Confessions logo

Thoughts or Fiction

Bad, Wrong and Evil

By Calie Judy BrooksPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like
Thoughts or Fiction
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Does some people really do bad things on purpose? I often think of doing bad things, but I don't do them because I know it will hurt people. So does people really do bad things knowing it's bad and it will hurt people? Why? There's only one reason that would compel me to hurt someone and is if someone hurt one of my loved ones. Otherwise, they're not worth the trouble. Why would I hurt someone who's beneath my hatred?

There are other ways to get revenge from people without something wrong or illegal. Which make me think that some people don't always do evil things out of revenge. Those are the people I understand the least. Especially the ones who do them for money. Money is a fictitious currency that could crash at any time. I understand a little more the people who does them for drugs or addictions. If you're addicted to something it obviously controls your life and so you don't really have any control over your actions. You're a slave to your addictions. I'm a slave of my own addictions, but I'm trying to get rid of those. Though, the only thing it forces me to do is lack sleep and skip meals. It doesn't affect others, though. And it's a soft addiction, so I wouldn't kill for it... except for one person, but that's a different story.

People say thing are wrong or right, but they never say why. They expect us to just naturally understand why. I do understand why killing is wrong, it affects people and hurts the livings. I do understand why it's wrong to hurt others, I don't like to be hurt either and it affects them. I do understand why it's wrong to steal from people especially if it's a personal item and if it's something they know they own. It affects and hurt a lot of them. Though, I don't understand why it's wrong to steal something from a big corporation or someone rich who wouldn't really notice or care if that thing disappeared. I don't understand why it's wrong to steal a fruit or a vegetable from a place that has thousands of them or if it's from a seemingly abandoned tree or something like that from nature. Though, I do understand why it's wrong to steel too much from nature, it will destroy the ecosystem and thus make it impossible for us to live.

There are so many things that I do or don't understand to be wrong or good, but they were never explained to me. Which, in the end, doesn't mean I'm not going to do it, just that if I'm giving the opportunity to do it without repercussions, I'm going to do it. I know there are laws, and I won't go against them unless I have to or I don't realize it's a law. Laws are supposed to say what's wrong, and what's right, but some of them makes so sense. I'm not going to give any example, you probably already have your own example of a silly law. But those kinds of laws make me questions which one of them is actually good and which one would be unethical to follow.

Human ethic still has a long way to go. But, for the love of god, explain why it's wrong or good, why would anyone follow your ethic if your reason is "just, because, it is"? That and "it's only natural" or "it's basic human knowledge." We find rapists and killers among animals too which is in nature. As for "basic human knowledge", human knowledge has already been proven again and again that we shouldn't trust it. Anything linked to belief also makes no sense to give as an excuse, especially to a none believer. If I said "everyone should cut their right arms because it's the hand of god and we shouldn't use god for everything we do", it still wouldn't make it wrong to keep your right arm. Even if we understand the roots of the belief, it doesn't mean it evolved in the right direction or that it still has a place in modern days.

Unrelated, a thing about being given an ultimate choice. Something like "do that, or I will kill your dog" or things like that. I wouldn't do it even if it was something I really wanted to do without the threat. If someone told me something like that I would say: "Okay, do so. Though, I won't feel responsible for your actions. You chose to give me that choice, and you might have decided to do it anyway, so how could I trust you? You decided to choose that way of persuasion, while many others would have worked way better with me. However, I must warn you, if you go through the threat, you must be ready to kill a lot more after that or to suffer a torture you wouldn't wish to your worst enemy." Yeah, if I was in a story, I wouldn't be a hero... Nor a villain. I'm a dangerous person, but nothing made me act on it, so I guess it's fine.

Bad habitsTabooSecretsHumanityCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.