Confessions logo

The Most Amusing Customer Experiences I've Encountered Working in Retail

I wish I was making this up

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 5 days ago 3 min read
The Most Amusing Customer Experiences I've Encountered Working in Retail
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Over the years, I've worked in retail. For the most part, I've had some pleasant and uneventful experiences. 

However, like most people that have worked in the retail industry, I've also had some rather interesting and peculiar customer experiences. 

Here are a few things customers did that only made my fellow coworkers and I shake our heads and roll our eyes in disbelief. 

All of these have occurred in various locations.

You can't make this stuff up!

Somebody went out through the emergency exit triggering the alarm

It was evening and a coworker and I were getting the store cleaned up and prepping for closing procedures for the last remaining hours. A man and a young boy who I assume a father and son were in the store looking around. 

My coworker and I didn't think anything as they browsed. That was until the emergency alarm system started blaring. 

They had walked out the door clearly marked: EMERGENCY EXIT ONLY

The dad's excuse? 

"We were looking for the bathroom." 

Someone attempted to come into the store after close 

By Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

This experience was a little scary and even in a strange combination, downright amusing.

 My coworkers and I were doing our after closing duties. It was about 10 minutes after closing and as we were cleaning up the store, we all heard this banging at the store's entrance. 

We looked and saw someone actually trying to pull open the sliding doors. 

We really don't know what their deal was as they tried in vain to pry open the locked sliding door. We're they that desperate? 

Thankfully, to our relief, they gave up and left on their own. 

A customer could not wait to purchase a lottery ticket

It was the night of one of the huge lottery jackpots. The lottery was approaching it's highest record jackpot. Because of this, it seemed like everyone wanted to buy a ticket. Even the one's that usually didn't. 

The checkout line was long but nothing too crazy. About three customers in the line before it was their turn to check out, a man waved some cash in the air attempting to signal my attention. 

"I'd like to buy some lottery tickets, please!" 

I took a slow deep breath trying to remain polite and not roll my eyes as I finalized the current customer's transaction in front of me. 

"I'll be with you in just a moment, sir." 

Someone tried to try on clothes in an EMPLOYEES ONLY section

By David Lezcano on Unsplash

The store did not have a changing room and honestly there really wasn't much space to add one. We did have standing mirrors throughout the store however and was more than happy to offer any exchanges.

One customer tried to improvise the situation by finding a somewhat secluded spot where we kept backstock. The area is accessible by going behind a counter. 

As they stood half dressed, they were confronted by the store manager who pointed out the cameras above them and stating in no uncertain terms that this area was not for trying on clothes. 

After that incident, we kept that area blocked off with a standing sign. 

A customer tried to get gas from a pump that was clearly marked OUT OF SERVICE.

"I'd like to get some gas." 

I looked where her car was parked. Of course she parked at the only gas pump that was out of order! 

"Ma'am, that pump is out of service." 

I'll let this one slide because they were probably just in a rush and running late to where they were headed. I think we tend to overlook a lot of things when we're in a rush. Or maybe they already had a long day. 

That doesn't mean I was still wasn't shaking my head.

Quite a few of these incidents have left me in complete exasperation and even downright annoyance. And yet maybe, with a certain few of these while caught up in the rush of things, I might have done the same thing. 

Maybe.

By Jennifer Uppendahl on Unsplash

HumanityWorkplace

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jasmine AguilarWritten by Jasmine Aguilar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.