Confessions logo

She Knew the Wine

And the Woman

By J. G. GourleyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
She Knew the Wine
Photo by Diogo Brandao on Unsplash

“Can we go to lunch early today?” Kate yelled into the phone as soon as Rachel answered.

“Well, hello to you too. I’m fine. How are you?” Rachel said in a falsetto that would impress Barry Gibb.

“Sorry. Good Morning, Rachel.” Kate returned the greeting. “I’m just so frustrated. I was sure I’d meet the right one, but you’re not going to believe what she did.”

“Oh, Kate. When are you going to learn?” Rachel sighed. This was not the first time Kate called frustrated over a date gone wrong. And Rachel knew it would not be the last. They’d been friends since they met at the company cafeteria nearly six years ago. Rachel was an architect and Kate was an information manager in the biggest design company in Albuquerque. They would likely have never crossed paths if they weren’t both early risers and found themselves starving way before the normal lunch crowd. Rachel was such an introvert that if it had been up to her, she’d still be watching the hot little IT chick get her turkey and swiss on wheat every day. But lucky for Rachel, Kate was an ultra-extrovert, despite her stereotypically introverted career choice. After about three weeks of watching Rachel watch her, Kate walked right to the table where Rachel sat and plopped down in front of her. “Since we’re the only people eating at this hour, we should eat together.” Then she proceeded to introduce herself and carry the conversation until they finished their meal. Kate was so discouraged that Rachel didn’t talk, she was prepared to call it a failure and eat at her desk the next day, but when they’d finished, Rachel said, “Thanks for having lunch with me. I look forward to seeing you again tomorrow.” Since then they’d eaten lunch together nearly every day. Kate had managed to bring Rachel out of her shell and they’d become dear friends. They attended more than a few happy-hours together and watched sappy movies at each other’s place when neither of them had a date--well actually when Kate didn’t have a date. Rachel hadn’t dated much since her college girlfriend and not at all since she’d met Kate.

***

By the time Rachel arrived, Kate had already placed their order at the deli, grabbed her iced tea and was settled in at their favorite lunch table. Kate motioned for Rachel to join her as soon as she walked in.

“Hey, finally,” Kate said. “I already ordered yours.”

“Oh, thanks,” Rachel said and sat down. “So what did Heather do?” Rachel had heard the girl’s name and how great she was so many times, she could barely stand saying it aloud.

“She brought a date! Can you believe it?”

“What? She brought a date...on your date?” Rachel crinkled her eyebrows and tilted her head.

“Yes.”

“Explain, please.” Rachel said.

“Hold on. I’ll get the sandwiches then I’ll explain.” Kate ran off to the deli while Rachel dug out her water bottle.

Kate returned with both sandwiches and was silent while she unwrapped and started eating.

Rachel sat waiting patiently until finally, she couldn’t stand it. “Are you going to explain?”

“Yeah, sorry.” Kate took a quick drink to wash down the food she’d just scarfed. “So, we agreed to meet at the bar. I got there early, got a table and was just chilling when she finally walked in--late, of course.” She took another quick sip. “There was this other girl walking in with her--tall, athletic, nice looking. At first, I thought maybe they just walked in at the same time, but then Heather spotted me, pointed to the table and they came over together.”

“Weird.”

“I know, right? I was confused but assumed there was an explanation. When they got to the table Heather introduced her as her neighbor, Shawna, who was all alone tonight, did I mind if she joined them.”

“Weird.”

“I was all like, okay. I mean what could I say, no? I didn’t really know what to think but I knew it wasn’t right. Then she sat next to her not me, and needless to say, it went downhill from there. Heather was clearly into her and I turned out to be the third wheel. I finally excused myself early and she probably had a great time with her neighbor when I left.” Kate used air quotes as she said neighbor as if it were a bad word. “Can you believe that?” Kate picked her sandwich up and started eating again.

“Weird.”

“Is that all you have to say?”

“Well, it’s just so weird….but I’m sorry. That sucks. I know you liked her.” Rachel reached out and touched Kate’s hand. “Maybe it’s for the best. You could come over and hang out with me tonight and give the dating scene a break.”

