Criminal logo

Black Book

Murder and Deception

By Hillary Curtis Published 3 years ago 16 min read
1
Black Book
Photo by hao wang on Unsplash

Chapter 1 Humble Beginnings

Every day starts off just the same, the sun rises up, I stretch my body as long as I can , wiggle my feet , and start my day. Life was so much easier when I was a child and didn't have to worry about getting up to do anything but go to school. Now things have changed and I have a career and people depending on me to money in their pocket and food in their families mouth. Big responsibility, I know. I feed them and in turn they feed me more. Just how it works.

Enough of the complaining , Let me introduce myself, my Centra Fallon Banksmith, yeah I know that name sounds a little funny, but it is my birth name. My parents I don't know them I was actually adopted and I didn't take out the time to look for them, though I can say it has crossed my mind a few times. My foster parents, I call them Will and Jada , in todays current climate they may or may not be the top power couple but to me they are still the greatest. Pamela and Reggie , took good care of me , I really was their child , I didn't bounce between foster homes , or anything because they've had me since I was a baby.

Pam, as a lot of people call her, could not have children, and this was their only option of having a family. They both wanted a baby girl and that's when they found me. I've never heard the story of how they got to me, but I figure they went through tons of paperwork, so I never bothered to ask. As you can see I don't question much, I feel as though what they don't tell you is meant to be hidden to keep you safe. I just feel like things people don't out right say aren't meant to be heard.

Growing up I was quite the awkward kid , I didn't make a lot of friend except Khloe and Khaley. They were twins and we had been friends since Kindergarten and still are till this day. I was quiet and they were troublemakers, I can remember this one incident , they stuck gum in this kids hair and got into a big brawl over it. That's actually how we met , I was the kid , and needless to say i gained some respect because I had to beat them up. My hair was long and thick and down to the middle of my back. I was natural my mom said, "baby girl perms are pretty but nothing like your natural beauty." I always embraced the beauty of my locks but others, due to issues within their own separate communities, and the brainwashing of television, did not.

The girls (Khloe and Khaley) always hung around me after , I was quiet and they always seemed to want to be in some trouble somehow. However, they were the most solid friend I had and I often wondered how enemies could turn to friends but Here is to new beginnings , Big things and opportunities.

I never knew what life was like outside the walls of my families , Mansion. Dad was a record producer, and mom was a pediatrician. They took great pride in their things because they didn't always have these things. They always kept me dressed in the nicest clothes, and hottest new apparel. I attended a private school in Ga called the Institute of Divine individuals. Just sounded like they ran out of other fancy names. We learned a bout college, pledging, and real world skills on a daily basis. These were literally mentioned everywhere.

My favorite teacher Mrs. Sanchire always always said baby girl I see it in you, you gone pledge and I'll be right here behind you. I always thought it was a bit over the top , but the more we talked the more i liked the idea. She mentored me and made sure I was ready to take my exams for college applications and everything. My parents really didn't have tot do anything. Aside from being an A plus student I was also what you'd call a pretty girl. All the guys fell over me and not to mention I was shy and awkward. Somehow, they always made their way to me. I did like this one guy on the basketball team Dahshon , he was cute as ever , but we maintained a friendship throughout school. I played tennis , and he would come to my matches and I came to his basketball games. We were in love, he was dark , tall , and handsome with the most beautiful and perfect smile ever. Here I am all thick curvy, brown skinned with long natural kinky 4c hair. We always found ourselves in these staring matches in the hallway at our games, and everywhere. He has even been to my house , and I've been to his. His parents are Real Estate brokers. Actually, are parents are really good friends.

My childhood was easy all I had to do was worry about college and staring into the love of my lifes face, and hanging with my girls if only it was this easy now.

Chapter 2 Trials and Tribulations

Whoa is me !!!!! Things happen that you have no control over sometimes. I was coming home from school one weekend , I had been accepted into Spelman University, one of the proudest accomplishments of my life. I answered a call and it was Dahshon and he sounded distraught, and upset as if he had been crying. By this point we are actually dating. He told me that my parents had been killed, and they were investigating the scene. I asked what happened and they said it was a suspected burglary. I raced the car to the house as fast as I could, to see my home swarmed with police officers, and ambulances, and the neighborhood folks doing their usual. There I caught a glimpse of my parents lifeless bodies on a stretcher covered by a sheet. I saw my whole world crumble and fall to pieces. I never felt so low and down before. It was the worst moment of my life. At the funeral I said a few words and all my family came and sat around me and comforted me.

