Confessions logo

Turning The Page.

2022, the year adulting dies.

By Malliha AhmadPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I had dreams of setting the tone with a soft air of surrender and peace, but that doesn't feel authentic to where I am right now. My higher self wants to be in that calm space, but I'm hanging on by a tiny mouse hair, and the horses are running wild.

So in the spirit of keeping it real, I am going to authentically lay the bricks for 2022.

**Actually, bricks sound way too heavy and tiresome. Laying bricks is a lot of heavy lifting and let's be honest ... this chica isn't able to lift (or carry) anything extra. So let me rephrase, I am going to lightly blow feathery intentions into the air with ease and fluffiness.**

Before I look at myself and peel apart the layers of what I can commit to for 2022 ... let me give you a bit of background:

I am someone that flowers in the face of struggles. I get an adrenaline rush from herding the cattle of chaos, I smile in the face of B.S, and I keep an invisible eyebrow raised because I'm skeptical, Susan.

At times I take pride in driving the struggle bus (is this screaming masochism?) ...

Ok ... Moving on ...

I am a solver, doer, actioner, fire extinguisher, to-doer (is that even a word?), helper, entrepreneur, trailblazer, researcher, manifestor, expander, grower, organizer, leader, warrior, worker, idea generator, learner, analyzer, completer, builder, creator, critical thinker, free thinker, over-thinker, anxious thinker, and thinker of thinkers.

Needless to say, I carry a family of possums on my back while living life, surviving (at times thriving), adulting, and being OVERLY responsible. This weight of responsibility is quite the load, and frankly, it needs to take the back seat (I guess I get my mojo from the energy of overwhelm), but this all has to stop! It ain't cute, and I will end up looking 80 when I'm 40!

So ...

In 2022 I want to welcome new things that never get the chance to whisper, be seen, or heard.

I'm vowing to hug (and deeply embrace) these simple, gentle resolutions with compassion, grace, and a bit of softness.

2022, here are my resolutions:

Become comfortable with doing nothing (sit on nothingness' lap).

Drink more water.

Be lazy and make friends with it.

Less solving. More surrendering.

Feel (frown when you want, laugh, growl, etc.).

Give yourself the space to crumble.

Daydream.

Stretch in the shower.

Pick wildflowers or smell them.

Count clouds.

Go slow.

Breathe deeply.

Stop judging leafy greens (they aren't here to hurt you).

Play.

Invite in softness.

Create without perfection.

Feel the balance between passiveness & assertiveness.

Explore pleasure.

Unlearning expectations & constraints (one step at a time).

Be barefoot in nature.

Nap when your body is sending out S.O.S signals.

Cry more.

Ask for help; you don't have to do, carry, or solve everything.

Dance more.

Write in cursive once in a while.

Put on your awesome cape more often.

These resolutions feel lighter without the weight that comes with pressure.

My heart craves these resolutions and desires more tenderness, openness, and fluidity.

Over the past 2 years, I've become someone I no longer recognize. Adulting has taken the driver seat, and I'm beyond ready to be 5 years old again!

I'm honoring the simple moments. The slices of joy, laughter, play, and connection. I remember when I couldn't wait to be an adult; I now look back and tell my younger self to slow down. They never told us the absolute truth behind adulting; being ignorant and immature was an indescribable bliss.

2022 is my year of less adulting and more nothingness.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Malliha Ahmad

I'm writing fiction to welcome joy into my life. Thanks for reading my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.