Criminal logo

Building A Better Criminal Justice System

Montana's broken system

By May SimmonsPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
They should stand for justice!

The President of the Montana Parole Board (Steve Hurd) conducted a hearing on 15 December 2022 which violated many legal and ethical principles. The hearing, chaired by the Board President was a direct a conflict of interest. No evidence was presented to affirm the ultimate decision. Nor was the candidate ever able to view anything supporting the hearing decision. The board's decision was not based on sound evidence, just hearsay.

Advocates for the candidate argued that this decision was made without any due diligence or consideration for the rights of the accused. The advocate team has further argued that the Mt Parole Board did not use a fair process to reach its conclusion. The candidate filed for another hearing which was immediately rejected. The advocates argued that this is a violation of both the candidate's rights and the rule of law that was set up for parole hearings.

In fact, it seemed it was all about slandering me and my advocacy. Hurd crossed personal, ethical, legal lines. His main goal was to destroy my credibility. Why he felt so empowered to do this, I can't imagine. Ultimately, it's my belief that the parole board should be guided by the law, human decency, and justice. This hearing should serve as an example of how not to behave during a parole hearing. Everyone involved in the justice system deserves to be treated fairly and with respect - no matter what side they are on.

This hearing was done in a most egregious unprofessional manner, excluding any evidence to support the decision. The board gave no reasons for its decision and refused to provide the candidate with any documents related to it at the hearing. The board even used inflammatory language and directed personal attacks on me during their closing arguments. After watching the hearing, I felt disgusted on many levels. I was embarrassed for Mt. Outraged for the parole candidate. I was also furious for his personal attack targeted toward myself. I felt betrayed by a system that promised fairness and justice.

It was clear to me that the parole board had made up its mind prior to the hearing, and my credibility was called into serious doubt. They clearly wanted the candidate to feel powerless and used threats to silence his voice against injustice. It is unfortunate that this type in the norm for DOC and the BOPP. I had hoped this type of behavior was eradicated from our system, but it doesn't seem to be the case. We need better and more open systems of justice that promote fairness, empathy, and accountability. We deserve a system that works for us all, not just those who use their power to bully others.

I'm proud of my advocacy. Every day I am reminded why I do what I do - to ensure justice and fairness for everyone involved in the criminal justice system. This means victims, offenders, the community. My work as an advocate is far from over, however. I intend to continue to fight to make sure everyone has access to a fair, justice system. Montana demands a system which holds accountable those who abuse their power. I'm still horrified by this incident, but I'm also motivated to do what I can to make sure it doesn't happen again. Until real reform is achieved, the cycle of prison overcrowding and racism in our justice system will continue.

I am done with this type of treatment by DOC / BOPP. This is the final straw. I will seek justice for the way I have been treated and continue to advocate on behalf of those who cannot advocate for themselves. I will not be silenced. I will continue to use my platform and resources to ensure that others have rights, respect, and equality within the criminal justice system.

No one should ever feel as though their safety is threatened or that their voice does not matter because of an individual's or organization's misuse of power. I am here to show strength and resilience, to fight for justice and fairness, and to provide a safe space for those whose voices may not be heard otherwise. I will continue to be a leader in the advocacy world, speaking out against injustice and inequality wherever it appears. I am now in the process of filing an internal complaint against this board member, as well as a FOIA request seeking documents that can help me in my case against him. I know that if I am successful, this case will help to ensure fairness and justice for all. The hearing was nothing more than a personal attack. It had nothing to do with matter at hand and it seemed as though the board was using its power to intimidate people for their own gain.

We must call for necessary reform of the criminal justice system, reduce prison populations and creating alternatives to incarceration. I'm committed to advocating for stricter oversight behavior, greater transparency, and accountability for both offenders and the leaders in the criminal justice system, and increased investment in public safety. I believe that by working together with all stakeholders involved in our criminal justice system we can make sure people are fairly represented and treated equally under the law. We must build a better criminal justice system. By doing this we can ensure that no person is ever wrongfully convicted or unfairly punished. We must also take steps to strengthen our social safety net, reduce recidivism and imprisonment and create a system that works for all of us.

I'm still waiting for an apology from the Mt Parole Board, but I understand that will never come. My hope is that future hearings will be conducted with fairness and respect. My fight for fairness and justice is one that will take time, but I am committed to seeing it through. I am confident that with continued community support, we can make sure that everyone has access to safety, equity, and respect in our city government. Together, we can create a better future for everyone.

It is important for us all to stay vigilant and speak up when we see injustice in our communities. We need to demand change and send a message that this type of behavior will not be tolerated. Our criminal justice system should never be used as an avenue of oppression, but instead one of fair representation and justice for all. I am also working with other local organizations and individuals to bring more public attention to the issue of misused power in our community. We are committed to making sure all people have a voice in their government and that no single person or organization can impose their authority on the rest of us.

Finally, I will fight for criminal justice reform at the state level and in Congress. I hope this situation serves as a reminder to everyone that power should never be abused. We must always strive for equity and justice, and we must stand together to protect everyone's rights. Together, we can make sure that the principles of fairness and equality are upheld in all aspects of our lives. Everyone has the constitutional right to access safety, equity, and respect in the justice system. Together, we can create a brighter tomorrow and build a better future for everyone. With your help, we can make sure that justice is upheld and that every person is treated with the same dignity they deserve.

Sincerely

May Simmons

incarceration
Like

About the Creator

May Simmons

I'm May Simmons. I live on breathtaking Flathead Lake Polson Mt. I do lots of things - prison reform, buy local, crafts and writing. I am on FB and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.