Criminal logo

Detective Davis

The Case of the Missing Keys (Teaser) Pt. II

By Elijah DavisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Cauzmics

Detective Davis

The Case of the Missing Keys (Teaser) Pt II

Please refer to Detective Davis part one in order to catch up on the plot. This is not the start of this story, it is continued from the previous post. Thank you so much for your feedback and support.

Detective Davis replied, “See you soon friend” and then click. Detective Davis... TBC

Detective Davis then grabbed papers from the printer and began to highlight, and sticky note different parts of the case brief John had sent.

John then sent correspondence back that he and detective Davis would be at the estate at 9:00 pm that evening. He then asked to be attached to any threads with new developments. This correspondence came at 9:09 am. I could not help but think with the extra information I had acquired, that John and Detective Davis were challenging me and my team to get the job done ourselves throughout the day. Why else would they make us wait almost 9 extra hours? By my calculations with the location distances, John and Detective Davis could have easily arrived at the Hampton estate by 12:45 pm, that with an entire hour of rest and leaving 3 hours after the time of the initial communication sent to John. It seemed hardly professional to choose to be so late without necessity but after all, this was Detective Davis we were talking about.

It was after this that I had to make a noticeably big choice, the choice that would truly shape the rest of the case of the missing keys. Honestly, a choice that shaped the rest of my life and my career.

You may also recall that the day Detective Davis gets called for the case is the day I get relieved of the very same case. It is also the same day that the rumor of Detective Davis became real. For me, it marked a difficult day in which my deepest insecurities had been brought to the surface. As you very well know I was FIRED from the case of the missing keys. I have been using less aggressive words, but to be open, it was quite brutal. I was told my performance was unsatisfactory and that they wished to go in a different direction with the head of the investigation. They thanked me for my time and asked me to turn in my badge and be gone by lunch! If you have been fired, you may understand but what you do not understand is that I also lost my girlfriend of nine months (My longest relationship and the only woman I have ever considering marrying. She was the love of my life!) for choosing to take this case on our anniversary weekend. It is fair to say that I was not thinking so clearly this day. But to be honest I still do not regret the decision I made.

At this point in the story, there is no reason to not be completely honest. I wanted to make-believe and tell you that it was at this point where I made a big choice. I wanted to tell you that I sat, and I pondered and weighed the pros and cons. I wanted to say that Detective Davis would not be at the estate until 9:00 pm and I had to be gone by noon. And all the pressures to meet my idol and sniff out the answers caused me to make a noticeably big choice and go rouge. Unfortunately, that would all be a lie. I could have told it to you and lied, it would not have mattered, the real story here is Detective Davis.

But my honesty will help to see if you have any detective instinct. If you have any instinct at all then you would notice that me telling you that now after a 9:09 am correspondence from John, I have just decided to go rogue, is a bit odd. If you are ready to read this detective novel, then you must have written down that Sunday, May 18th, 8:01 am is when Detective Davis’s handler John was notified. If your sharp you have a notebook to jot down key information on each case. That information note would have made it clear that I have been tracing and tracking since early this morning. The whole idea of me sharing this story and classified information should have alerted something. I have been rouging since the instant I heard the news that my presence was no longer essential. I was going to show them just how essential I thought I was, but things took a turn once I realized that Detective Davis was real. After the 9:09 am correspondence from john I did make a noticeably big choice. I used all the momentum I had from using all the department's resources (so what if it was in direct violation of every conduct code from my agency, no more tip-toeing. You know I am rouge, and you are still reading. Get over it I break all sorts of rules to give you these raw untold detective tales.) to track Detective Davis.

Okay, readers another quiz on your detective instinct. If your notebook has the right notes, you should already know how long it's going to take me to get from the estate to Detective Davis’s location. Kudos to you if you knew if you did not get your notebook out and get active.

12:45 pm is when I was able to secure a visual on Detective Davis. He had...

TBC

Thanks for reading!

Check out cauzmics Publishing for more information on the release date of these titles.

To read more go to www.CauzmicsPublishing.com

Get your own copy at www.CauzmicsPublishing.com

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.