Confessions logo

The Phenomenal Life

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 10 days ago 4 min read

I got my wish. After nine years of struggling and being independent, getting many jobs. I was working ever since high school, never knew I could be that independent. in fact I started high school early and college early. During those nine years I found that college was the only way to live a phenomenal life. College was the key to a raise. College was key to being somebody. Even my bosses told me that what separates them from me was a degree and that's why they got paid more. And if I wanted to get married someday that college must be a goal. My father taught me that I should be the smartest I could possibly be. So when I got my chance to finish college. I took it with great ambitions and great respect. I was gonna be the smartest I could possibly be. At the beginning it was every a test, I was praying that I did not fail. And I never made lower than a B and sometimes even 100s and A's in fact I made straight A's like in high school, middle school., and elementary school. And Harvard wanted to give me a full ride, Ivy League's University of Pennsylvania and Thee Morehouse College contacted me after my first semester. I also got into the International Honor Society. I was just trying to live again to get my old life back again being that smart student that breaks barriers. And that's when I met Mindy, Mindy was awesome simply put. She was smart and attractive. And I wanted her ever since I laid eyes upon her at the library, we hit it off and on and on and off. And some of the women at college were lovely and they presented from a distance but they knew what they wanted and wanted what they knew. I think I met more women from different backgrounds from college than high school. I now see the beauty of the melting pot and in sociology I found out that you cannot judge anybody accurately unless you know them and understand where they came from. Everybody guess wrong when we tried to decide the ethnicity and our teacher said see that's why you don't judge somebody based on what you see. I remember scoring higher than MBAs at the top community college. My business professor wanted me to get a business degree but I set my eyes on health. Health was the reason I went back to college. Health drove my ambitions even though I easily scored hundreds in business classes. Something about health particular made me curious and that is what college is all about. Maybe because my father had me read this book on marriage which I read in a couple of hours about three to four hundreds pages. And I gave him an oral report about what the book talks about. Maybe because my parents divorced got the best of me. Maybe because I wanted to live long. That was the phenomenal life to me was to explore health and I graduated at the top of my class with the same high GPA as high school 3.6GPA with distinction. And my father wanted me to go further and yes the women were more attracted to a guy with a future and a degree especially honors. But I would never tell because I wanted to be the best I could be so I started from scratch with Social Work. Everyday I was the only man or one of the only minorities and at this historic college, there were more women than men. I found out not just how smart women are but how funny, clever and friendly. They were in every form lovely and their smarts made them beautiful. They playfully acted out and were their selves and I enjoyed their company. You know sometimes I did projects just because I enjoyed their company. And I volunteered freely especially waiting for the buses. I learned to naturally make friends since your grade depended on it. Some women wore yoga pants, daisy dukes, whatever. And that made concentration hard. But I graduated right along with the beautiful women, who did not mind having class parties and expressing themselves, I remember that semester I was in class again and again with thee hottie. She was lovely and a distraction and we became friends M.O. I was always tempted to asked her out but never did. I asked out a tutor and it was red alert but the head tutor understood and she knew it was just apart of life. M.O. I would hold the door for her, joke around her, and let her cut in front of me. We were just friends even at graduation again with honors and close to 3.6GPA. And so I waited two years and went again Masters, it was short. But I proved myself to be scholar among smart peers. I never was pushed so far in my limits. And the food was enjoyable and the coffee, I learned to make keriug coffee. And I made a friends with smart women. And it happened, just when I went for the door my hands that my hands laid upon hers. And I was shocked and aroused but she woke me up and I apologized. From that date on, I did compliment her. And we talked she did not like too young men but I kept my respect. And I felt proud of my ambition being met and I became a teacher, which gave me the phenomenal life.

School

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.