Criminal logo

Creepy Quotes from Serial Killers

Get inside the darkest minds to ever live through some of these creepy quotes from serial killers.

By Jake PinePublished 7 years ago 7 min read
1

There's no shortage of serial killer books and documentaries out there that are all trying to do the same thing: get inside their minds. Why not cut out the middle man and go straight to the source? If you listen to any serial killer talk long enough, he/she will reveal something about his/her nature that most folks can't wrap their brains around.

This fear of the unknown is what keeps us so interested. It's why Criminal Minds, a mostly mediocre show on CBS about serial killers has lasted 13 seasons. It's why we have an entire week dedicated to sharks. It's why we love aliens — that's what these serial killers are to us: aliens.

These creepy quotes from serial killers help us get a glimpse inside their minds, revealing a bit more about their true nature.

John Wayne Gacy

John Wayne Gacy, the killer clown, has one the highest confirmed body counts in US history — charged with 33 murders. During the mid-70s, Gacy killed mostly teenage boys in his Norwood Park home — burying the majority of them in his crawl spaces.

He was executed by lethal injection in 1994, but not before dropping some of the more creepy quotes from serial killers.

"I should never have been convicted of anything more serious than running a cemetery without a license."

"The dead won't bother you, it's the living you have to worry about."

"There was no smell. Over the years, when it rained, the musty odor was present. People were in and out of that house daily for years. And other than when it rained, there was no odor and certainly not like what some of the books said. That's all fantasy. If that odor was there somebody would have noticed it sooner."

David Berkowitz

David Berkowitz, a.k.a., the "Son of Sam," killed six people from 1976-77 — terrorizing the city of New York. His shooting spree started in the summer of 1976, and his taunting of the police through his letters led to the biggest police manhunt in NYC history.

Unsurprisingly, Berkowitz had some bizarrely terrifying things to say, easily some of the most creepy quotes from serial killers.

"A 'possessed' dog in the neighborhood won't let me stop killing until he gets his fill of blood."

"I have several children who I'm turning into killers. Wait till they grow up."

"I didn't want to hurt them, I only wanted to kill them."

"Hello from the gutters of New York City, which are filled with dog manure, vomit, stale wine, urine, and blood."

"I am a monster. I am the Son of Sam. I love to hunt."

"The demons wanted girls. Sugar and Spice and everything nice."

Edmund Kemper

Edmund Kemper, known as the "Co-ed killer," was a serial killer and necrophiliac in the 1970s who targeted female hitchhikers. He killed his mother and even his own grandparents before turning himself in.

As far as creepy quotes from serial killers go, Kemper's are some of the most disturbing — the man had an IQ of 145.

"I just wanted to see how it felt to shoot Grandma.”

"I remember there was actually a sexual thrill . . . you hear that little pop and pull their heads of and hold their heads up by the hair. Whipping their heads off, their body sitting there. That’d get me off."

"The first good-looking girl I see tonight is going to die."

"With a girl, there’s a lot left in the girl’s body without a head. Of course, the personality is gone."

Jeffrey Dahmer

There is no list of creepy quotes from serial killers without Jefferey Dahmer. Dahmer killed and cannibalized 17 men from 1971-1991, all but one in or around Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Many of his later kills involved necrophilia and an attempt at creating "sex zombies." He was beaten to death in prison by an inmate in 1994.

"My consuming lust was to experience their bodies. I viewed them as objects, as strangers. It is hard for me to believe a human being could have done what I’ve done."

"I carried it too far, that’s for sure."

"The only motive that there ever was was to completely control a person; a person I found physically attractive. And keep them with me as long as possible, even if it meant just keeping a part of them."

"I should have gone to college and gone into real estate and got myself an aquarium, that's what I should have done."

Richard Ramirez

Dubbed "The Night stalker," Richard Ramirez was a serial killer, rapist, and burglar who terrorized Los Angeles in the mid-80s. During his highly publicized crime spree, Ramirez killed 14 people across the state of California.

A self-described Satanist, Ramirez never showed remorse for his crimes, and left behind some disturbing quotes before his death.

"Big deal, death comes with the territory. See you in Disneyland."

"Even psychopaths have emotions, then again, maybe not."

"We’ve all got the power in our hands to kill, but most people are afraid to use it. The ones who aren’t afraid, control life itself.”

"You maggots make me sick, I will be avenged. Lucifer dwells within us all."

Ted Bundy

Ted Bundy was a slick, smooth-talking predator who spat some of the most self-serving, creepy quotes from serial killers before his execution in 1989. He notoriously used his looks and charm to lure most of his victims.

Bundy killed at least 30 people in seven different states, mostly in the mid-70s. Ted was the very definition of heartless evil.

"I just liked to kill, I wanted to kill."

"You learn what you need to kill and take care of the details… It's like changing a tire… The 1st time you’re careful… By the 30th time, you can’t remember where you left the lug wrench."

"You feel the last bit of breath leaving their body. You’re looking into their eyes. A person in that situation is God!"

Dennis Rader

Dennis Rader or "BTK" as he nicknamed himself, killed ten people in Kansas over three decades. He sent letters to the police, taunting them of his God-like power to kill.

After a long hiatus, Rader began sending letters to news outlets in 2004. Apparently, Rader didn't change with the times or the technology, and the disk he sent was easily traced back to his computer — leading to ten life sentences since 2005.

"I actually think I may be possessed with demons, I was dropped on my head as a kid."

"The floppy (disk) did me in."

"How does one cure himself? I can’t stop it, the monster goes on, and hurts me as well as society. Maybe you can stop him. I can’t."

Gary Ridgway

Don't overlook Gary Ridgway when it comes to creepy quotes from serial killers, as Ridgway has the most confirmed murders in US history. Known as the "Green River Killer," Ridgway was convicted of 48 murders — and is thought to be guilty of at least 90.

He did most of his prolific killing in Washington state during the 80s and 90s.

"I liked to drive by the clusters around the county and think about the women I placed there."

"I killed so many women I have a hard time keeping them straight."

"I also picked prostitutes as victims because they were easy to pick up, without being noticed. I knew they would not be reported missing right away, and might never be reported missing."

Richard Kuklinski

Known as the "Iceman" for how he stored his victims after their death, Kuklinski was a mob-connected hitman convicted of killing five people. He was suspected of having committed dozens of more murders in the metropolitan area.

Fellow mobsters called him a "one-man army" and the fear he struck into people is reflected in some of his creepy quotes.

"Assassin?... that sounds so exotic... I was just a murderer."

"If there is a will, there is always a way, my friend."

"What I liked most was the hunt, the challenge of what the thing was. The killing for me was secondary. I got no rise as such out of it... for the most part. But the figuring it out, the challenge — the stalking and doing it right, successfully — that excited me a lot. The greater the odds against me, the more juice I got out of it."

Aileen Wuornos

The only woman on this list of creepy quotes from serial killers is, of course, Aileen Wuornos. Known as the "highway hooker," Wuornos is the most infamous lady serial killer in American History.

Wuornos killed seven men in Florida between 1989 and 1990. She shot all her victims at point-blank range. She claimed self-defense, but was put to death by the state in 2002.

"I robbed them, and I killed them as cold as ice, and I would do it again, and I know I would kill another person because I've hated humans for a long time."

"To me, this world is nothing but evil, and my own evil just happened to come out because of the circumstances of what I was doing."

"May your wife and children get raped, right in the ass," she said to the jurors who convicted her.

guilty
1

About the Creator

Jake Pine

A former Division-1 QB and alt-country enthusiast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.