Criminal logo

A date with Evil

My true story.

By Jennifer Wherry (Jeni)Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A date with Evil
Photo by Ján Jakub Naništa on Unsplash

It was May 1, 2013. The sun has not yet risen into the sky. I had just reached over to turn off my alarm clock. It is 5:30 a.m. I have started receiving some text messages, " Hey it's Shane, I will pay you $50.00 to do me a favor." I asked him what it was that he needed. He goes on to explain to me that he's very intoxicated, he is at a friend's house, he needs to leave before this guy's mother wakes up and kicks him out. I was already awake getting ready to go to work this morning anyway.

So, I told him okie dokie, then asked him where I needed to go. Shane informs me that he is out past Toys-R-Us. I asked him to just send the address where he needed me to pick him up from. I continue to finish getting ready for work, and then I get the text with the address, pop it in my GPS on my phone and I continue to proceed to this address.

I arrive, pull off to the side of the road and send a text to the number Shane had used to contact me with at first. Informing him that I am outside. I turn and look in the direction of the house and notice a guy smoking a cigarette. I rolled down the passenger side window enough to ask him if there was a Daniel Shane Thompson there. Also known as "Carolina". He replies "no". I got upset and send a text stating "WTF", this guy says that you are not even here.

Having another text come through telling me to park by the pine tree, the guy outside doesn't even know he was there. He will sneak outside coming from the rear of the house. I tell him to please hurry up, I must get to work. So, I am waiting for a minute and that same guy comes up to my car and tells me that carolina don't believe I was even outside. I am getting angrier by the minute. This guy says, can you just come up to the house to get him? Now I am fuming, I turn off my car, and start to walk up the driveway.

That is when it happened! I feel a hand wrapping around covering my eyes, and all i can feel is something tearing through my mouth. I begin to start struggling, attempting to do whatever I had to do to get free. I can feel something warm rolling down my neck. Then suddenly I got slammed on to the ground. I am kicking, screaming, and clawing, just trying to do anything I can at that time to survive, I notice he has a knife. I attempt to get it out of his hands. I am making him angry fighting back like I had and then I can feel the blade on my neck. Telling me to stop screaming and he won't hurt me if I start co-operating.

I nod slightly and tell him if you stop stabbing me. That was when he asked me to give him a ride down the street to Racoon Park. I tell him all right. Now this is when my fight or flight has gone into overdrive. I know that when he attempts to get into my car, he will not be able to. I am normally alone in my car, so I tend to drive with my passenger door always locked. He started to holler for me to open the door. That is when I got my chance to escape, I quickly opened my door, keys in hand, slammed my door shut and locked it. I quickly put my keys in the ignition, started my car and threw it in reverse. Attempting to hit him in the process. I figured that one way or another I was getting help at that time. Whether it be from another car hitting me while i backed up onto the other road, or I stopped to get help at the first house I seen.

investigation
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Wherry (Jeni)

I'm a beautiful soul; I had scary events along with great memories. Love to enjoy life and all that comes along. Hoping someone can gain something from one of my stories, experiences or just to brighten someone's day will do too. L.A.L.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.