Confessions logo

The Time My Wardrobe Malfunctioned During An Interview

And the hilarious follow-up.

By Danell Boyles TeNyenhuis BlackPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo by dragana991 on iStock

There was a distinct popping sound and I suddenly realized the ‘girls’ were free.

In 1993 I had a series of misfortunes. I lost my teaching position at a small non-profit school when they ran out of funding. Shortly after that, I had an incident involving an avocado and a knife. I lost.

The guacamole incident

While attempting to remove an avocado pit, I stabbed my left index finger and severed the tendon. My injury required surgery and made it very difficult to do anything. My sister’s wedding was the same week as my surgery, so my mom had to do some quick sewing to make a cover for my splint that would match my bridesmaid dress.

We already had appointments to get our hair done, so I didn’t have to worry about attempting to do my hair with one hand. A friend was there to do our makeup. I was a little loopy from pain medicine and had to avoid alcohol, but I survived the wedding.

Weeks later, I set up a job interview with a local school district. Preparing for the interview involved some logistics. I borrowed a car with automatic transmission to avoid the need to shift gears and could steer with one hand. My sister lent me a front-closing bra. I selected a dress I could pull over my head, and I practiced doing my hair and makeup with one hand.

The interview

On the day of the interview, I was pleased that I could make myself presentable and drive to the interview. This feat may not seem like an accomplishment, but my 25-year-old self felt utterly helpless. Now I just needed to make it through the interview. The principal ushered me into his office, and the interview began.

The interview itself was mostly uneventful, and I felt I was doing well. Then suddenly, things changed. There was a distinct popping sound. The sound a front-closing bra makes when it pops open. I have an ample bosom, which meant the bra was performing an essential service. I suddenly realized the ‘girls’ were free!

The dress I selected had a plain bodice. There were no darts or other strategic designs. The bra was doing all of the work! I played it off by maintaining my expression and casually crossing an arm over my chest. The principal didn’t appear to notice. Luckily the interview was almost over at that point. As I rose to leave, I was happy to have my portfolio to hold in front of my chest.

I made it safely to the car and laughed all the way home! I couldn’t wait to tell someone what had happened. My husband and everyone else thought the story was hilarious. Sadly, I didn’t get the job, but another school in the district eventually hired me.

The legacy

A few months later, I was enrolled in evening classes to work toward a master's in special education. I became close with a group of fellow students, and we regularly had dinner together. One night as we sat talking, I realized one of the girls worked at the school where the interview had taken place.

“Hey, Becky, did you know I interviewed for a job at your school?” I said.

“Oh, really? Were you the one whose bra popped open?” she replied.

My jaw dropped open. The principal not only noticed what happened, but he had also commandeered it as his own funny interview story!

I quickly related my side of the story to my friends.

“Becky, you have to tell your principal the whole story!” I said.

I never saw the principal again.

Since then I always make sure I wear back-closing bras to interviews!

Embarrassment
2

About the Creator

Danell Boyles TeNyenhuis Black

I began writing after my late husband's death in 2016. I created a blog, My Life After Patrick to write about my experience and how I was moving forward. In the five years since then I have finished my Masters in Counseling and remarried.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.