Confessions logo

The Truth Behind the Tune

A Tale from a Troubadour

By Edward JonesPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I'm Edward, a singer who's seen and lived it all. I've traveled the land, performing in taverns, inns, and even royal courts. But tonight, I was performing in a small, run-down tavern in the outskirts of town. That's when a young girl approached me, dressed in fine clothes and sparkling jewels.

She asked, "Can you sing me something real? I'm tired of hearing songs about fake heroes and their quests."

I looked at her, thinking, "This girl ain't from around here. She's just looking for a good time." But I replied, "This dump ain't the place for someone like you. You should go home."

But she retorted, "Neither is it for you. Sing something real for once, I'm sick of the same old lies."

As the young girl stood in front of me, demanding a different kind of story, I couldn't help but reflect on my own experiences as a singer. I've been traveling from town to town, singing the same old tales of heroes and their adventures, always promising riches and glory at the end. But the truth is, these stories are just that - stories. They're not real, they're just a way to entertain people and make a living.

I've been singing these tales for so long that I've started to believe in their authenticity. But the reality of being a hero is far from the stories I've been singing. It's not always about riches and glory, there's a dark side to it as well. I've seen it firsthand, the danger and hardship that come with the territory.

As I looked at the young girl, I could see a spark of hope in her eyes, a hope that these tales were true. But I couldn't continue to feed her these lies. I wanted to give her the truth, the real truth about what it means to be a hero.

"Alright," I said finally. "You buy me a cup of tea, and I'll sing you something real."

We headed to a quiet corner of the tavern, and I started spilling the truth. I shared my own experiences and the lessons I've learned on the road. "You know, it ain't just a bunch of baloney about heroes and their adventures," I told her. "It's all fake, just a way to make a living. But I've learned that the real world is much more complicated, and it ain't pretty."

The little girl was really listening, her eyes lit up with each word I spoke. "I never thought about it like that," she said. "I've always thought that quests were the way to find adventure and excitement."

"Yeah, well, let me tell you, the reality is far from that," I replied. "I've been on more quests than I can count, and let me tell you, it ain't all it's cracked up to be. The heroes you hear about in the songs, they're nothin' like the real ones. They're just people, with flaws and weaknesses, just like you and me."

I told her about the long, boring days, the nights spent sleeping in the mud and rain, the fear that grips you in the moments of danger, and the scars that never go away. And the treasure you're promised at the end? Well, let's just say it's usually not worth it.

"That sounds terrible," she said.

"It is, but it's the truth," I replied. "But that's not the point, the point is that there's more to life than just quests and heroes. There's love, there's friendship, there's happiness, and those are the things that are worth singin' about."

The little girl was silent for a moment, and then she said, "I've never heard a story like that before. Can you sing me a song about love?"

"I sure can," I said, and with a smile, I began to sing for her, a different kind of song, a song about love and the beauty of life. And as I sang, I could see the look of wonder and joy on her face, and I knew that this was what I was meant to do, sing the truth and share it with the world.

I continued to perform in the tavern that night, singing songs of love and life, sharing my experiences.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Edward Jones

I'm a passionate musician and storyteller. When I'm not strumming my guitar, you can find me writing captivating short stories. I'm grateful to have the opportunity to share my passions with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.