Confessions logo

Westchester Pride

The Day We Met Olivia Lux!

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
1
Westchester Pride June 5, 2022

Do you believe in miracles?

I do

Do you believe in that everything happens for a reason?

I do

Have you ever been inspired?

I have

On June 5th, 2022, and I was once again without a job...

The world has gone through so much from the years 2020 through 2022, today I am proud of myself but back in June all I had were my children, my dog and my faith.

I believe in the purpose of our Podcast; I believe in my writing, and I believe in our ultimate goal of helping others. This journey has not been easy, but I have been inspired all throughout the way.

Whether it has been through meeting like-minded individuals or getting a glimpse of celebrities that I admire.

We have a couple of episodes dedicated to RuPaul's Dragrace and getting to meet Drag Queens from the show has been an absolute miracle to me!

It has inspired me to continue with our projects and I know one day it will be our turn to shine like stars!

Welcome to the world of entertainment! My name is Diana and entertaining you with the truth is my forte.

The RuPaul's Dragrace show has not only entertained me, taught me about the LGBTQplus community, but the show has also brought femininity back into my life.

During my years battling Depression, I forgot a lot about myself.

I forgot I was elegant, I forgot I was intelligent, I forgot I was strong, I forgot who I was as a person and The RuPaul's Dragrace show, helped so much during this difficult time in my life.

My son actually was the person to introduce me to this show as a way to spend quality time together, we would often watch this show and it has become one of our favorites.

The show plays such a big role in my life that breaking down episodes will be a theme on The Vibe Podcast... but back on June 5th,2022... I was down.

I was on Public Assistance... after investing in myself I have fallen on hard times; however I keep going and I do let pride nor ego get in the way of my goals.

I had no money and children to feed so I absolutely got on Public Assistance.

On June 5th, we decided to take a trip to Dollar Tree in White Plains, New York and on our walk, we bump into a Westchester Pride event.

Guess who was there?

Olivia Lux

It was none other than Oliva Lux from Season 13 of RuPaul's Dragrace! We had actually recorded an episode dedicated to this season last year on July 29th, 2021!

Imagine seeing one of the stars from your favorite shows during one of your lowest moments... the struggling artist life...

How do you think my children and I felt?

We were absolutely inspired! My son can relate with Olivia Lux so much!

I am the proud mama bear to a gay son, and it has been challenging to say the least.

All of the Queens on the show have inspired us to continue with our dreams, be true to ourselves and even if we are poor, we can still be elegant.

Eleganza, Extravaganza!

Fastforward to December 2022 and I am back in Hospitality in Hell's Kitchen, New York City and guess who walked in bright and early one morning???

Trinity the Tuck Taylor

Season 9's, Trinity the Tuck Taylor! and also an All Star!!

Can you imagine how excited I was??

It was about 7am and I am at my job... funding my art and catching up on bills has been a blessing so I am quite happy, and I recognize this face...

This face looked familiar so I begin to think to myself... could this be who I think it is... and sure enough it was!

I told her that I knew who she was, but it was too early for me to scream and that me and my son love her so much.

She told me to tell my son she said hello, Trinity is a very beautiful spirit.

Again, I was inspired to keep going with our projects, who knows what the future holds.

Don't ever be ashamed of your dark times or financial troubles.

Once upon a time, Iyanla Vanzant and Whoppi Goldberg were both on Public Assistance.

Maya Angelou was a former sex worker and even Moses was a murderer.

This life was never promised to be easy but achieving your dreams are absolutely possible.

Helping and inspiring others makes me happy.

Have you ever been inspired? How do you inspire others?

For the New Year 2023, let's think of ways to inspire others.

The world has been mad for far too long and I think we all now have a clean slate.

Happy New Year and may all of your dreams come true!

TabooTeenage yearsHumanityFamilyEmbarrassment
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.