Then my cousin , Velma pulled me to the side and said ,

" you need to find out what happened to your parents, because the cops are ruling it a murder suicide."

"Whaat ?!!!" I said

"Yes, I've looked over the evidence and it just isn't adding up, it is inconsistent , I'm not even supposed to be talking to you about it , I got to go. "

We said our goodbyes and she left.

The lawyer read off the will and everything including the house and the insurance policies and their assets adding up to over $700 million belonged to me. There was a clause that said " in the case of murder , the house is to be sold and a new home should be bought elsewhere effective immediately.

That in itself was strange. However, I did as I was told and I did not stay there i moved everything out and continued staying on campus living as if I had no money at all. That was not important to me , the memories and love of my parents was far greater than any money.

While moving I found a book, It had my name on it , and it said follow these directions to keep you safe. Now I'm more worried than ever before. What is it that my parents did ? are they drug lords, spies, what the hell is it. This was only the beginning I realized I knew absolutely nothing about them or what lied ahead of me. The life I once knew is gone , it is over, now I have to change my thinking , now I have to survive.

Chapter 3- TRUST NO ONE !

In big bold letters I see "RULE NUMBER ONE TRUST NO ONE" It actually scared me, my parents were the nicest most trusting people ever. I could not understand why they'd even be writing out anything like this. I didn't have many relatives that I was well acquainted with and that was the thing my mother and fathers funerals were packed with associates more so than family.

I remember my mothers nice white casket trimmed in gold and on the inside there was a velvety purple covering under her. She was so beautiful her skin glowed and her make up was done to perfection, just the way she liked it while she was living. In my head I see her smiling and saying how much she loved me, and how beautiful I was. Tears began to stream down my face as I kissed her and walked over to my father . His dark skin and his blue lined casket , was a perfect fit for him. He looked very good , I kissed his forehead and I cried and sat back in my seat and watched all the people passing around. Then I remembered in this moment, I had the opportunity to meet everyone except this one odd couple. They stuck out so vivid in my flash back but at the funeral it was blur. They dressed in all black, dark shades, and they were on their phones talking the whole time. That was the only thing then, they didn't stay the whole service.

I couldn't worry myself with them for too long I had other things to worry about.

Weeks have passed and I threw the book to the side , it was a bunch of gibberish and I just can't stand to decode things. I was starting to get the sense that I was being followed. I just felt no matter where I went I was always under surveillance, but I put it off to the side. I confided in Dahshon about my feelings the past few weeks.

We met up one bright day for a walk at the park near Spelman. He began running a bit and I assured him this was no workout day. Then we started to converse about everything.

"Dahshon I feel so lost without my parents, everything is crumbling , if I could use this cash to get them back I would in a heart beat."

" Well I know you loved your parents and they loved you. Don't be too hard on yourself. "

"Baby I'm not, I want to move on with my life but stuff is getting weird...li "

He interrupts " What????"

I cross my arms and rub them " Nothing so what's the move tonight?"

"Nothing I have to study, but if you want to hang afterward we can."

"That's great just call me."

I get a phone call.

On the other line the Police department begins their introduction, Its the detective on my parents case. He says " I have questions I need to ask you about your whereabouts that night." I replied , " Yes, Sure I am fine with that."

I knew I had done absolutely nothing so I was completely okay with going to the police department I knew this was standard procedure. I set up a time for the following morning and decided to go home and take a nap and await Dahshons' call. I could have been studying but I went to my dorm and I just was not feeling it. My parents death weighed heavy on me when I was alone. Anytime I get by myself I couldn't hold it together. I was trying but who could really be okay after finding out their parents got murdered.

I dozed off and woke up to several missed calls and noticed I slept through the whole night, then I realized something that made feel eerie. I saw that my dorm room door was open. I always close the door no matter what state I'm in. The book I had was gone and there was no trace of it anywhere. I had no roommate so it seemed rather bizarre that someone would be in here. I continued on through my morning rushing to brush my teeth and look decent, I hop in my car and I head to the police department. Here I find detective Rushmoore. He was fixated on me from the time I walked through the doors, I felt his eyes on me, We went in an interrogation room. Where he asked " Where were you that night? Morning ? day? " " Would you ever hurt your parents?" "Is there any one who would want to hurt them? " " Do you know your biological parents?" I paused because no I didn't know but now I want to get to know them. Maybe I didn't have to be alone with no family at all. After, I answered all the question Detective Rushmoore told me he would keep me posted on the case and to not worry so much. Now he just doesn't understand how this encounter has made me worry more.

