Confessions logo

The Ideal Christmas Gifts I would l Would Love To Have. What's Yours?

Wishful thinking

By Elaine SiheraPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Like

Christmas morning is almost up on us again and there are lots of presents that will be opening, especially by children, because the season has now moved well away from it's intended purpose - to celebrate Christ's birth - to focusing on commercial concerns, like acquiring material possessions.

For me every day is a gift, so no other gift is as important. However, it got me thinking what other real gifts I would love to have; gifts that are beyond money that would make a huge impact on my life, and I have made a little list below.

1. To be given the cure for my diabetes. Though I am very healthy otherwise, I have inherited diabetes from my mother and grandmother. Sometimes it can be very debilitating because my body has been resisting its medication for a few years now. If not a cure, then at least my medication to work properly without too many worries. It would be lovely to wake up one day and not have to worry about its stability and progress.

2. The gift of perfect vision. It would be great not to have to wear glasses or contact lens, especially as I use my eyes so much in my work. I spend a lot of time reading, writing and creating things, which I adore, and am limited by the weak sight in one eye caused by the effects of my diabetes. I would love to be able to see properly without too much fuss and the constant eye treatments!

3. Seeing my adult children: They are both in different countries and it would be nice to see both of them together here in the UK; to have a great reunion, especially after the long tension caused by the mariage break-up. I do miss them a lot! Every day lost being apart is a day we can never have again.

4. A great life and good health to help me carry on my work and creativity for a long time. Apparently we are capable of living up to 1000 years, but I am not greedy! Just 250 years would do nicely, thank you, as long as friends and relatives are alive with me, too! I would hate to live all those years alone for so long.

5. A photographic memory for everything I read. I am such a voracious eater of knowledge, I wish I had more time to simply absorb all the knowledge I can each day by just looking at it. Being able to snap everything like a camera and store it for recall when required would save so much hassle, especially when my memory fails me in trying to remember some simple things!

Eleanor Roosevelt

6. A New Age Academy where interested students can learn about the power of thought and how to harness them to achieve personal desires. Most people don't realise just what power they have to create and maintain the life they really want. Whatever we tell ourselves is what we eventually have, and I have had tons of evidence to prove it in my own life. Often we focus on the opposite of what we want, through fear, then wonder why things keep happening which we could do without!

7. Having my young sisters back. My two youngest sisters died tragically, and unexpectedly, at 32 and 38 years old, respectively, leaving 5 young children between them. One died from a lung collapse, and the other from drug issues. It is always heartrending when someone dies so young with all their life ahead of them, and even worse when two of them die at that age. On the positive side, I am sure they would be thrilled to see how amazing their children have turned out.

8. The gift of Love. We can never have too much love for ourselves and others, and I would like even more to share with the world when my own natural store is exhausted.

9. A trip to Hawaii (the only material present). I have always loved the sound of that island, the way the people live, and would love to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy something entirely different from what I am used to.

10. To meet the fascinating First Lady, Eleanor Roosevelt - the wife of President Franklin Roosevelt. She was a most intelligent and forward-thinking woman, well ahead of her time who tried to make a huge difference to the lives and contribution of women and Black Americans long before it was fashionable to do so. Patient, and long suffering, she loved using her initiative, and was full of compassion, empathy and caring for other humans. A rare person in such high office, she used the opportunities it offered for the benefit of others.

Being, a fearless political activist, Eleanor not only supported some unpopular causes but was one of the architects behind the Declaration of Human Rights launched in 1948. Eleanor was an amazing role model for women, in particular, at at time when women were largely invisible.

Well, that was my wish list, but what top gifts would matter most to you right now?

RELATED POST

SecretsHumanityFriendshipFamily
Like

About the Creator

Elaine Sihera

British Empowerment Coach/Public speaker/DEI Consultant. Author: The New Theory of Confidence and 7 Steps To Finding And Keeping 'The One'!. Graduate/Doctor of Open Univ; Postgrad Cambridge Univ. Keen on motivation, relationships and books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.