Confessions logo

What A Day

horrible birthday!

By Savannah Brock Published 3 years ago 3 min read
What A Day
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

I've been embarrassed about numerous things all my life but one incident in particular made me feel like it was the end of my world. It was my 15th birthday and I was so excited to get up at 6:15 that morning. I was so excited to see what my day was going to be like. Never been this excited to see what my mother had in store for me.

Well she told me to get up and get showered and dressed I had my first appointment in 4 hours and 45 minutes. Me smiling from ear to ear I ran to get myself together. I just knew it was going to be the best day I've ever had. We started off with going out to breakfast and talked and laughed. I shared my dreams for the first time. See my mother had 6 children and was very busy all the time. This meant the world to have just that time. So, me excited kept asking where was I going and she kept saying you'll see.

At this point we have left to go to some of her and my favorite stores. Walking around with excitement I was so anxious to get to where I was going. I remember my mother surprising me with eyewear to blindfold me so that I couldn't figure out where I was going once I got back into the car.

It was here, we were there finally, I was so excited she made me walk holding on to her so that I couldn't see where I was going. All I know is there was a lot of people different voices and my mother just saying hello to everyone she walked past. She sat me down blindfolded still and said she would be right back and walked out the room and shut the door behind her. Oh man the anticipation from her coming in and saying she was going to count backwards from 50 and I could remove the blindfold. She started counting I got more excited. I mean I could have fainted from the anxiety I had she got to 10 and tears started rolling. She got to 1 and I pulled that blindfold off so fast with the biggest smile that shortly turned into the biggest frown ever. I was then looking at my doctor who wanted to make sure me being a young female everything was good to go. So, no, I didn't get the birthday I heard and thought I was getting instead I got the trip from hell to the doctor’s office. I could remember crying saying I don't want birth control pills. Laughing literally as I am typing this. It was horrible. Worst birthday ever. I still think about it every time I enter a doctor’s office. There was no party, no cake, no friends and family gathering. No amusement park nothing but the doctor smiling trying not to laugh like hell because she was in on this!

I cried through the whole process and talked about how I didn't want to be here and especially not doing any of this. I didn't talk to my whole family for 3 weeks. I told my doctors I was never coming back even if I died I wasn't coming and I didn't care what was wrong with me. Needless to say it was hilarious when she told me this story 4.5 years later at an appointment in a different facility. Every single one of her new coworkers thought that was the most embarrassing an funniest story they’ve heard while working in a doctor’s office.

Embarrassment

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Savannah  Brock Written by Savannah Brock

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.