Confessions logo

You. My Guilty Pleasure

Dark is beautiful

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
20
You. My Guilty Pleasure
Photo by Pushpak Dsilva on Unsplash

The seven deadly sins.

You are all in one.

You are my everything. My deadly pleasures. My deadly sin. You don't cause me pain, you cause me joy, you ignite fires, you satiate hunger.

For you...

You bring about all the sins in me when I consume you.

You are...

All of it and more.

For you are...

Lust

I see you.

I look at you with eyes akin to those that haven't been presented with a feast before. I inch closer to your body, looking at those layers with lust. I peel them off, one by one, savouring every moment, every nuance of your dark body from tip to toe.

That's how you are meant to be undone.

Gluttony

Nothing tastes better to my lips than you do.

While everyone else is quick to gobble you down, I take my time. We don't exchange words of love or care, all we want to satiate each other's desire and longing for greatness that only fine delicacies that you and I can offer each other. Like a good cup of tea, we take a while to brew, and then every sip is a glutton's wish come true.

Every bite sends my tastebuds to heaven and back.

Greed

I can never have enough of you.

One look, one touch, one time is never enough. The more I see you, the more I have you, the more I want you. It's a bottomless pit when it comes to relishing in every moment we spend time together. I want more. They say too much of something isn't good for you, but I know anyway that you're bad.

Still, there is no stopping me.

Envy

Could it be that something could exude so much beauty?

You are the epitome of tall, dark and handsome. Your every trait, every feature exudes excellence. The way your eyes glitter, the curve of your lips, the sharpness of your edges. How is something so beautiful yet so seemingly uncouth?

It's as though I crave you but at the same time I abhor you for being so perfect.

Pride

You fill me up.

The sense of authority you allow me to have over you. The ability to be myself in your presence, arrogant, lavish, witty - all things that make me feel good and confident about myself. You bring that out in me especially in moments when I doubt that you could let someone else revel in their glory.

I speak of you highly to everyone around me, boasting you around like a victor's trophy.

Wrath

And yet, you make me so angry.

I want all of the things you have and more. I want you. But I cannot have you. You look at me with shame, as though my being is so insignificant and unimportant to you, even if you know how I put you on a pedestal that I myself might not be able to reach.

You are all that I want in someone, and yet all that I stay away from.

Sloth

And so I don't want to work for you.

I want you to come to me as though it's nature's responsibility to bring two beings who would never make a good match together. For I believe in signs. For I believe in things to fall on my lap and so I should just wait it out. Not saying anything until the call comes to bring us closer together. Unless and until someone says I can have you.

Unless and until you appear in my arms without me putting in the slightest efforts.

For you are chocolate cake, my guilty pleasure, my deadly sin.

SecretsBad habits
20

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Eva Marie Chastain 17 days ago

    That was fvqing brilliant. In our age of full frontal frankness and xxx click bait, the art of allusion is a rare treat, indeed. p.s. the chocolate cake recipe on the back of the Coco box is KILL.

  • Huan Huan 4 months ago

    THIS POEM is my guilty pleasure :)) Hearts so full of longing, I love this.

  • Yes, I just ate some chocolate cake😁✌️♥️

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Delicious!!! Fabulously written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Oh wow~This romance is getting out of hand. Someone has to be the bigger, stronger person. To eat or not to eat, that is the question. Sory, but Cake always tempts you into submision. Lovely poem indeed.

  • I love this so full of temptation. Great poem

  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    Oh my goodness, we are kindred souls!! Unadulterated chocolate!! What a great piece! Absolutely scrumptious!!!

  • so creative, nicely done 🧠

  • Amber Bristow6 months ago

    What a great piece, well done 👏

  • Andrew C McDonald6 months ago

    Wonderful, flavorful, take on the theme. Great job.

  • Rowan Finley 8 months ago

    I wrote a piece about the seven deadly sins and it’s called, “To Each Their Own Flavor.”

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    That picture is perfect for the piece 👌

  • Oh my god! This was so creative! You are so brilliant!

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    All that from a slice of cake? Impressive!

  • Ruby Red8 months ago

    I love chocolate cake too! There is no resisting.. aaaand now i'm hungry! Wonderful work as always :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.