Confessions logo

TOMORROW.

LET'S STAND TOGETHER AND LIGHT THE WAY.

By Jewel MedinaPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Every new day is a new beginning.

2020 was the saddest year of my time here on earth. I may not be an alien to say that nor a hero from a story hahaha." Anyway, I also know I'm not alone either when it comes to having a very sad year. It is throughout years as I became older that I watched from the sidelines even one-year-old me just seeing how our society changed from 911 then getting older to shootings in schools and the list goes on, unfortunately. Yet hey we all have our opinions of the world and the way it is now so you are entitled to your opinions and I am to mine remember we are still human and never to be called indestructible. That is basically saying your GOD. Although we can be strong and wise yet we may not realize sometimes that Life, in general, is what makes us who we are. The rules of society are what build our view. Making us either hateful or grateful in life. Yet you may not make the correct decision when it comes to having a blind eye. It can't even tell you a view of yourself or how you see people. I believe that we are in control of some things here. You see I have a big heart and sometimes that can be deadly in our world now yet I intend to do what I can when I see the homeless and people who can't fight for themselves. So my new year's resolution is to give more but when I do go out my way here is a short story of how my life changed and that made me not see the world with much hatred. Yet making me see that people, in general, are just trying to live life as well. I was 10 when I started stealing with my friends 2 years older than me and encouraged me telling me that I should and that I am young and so they will let me go.

Boy was I in for a surprise as my friends escaped leaving me high and dry. I remember trying to fight the cop because one I felt betrayed and two I did not like the cops because I thought they were being unfair at that moment. Anyway, no worries around my 11-year-old age it disappeared when we moved to Claremont to start new. Anyway as I got older through each lesson Life gave me I at first was believing that I was an unlucky girl and I never had a good life. It took time and around 17 years old and near my birthday also then I realized that every failure made me wiser and stronger. That my dreams can come true and around 2019 it did and because I took my time since then. I was 17 at the year of graduation which was 2017. I remember being the one to do a speech to the class of 2017. I honestly cried because I then already given a speech so moving and inspiring to others. That I was in the hickory newspaper.

I do have my video of the speech and the newspaper still but besides that like I said fast forward back to 2019 where I published a hit in a way my own book is mainly just for giving hope and shedding light to those who feel alone. To those who feel like their life doesn't matter when honestly it does. Now that is why I have a big heart giving food and allowing the homeless to feel like they're not forgotten makes me feel happy and upon my first check, I remember the first time I helped a life who is a person of course. I was going to the store with my mother who drove me around and 2019, of course, was then I could not drive at the time but as I was headed into the store a pregnant woman had stopped me saying can you spare change and I thought for a minute long and hard and said I will spare time and not change but it depends. So I told my mom to do her shopping that I will be okay. As my mom went inside I did some digging and pulled the woman to the side in a public yet not so public area and I hope no one can blame me, after all, we are living in a society where many things can happen. As I asked three questions and as I asked them her body language and the movement of her eyes gave her away in a good way. So I treated her to food and gave her some money to start out which was the money that I was going to get my own place with. I remember the tears and the way she thanked me I told her the only way you would thank me is to just let me know through my email and I told her to tell me if she's doing okay within a year or so. Now around the first year of 2020 January 2nd I got an email from her telling me she got an apartment and it brought me to tears as I found that the baby is healthy and that she will tell her child the story and hopefully build her child up into a fine young man one day. That was then I said to myself I will start writing more and giving hope to those who need it just like the pregnant woman. I feel proud that of knowing when we step up as a society and together we can make a change even if it may take years or something to do so. It is not about the win and the attention because if we do it with bad intentions it will not end well. We should never do things with desires of greed. Though I know that such intentions will backfire. From 2020 to the year now I still keep giving and helping others who are thinking they are helpless. I feel that will always be a calling to me because why be angry or judge someone when you do not know their whole life story. They could be in an abusive situation and you add on to it. Remember we sometimes are torn between treating others the way we want to be treated and treating others the way they treat you. Our minds can be selfish though so keep in that mind the way people treat you can be a statement about who they are as a human being yet never a statement about you. Other than this making a change in someone's life is like having to want it more than you fear it. It is our tomorrow we may not know so the one thing is for certain we hopefully do know is that our future will not be like today sometimes it is okay to be anxious about the future but try to let go and invent your tomorrow because what you do today is one step closer to where you want into a better tomorrow.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Jewel Medina

I believe that writing has always flowed through as a kid and I loved it ever since.

But one piece of advice never give up on whatever your dreams are because whatever it is I just know you are special enough to tell yourself you got this!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.