Criminal logo

A Love Unrequited: My One-Sided Love Story

The Pain of Loving Someone Who Will Never Love You Back

By Dilip gurjarPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

As a teenager, I was a hopeless romantic. I spent hours daydreaming about the perfect love story, where I would meet someone who would sweep me off my feet and we would fall deeply in love. Little did I know that my love story would turn out to be quite different from what I had imagined.

I fell in love with a boy in my high school. Let's call him Adam. Adam was the popular guy, the one everyone wanted to be friends with. He was charming, witty, and always had a smile on his face. I, on the other hand, was the shy girl who always kept to herself. But despite our differences, I couldn't help but feel drawn to him.

I tried to get to know him better. I would strike up conversations with him in class or during lunch break, but it never went beyond small talk. I would catch him glancing at me sometimes, and my heart would skip a beat, but then he would turn away and continue his conversation with someone else.

Despite his lack of interest, I couldn't help but fall deeper in love with him. I would daydream about the two of us walking hand in hand, sharing inside jokes, and cuddling on the couch while watching a movie. But I knew that it was all just a fantasy.

As time passed, I realized that Adam was interested in someone else. It was painful to see him shower her with attention and affection, while I was left in the background, feeling invisible. But I couldn't help but admire him for his honesty and loyalty towards her.

I tried to move on. I went on dates with other guys, tried to keep myself busy, but my heart just wouldn't let go of Adam. Every time I saw him, my heart would ache, and I would feel a deep sense of longing.

Months turned into years, and Adam and his girlfriend graduated from high school and went their separate ways. I thought that maybe this was my chance, that maybe he would finally see me in a new light. But it was not to be.

Adam went on to college, and we lost touch. I would occasionally see his posts on social media, and my heart would skip a beat, but then reality would hit me, and I would feel a pang of sadness. I realized that my love for him would always be unrequited, and that was something I had to accept.

Years went by, and I graduated from college, got a job, and started a new life. But my love for Adam never faded. It was like a constant ache that I had to live with every day. I would see him in my dreams, and I would wake up with tears in my eyes, knowing that it was all just a fantasy.

As I write this, I am in my thirties, and Adam is married with kids. I see his posts on social media, and I can't help but feel happy for him. He has found someone who loves him as much as he loves her. But at the same time, I feel a sense of sadness and regret. Regret for not being able to express my feelings, regret for not being brave enough to take a chance, and regret for not being able to move on.

But despite all the pain and heartache, I am grateful for the experience. My one-sided love story has taught me the value of patience, perseverance, and acceptance. It has taught me that sometimes, no matter how much you love someone, it may not be enough to make them love you back. And that's okay. Love is not a transaction. It's a feeling that can't be forced

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.