“Maybe tomorrow. I actually have a date tonight. I got on the dating site as soon as I got home. You know, moving on.”

“Kate! Seriously? Maybe you're trying too hard.” Rachel just stared at the gorgeous woman across from her. Her aqua blue eyes were by far Rachel’s favorite feature but there wasn’t anything she didn’t like. Despite Rachel’s lack of experience, she knew what she liked in a woman and Kate met all the criteria--smart, funny, active, and genuinely caring. The super cute part was just a bonus; it was the genuinely-caring part that caused Rachel to lay awake dreaming of her, but it was also the part that kept getting hurt.

“Yeah. I know, but I really just want to find the right woman, so I can start my life with someone.”

“What if you just let it happen?” Rachel finally bit into her sandwich for the first time.

“Like you?” Kate said.

Rachel didn’t look up or even speak.

Kate seemed to realize what she’d done. “I’m sorry. I just want to start a family and have the dream. I feel like if I don’t make it happen it never will.”

“It’s okay. You’re probably right.” Rachel looked back up. “So what are you doing tonight?”

“We’re meeting for a quick drink at Bombs-Away.” Kate finished the last bite of her sandwich and balled up the wrapper. Bombs-Away was a locally owned brewery, where Kate and Rachel often went after work for a drink. It was a large warehouse with lots of small tables and a long bar nearly fifty feet long.

“Oh.” Rachel said, trying to hide the jealousy she felt like a weight sitting in the center of her chest.

“What?” Kate shrugged.

“Nothing.” Rachel finished her sandwich as well. “I hope it works out, Kate.”

Kate collected up all their trash and stood to leave. “Me too, but it’s a first date so I’m not expecting much.”

***

Rachel spent the afternoon thinking of Kate and what she should do. She wanted to just tell her how much she liked her, but she feared if Kate didn’t feel the same way, she’d ruin their friendship.

At five o’clock Rachel shut down her graphics program and packed up her briefcase. As she drove toward her little condo, her car seemed to take over and she found herself sitting in front of the Bomb’s Away building. She spotted Kate’s red Mazda as soon as she pulled into the parking lot, but she sat fighting the urge to go in and be with her. Rachel knew it was weird for her to just show up, but it was even weirder to stalk her, sitting in the parking lot staring at her car.

Finally, she got out of the car and did the weirdest thing of all. She went in the back entrance and found a table next to the wall far from the general crowd. Rachel could see Kate at the bar, where she always liked to sit, but Kate wouldn’t be able to see her. She ordered a glass of Kate’s favorite pinot noir. It had become her favorite too. Before Kate, Rachel had always drank white wine, but Kate showed her the wonders of all wine, especially red. Rachel monitored the room but mostly just watched Kate. It was almost six and she knew Kate had been there since before she arrived at five thirty, but she had no idea what time the date was supposed to start. After the fourth or fifth time Kate checked her watch, Rachel was pretty sure the girl was a no show. She desperately wanted to go sit with Kate to be close to her. She knew Kate would be sad even though she’d pretend she was fine. Finally Rachel called over the waiter, who she was glad she didn’t recognize and asked him to send over a glass of wine to Kate. As soon as he left her table she regretted her decision. Rachel began pulling out cash to leave on the table to pay her bill and sneak out, but before she could get out Kate spotted her.

In a few long strides, Kate was standing next to her table holding the glass of wine. “It’s you?”

“Yeah, I’m sorry.” Rachel put the rest of the cash on the table and turned to the back door.

“Where are you going?”

“Home, I guess. I shouldn’t…”

“You knew the wine.” Kate gently pushed Rachel back in her seat and then sat across the table. “I’ve been looking in the wrong place, haven’t I?” She reached across the table and took Rachel’s hand.

Dating
2

About the Creator

J. G. Gourley

I served in the Air Force for twenty years and deployed to both Desert Storm and Operation Iraqi Freedom. I still work for USAF as a civil servant, but my true passion is writing and woodworking (Jan Galye, Author and Froggybuilder.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.