."

"Like what?"

"Like the fact that the surveillance footage from the evidence locker is missing. And the fact that I found a receipt for a large amount of cash in one of the detective's desks. It just doesn't look good, Captain."

Williams sighed. "I appreciate your concern, Shadow, but I'm not sure there's anything to worry about. We've had a lot of turnover in the department lately, and I think some of the newer detectives might not be as careful as they should be."

"But Captain, this is a major case! We can't afford to let something like this slide."

"I understand that, Shadow. But I need you to trust me on this. I'll look into it, I promise. But in the meantime, I need you to focus on your other cases."

Shadow wasn't satisfied, but he knew better than to argue with the captain. He left the office feeling frustrated and uneasy. Something was definitely not right.

He spent the rest of the day following up on leads for his other cases, but his mind kept wandering back to the Big Boss case. He couldn't shake the feeling that something big was about to happen.

That evening, he decided to take matters into his own hands. He went back to the precinct after hours, determined to get to the bottom of this. He snuck into the evidence locker and searched for any clues he could find. That's when he heard a noise coming from the hallway.

He froze, listening intently. Someone was coming. He quickly hid behind a stack of boxes and waited.

The door to the evidence locker opened, and in walked Detective Johnson, one of the detectives who had been on the Big Boss case. Shadow watched as Johnson walked over to one of the lockers and opened it with a key.

Shadow couldn't believe what he was seeing. Johnson was taking evidence out of the locker and putting it into a duffel bag. He watched in horror as Johnson grabbed the evidence bag from the Big Boss case and shoved it into the duffel bag as well.

Shadow knew he had to act fast. He emerged from his hiding spot and confronted Johnson.

"What the hell are you doing?" he demanded.

Johnson turned around, startled. "Shadow, what are you doing here?"

"I could ask you the same thing. What are you doing with that evidence?"

Johnson tried to play it off. "Oh, this? I'm just taking it back to the lab for further testing."

"That's a load of crap, and you know it. I saw the receipt for the cash you took from the evidence locker. What's going on, Johnson?"

Johnson's expression darkened. "You don't know what you're getting into, Shadow. Stay out of this."

But it was too late. Shadow knew he had stumbled onto something big. Something that could put his own life in danger. But he was determined to get to the bottom of it, no matter what it took.

mafiafiction
Like

About the Creator

pasin corau

follow me on twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.