The next day I wake up and fix a cup of coffee and I stare into the sunlight, I do not have classes today and its pretty much a free day. I get to keep to myself and collect my thoughts. I get dressed up all cute and I head to the adoption agency in our community. To see if I can get some records, a birth certificate at least. I of course had to pay , but that was no issue. I paid the fee and then I looked at the birth certificate. My mothers name was Paula Jean Mayes and my father Willie James Mayes. There was an address available , but I knew that place, I've been there before. I never saw a man or a woman there other than my deceased parents , because it was our home !!

Chapter 4 -Cracked Wide Open

Some things are starting not to add up. How could my biological parents have the same address as my adoptive parents. I never asked the circumstances surrounding my birth, but now I wanted to know even more. I looked up their names, used their birth year, and I got a hit. I found an address different from my mom and dads address it was 143 love lane . I called Dahshon to tell him about my new discovery.

" Dahshon are you around anyone ? "

He replied, " No, I'm alone , Wassup baby girl?"

I whispered, " I need you to come with me somewhere, its going to be about an hour trip, but I can't go alone, I'll give you details when you get here. Can you be here in thirty minutes? "

He said, " yes I'll be there shortly, say thirty minutes tops."

I waited around for Dashon to pull up and then I filled him in on the recent events. I wanted to form a relationship with my biological parents, but honestly my world as I came to know it fell apart. I had no one but my friends. I was really alone, and that book my parents gave me was missing, but how could that be. Anyway, I don't have time to worry with that at the moment.

We finally start the drive to our destination. An hour later we made it to the address and there we were together in front of a big house, a little smaller than my parents home, but It was still nice nonetheless. Flowers lined the drive way, and there was a sweet aroma in the area. Almost, a little country type living arrangement. The door had "Welcome to the Mayes" across the front of it. I began to shake anxiously as I got out of the car, and moved toward the door. I was so scared at this point I had broken out in cold sweat, and was even a little pale says Dahshon. I really never thought I would ever have to do this in my life, I thought my parents would always be with me. That was ignorant of me to even think, but what child doesn't want that. I stepped up on the Mat , that said If you didn't call, go away. I laughed and rang the doorbell. A lady answered the door and said , " Hey can I hellll." She stopped and said "Centra !!!! What are you doing here ??" She looked around and and pulled us both in the house. I noticed her, she was the lady with the man at the funeral that stayed on the phone the whole time. My guess is that guy will pop up as my dad. She yelled, "Willie !!!! We got a visitor , its been a long time. " He came down and he looked and said, " I know those eyes from anywhere." He began to cry and then she looked at me with tears in her eyes as well.

" Did they give you the book ? " Paula says

"Yes, but I didn't read it at all, Someone stole it."

" What that's just crazy that book had a lot of valuable information that you needed."

"What was in it that was so important?"

"You should have read it but there is a great mystery behind the life of your adoptive parents , and one they used to keep us all safe. I can't explain it, but you need to find that book and read it from cover to cover."

" Why can't you just tell me ? "

" Because there is no way that you will understand it coming from us, because we technically aren't that involved."

" We were friends and you kept them alive for all these years , they needed you , you were the gold. "

"Gold?"

" Yes, baby we didn't want to give you up we loved you, we just wanted to help a friend. "

"Baby you got to leave, and start coming at night , if i'm right they've started following you by now. "

Now i'm scared out of my mind because who would want to follow me I literally do nothing all day except sleep, eat, and do homework. They want money, I ll give it to them. It means nothing to me. I can't help but wonder what they were into.

Now I have to solve this thing with little to go on. Dahshon barely said two words on the way home. He seemed so distant after we left, and he got out of the car and didn't even say goodbye. After, a few days time went by and he didn't even reach out. Something was wrong but I didn't know what. Now I feel like he knew something that he wasn't telling me. Now I have to find out what he knows and who , The first rule I read said, " Trust no one."

Chapter 5 The Break In (to be continued)

fiction
1

About the Creator

Hillary Curtis

Writing is my life. I write every single day !!! If you want to see any specific contact. Send me challenges or any subject matter just send me an email [email protected] ! I will publish them here challenger included,gifts accepted.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.