Confessions logo

This Is Me

A short letter to Myself

By Diamond GossettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
This Is Me
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I came out on my Tumblr Blog and only a handful of people know my sexual orientation. I always knew I wasn't straight. I first noticed in High School, I was attracted to some of the girls, some I knew, some I didn't know. I'm afraid to tell my family because I know that not all of them are supportive of the LGBTQIAP+ community. I never gave much thought to dating, male or female or anyone else, mainly because I just wasn't interested. After I left High School I kind of pushed my sexuality to the side. I started rethinking what my sexuality was. Was I Gay? Was I Bisexual? I actually thought I went both ways in my early 20s. Even though I was more attracted to women, I still liked guys.

My Dad eventually questioned my sexuality. I remember him asking me if I would ever date girls and I told him I would, that was years ago though. More recently I came out to my Dad, he asked me again if I would date girls and I was thinking, "Maybe this is the time to finally tell one of my parents." My Dad is great and isn't judgemental. He supports the LGBT+ community, so I always felt at ease whenever I was ready to come out to him and that night, I did. I think my Mom suspects that I might be Gay, but I'm not ready to tell her. She can't keep a secret and her sister, my aunt, will be the first one she tells and I'm just not ready for the whole family to know as I said. Only my 2 friends know, and now my Dad, plus everyone on Tumblr who came across the post on my page.

I'm glad to be a part of the LGBT+ community. Growing up I was always different and I felt it. I knew my attraction to other genders wasn't just a phase. I do plan on telling my family someday. I know there's no rush and I'll do it when I'm ready. At 28, I'm still kind of shocked that I'm attracted to more than one gender. I never imagined I would be a member of the LGBT+ family. I feel like I know myself more now, but I'm also still figuring out who I actually really am, like most people. I do love myself more than I did when I was a teenager and I feel more comfortable with myself. This is who I am and I won't apologize. Whether my family accepts me or not doesn't really matter to me. I can't force them to accept me for who I am. I love my family there's no doubt about that.

I don't know what my future has in store for me but one thing is for sure is that I will charge forward with my head held high. I have more than enough support in my life from my Dad, too my best friends, and of course, everyone who follows me on Tumblr. I decided to come out on Tumblr because it seemed like such a friendly place and I'm constantly seeing LGBT+ posts and content. Some people are Bisexual, some are Gay and Non-Binary. It's really great. If I remember, I came out last year during Pride Month. I haven't really told my full story yet but I will someday. Maybe no time soon but like I said I know there is no rush. I'm happy being who I am right now. I feel like a weight has been lifted off of me.

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Diamond Gossett

I’m an aspiring writer whose role model is Hayao Miyazaki. I first began writing at the age of 12. I love writing coming of age YA. Trying to approach the genre differently. I love reading Edgar Allan Poe and Fantasy novels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.