Confessions logo

Whatever time, whatever place, whatever age

The moment

By Lucy LeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Whatever time, whatever place, whatever age
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

I always thought the most embarrassing moments would happen when a human was at an old age, or at an age where others would find any mistake amusing. However that was not the case in my situation. Surprisingly, I actually care about what my fellow high schoolers think about me: if they know how strange I am on the inside; if they assume I’m just the nerdy, book loving girl everyone sees on the outside or if they don’t take notice of me and I’m normally this much of an over thinker. Unfortunately for my reputation, I expect it’s the last option. When these ridiculous memories ponder in my imagination, it’s hard not to panic and keep the fear from reaching my eyes.

It all started on a grey, mundane Thursday, everyone was gathered in the hall waiting for the uninspiring assembly that each teacher had a contrasting thought towards to begin. I have a very weird phobia about small spaces with multiple people in and when I’m forced to one of those people, I get very cautious and anxious about what will happen. Little did I know, what would eventually come around would be extremely bad on my part. When I was in primary school, we all sat on the hard, wooden floors to learn, whether it was in our usual classes or in the constant gatherings every Monday. The thought of multiple germs laying on the ground, being placed there my multiple people haunts me, that’s why it was such a relief high school let’s you sit normally, on chairs that are meant to be used. This reason is the fact that made me really annoyed when I found out there weren’t enough benches to seat all of the students in my year. It was like all the people in all the school were conspiring against me, which I new was an absurd thought, however I was uncomfortable and irritable at this point.

Droosing off was in sight, however when I heard the loud, tiresome bell ring over and over, I knew it was time to leave. Then it hit me, I had been sitting leg crossed on the floor for nearly 30 minutes and my leg had become completely numb. Frustratingly, I could not bare to walk on it, which meant I would have to either sit on the floor and not get up ( which would be extremely weird) or I could lean onto the person next to me, but this person smelt like rotten cheese. Consequently, both options were not pleasant so I thought to myslef ‘I’ll just have to stand up and go with the flow’. I never should of. When it was my time to leave the hall, everything went south. Fast.

The numbing pain increased and my eyes went blurry, so blurry infact that I had no clue my shiny, leather school shoe had flew off and hit another student in the face. To make matters worse, the boy, who had been slapped with my big hard shoe was in a wheel chair, caused by the accident of falling down mountain snowden: an adventure he was apparently looking forward to for ages. By this point, I still could not feel a single cell in my leg and it felt like the tingling feeling had spread to my arm. Wobbling all over the place, eyes were stuck on me, faces were glaring and I was trying to refrane myself from completely panicking.

Just as I thought it couldn’t get any worse, a feeling I could only describe as faint-like shadowed me. There was nothing I could do except let whatever was going to happen, happen. The assembly ended with me landing on this boys lap who was sitting right behind me and as I got my view back, I could make out an image that to my horror was the boy I was totally and completely in love with.

To summarise, I sat down on a hard, dirty floor; hit a physically hurt kid in the face with my shoe and gave the boy I had a crush on a mini lap dance. Astonishingly, that wasn’t even the worst part, infact it was that by the next day no one except me remembered or talked about the incident. It was like my friends had gone round paying or threatening everyone to never talk about it, and if they actually did do they they would be the best people I care for. Till this day, I have daymares about what people thought about me and if they now see me as the strange girl I am.

This just proves that whatever time, whatever place and whatever age you are at, embarrassing moments will always come, even if you don’t expect them.

Embarrassment

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LLWritten by Lucy Lee

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.