Confessions logo

Embracing the Weird Little Things

The quirkiness that makes me ... me!

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 9 days ago 3 min read
Embracing the Weird Little Things
Photo by Jurica Koletić on Unsplash

Everyone has something that's unique and even a little quirky about them. That's one of the best things about people! Otherwise, our world would be very boring and monotonous. 

Here are some quirky little things about me: 

I Eat my Cereal Dry. 

I suppose a good bit of people put milk with their cereal. You can hold the milk for me because I prefer to eat my cereal dry! I like to take my time eating and not have to worry about cereal turning soggy and unappealing. 

There are, however, a very few number of cereals like cocoa puffs and Reese's Puffs that I will put with milk and even then, the milk I add to the bowl is barely over a splash! 

There are a Decent Amount of Popular Movies and TV shows I've Never Seen

If you told me a popular TV show or movie and asked if I'd seen it, there is a very good chance I either haven't or I've only watched a few episodes. 

I think one of the reasons why I haven't seen that many shows or movies is that it takes a lot for me to get into a TV show or movie. First, it has to have a plot that catches my interest. Then it has to be engaging enough for me to get invested in it.

Oh well! I'll cross out more movies and TV shows to my watch list eventually. 

Amusingly enough, I'll find myself getting into a show long after everyone's already finished it!

Paranormal and Speculative Theories are my Comfort Shows

Maybe a little weird but I enjoy watching paranormal shows about hauntings, UFOs, cryptids, and other unexplained sightings and phenomena. 

I also like to watch different documentaries that mention the different theories on time travel, alternate universes, wormholes, and other speculative theories. 

Sure! In reality, opening up a wormhole into another dimension is very unlikely, but hey! It's fun to speculate! 

I Didn't Become Interested in Drinking Alcohol Until Much Later in Life

Well, maybe not that much later, but definitely later than most people! While many of my friends were drinking as soon as they hit 21, some even deviantly before that, I just had no interest in going out for drinks or even having a drink on my own. 

Over time, I ventured into simple mixed drinks like coke and rum and long island iced teas. I even ventured into the beer world of IPAs and pilsners which I immediately rejected upon first taste. 

I was surprised I liked bourbon and even more pleasantly delighted I liked martinis. 

I admit, there are still plenty of alcoholic beverages I have yet to try and that's okay! I'll try them when I try them. 

I do enjoy a mixed drink on the occasion and will only drink as a means to treat myself. So, cheers!

I Have to Lie a Certain Direction to Think

Maybe it's just me but when I'm lying down for bed, I think better and more clearer sleeping on my left side versus my right. It's like my imagination is stronger on one side versus the other. I also prefer to lie facing out towards the room.

I think it's important to embrace our flaws and the weird little things about us. While they may be little things, they have a huge impact in the person that we are! 

Whatever it is that makes you stand out from the rest, embrace it! It's what makes you … well … you!

And who knows? Maybe some of the weirdness about you might be more relatable to someone out there more than you'll ever know!

SecretsHumanity

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Babs Iverson9 days ago

    Love it and agree!!! We should celebrate our uniqueness!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 9 days ago

    First, stay out of my head! Secondly, I appreciate you sharing this with us. Finally, what shows would you like to see? 😐🤔

Jasmine AguilarWritten by Jasmine Aguilar

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.