Confessions logo

THE UNREMEMBERED PROMISE

by Alex Dormido

By alex dormidoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

Confession: My heart is beating with remorse and regret as I sit here, pen in hand. It's now time to face the reality that has plagued me for years. I'm hoping to find some amount of redemption by sharing my confession.

Everything began throughout my college years. I was a driven student ready to prove myself to the rest of the world. Emily, a friend of mine, had similar goals. We were both driven by our aspirations and shared a unique kinship that was difficult to put into words. I believed we were inseparable.

We made a pledge to each other one summer: we would always support one other's aspirations, no matter what. We promised to be there for each other through the ups and downs, to cheer each other on and lend a helping hand when required.

What we need is not just love but a conversation that would strike our soul. We do not need any materialistic things but a book to discuss about.,you were that to me. You had a vibrant mind, full of wonders, your imagination extremely mirrors your character, outgoing,extroverted nad nice.You had a way of getting people’s attention, as opposed to me. It’s interesting how easily we got on the same page automatically.A song that you figured everything out already.It was obvious, all the things we didn’t said, tells so much about us, how we didn’t need any words to communicate. I swear I couldn’t write anything down in the past, I was kept speechless. I was happy, always releasing happy tears because I couldn’t contain all the emotions. but slowly, I am acknowledging everything about us before it is forgotten. I cherish you, maybe, that’s the reason why.

However, life took its toll over time. We were increasingly devoured by the stresses of our work, relationships, and personal issues. We began to drift away, losing contact with one another. Our once-unbreakable link seemed to disintegrate, leaving only shards of a once-promising friendship.As the years went by, I achieved success in my chosen field. I became well-known, respected, and even admired by many. However, my accomplishments were always tinged with a bittersweet ache, a constant reminder of the promise I had broken.

Emily, you know, was never given the same possibilities that I was. She had to overcome several challenges, defeats, and disappointments. And, despite the fact that I knew she needed my help more than ever, I was preoccupied with my own goals, ignoring the relationship that had once meant everything to me.

We became strangers in one other's lives as time passed. I stood back and let Emily fight her problems alone. I knew I had let her down, that I had broken the commitment we made all those years ago.As I ponder on my decisions, I see the actual cost of my desire. My achievement came at the price of a close friend, who deserved better from me. I can't alter the past, but I can admit my fault and hope that Emily will find it in her heart to forgive me eventually.

To Emily,if you ever come across my confession, please know that I profoundly regret abandoning you when you needed me the most. I'm sorry for the grief I caused and the commitments I broke. You were always a wonderful friend, and I hope you will find it in your heart to forgive me one day.

May this confession serve as a reminder to treasure the relationships we make, to cultivate and defend the friendships that keep us going. Learn from my errors, and never allow success blind you to the individuals who stayed by your side when you had nothing. They are the ones who are actually important.

Friendship
2

About the Creator

alex dormido

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.