Confessions logo

Something Happened

But I Cannot Say What It Is

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
13

Introduction

This is one of those odd posts that I do every now and then, where I want to tell you about something, but I can’t mention the thing that I want to tell you about because it may cause embarrassment for someone else if I mention what the thing is, and when I say embarrassment I meant the sort of embarrassment where someone has done something really pleasant for your, that has but a smile on your face and made you happier by raising your spirits, but they are just doing what they normally do and I certainly wouldn’t want to cause them any discomfort by naming them or something they are associated with or connected to.

So What Happened?

Over the last few weeks a few things. I was thinking of putting this into a poetic format as writing six hundred words about something without mentioning it is certainly a challenge, and as always, I am always up for a challenge.

Someone asked me for a little help on something, it was a person I didn’t expect to ask anything of me, but I always love being able to help people out in any small way I can, and I always believe that you can get as much from giving as you do from receiving. When someone asks for your help it shows a level of trust and respect and that in itself is something that builds up your spirits and makes you feel more confident and happier, well it certainly does for me.

Then I was reading comments on one of my Vocal stories and saw a gushing comment from someone that I thought I was a ghost too. I had seen them comment on lots of other creators' posts but never on mine.

That is something I can live with, because if my work does not interest you or grab your attention in some way then why would you read it. I do think at times that my name on a Vocal story is a toxic element for a lot of vocal readers but that is just something generated by my imposter syndrome and other issues that I have.

That comment meant a lot to me and made me very happy, knowing that they liked at least one of my Vocal creations, whether they will ever read another of my stories is a different matter, but that one comment was worth its weight in gold for me and gave me so much direct happiness.

Maybe it was the fact that it was both unexpected and obviously very uncommon that made it such a big thing for me.

It is often the unexpected good things that raise your spirits, for Vocal creators, when they win a challenge or get a Top Story they get a huge confidence boost and that makes me very happy for them. My work is not good enough for any of these things, though I get the odd accidental Top Story, but I have confidence in my work and I love the comments and loves I get from my friends and audience, and that is the measure I take on how good my work is, but it does grate just a little not being recognised by Vocal despite my promotion of them.

Conclusion

I must admit that I have surprised myself with this Vocal story, that I actually managed six hundred words without mentioning specific events or items or any people at all, but I do send out a huge anonymous thank you to those people who raised my spirits, and maybe if they read this they will know who they are.

I included my attempt at my favourite Rolling Stones song, "Happy", a bit ropey but I am happy.

SecretsFriendshipBad habits
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    So glad you're happy, Mike! For everything that you do for people, you deserve it!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Sweet!!! Unexpected surprises is a wonderful thing!!!💖💖💕

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    It's the little things for sure. The video is a huge bonus, after watching it I am happy too. But don't fret, I won't tell anyone why I'm smiling. :)

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    It really is the unexpected little things that bring joy.

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Loved your song! Nice when we get a surprise and enjoy it.😊💕

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Thank you so much for all you do for our wonderful writing community, Mike! ❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So happy for you that there are these wonderful seemingly small things that make you smile and raise your spirits :) I am always in awe of how much you put yourself out there. You are a true inspiration. And I loved your song. Thank you for sharing!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Good job, sir!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nice to hear of something that made you smile. You deserve that. Well done.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    https://vocal.media/fyi/at-the-touch-of-a-button You wrote this and I followed you and your example into a group full of wonderful and supportive writers. You do a lot for this community. You certainly did a lot for me. And I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.