Confessions logo

Regretting Rejection: How to Deal with the Pain

Overcome the Regret of Rejecting Someone

By Alain SaamegoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Regretting Rejection: How to Deal with the Pain
Photo by Tatiana P on Unsplash

I have never been good at handling regret. The feeling of knowing that you have made a mistake and not being able to take it back is something that has always haunted me. I remember the first time I ever felt regret. I was in the second grade and I had just rejected my best friend. We had been friends for years and I had just decided that I no longer wanted to be friends with her. I don't remember what led to the decision, but I remember the regret that I felt. I felt like I had made the biggest mistake of my life. I had not only lost a friend, but I had also lost the best friend I had ever had.

Regret has followed me throughout my life. I regret the things that I have said, the things that I have done, and the things that I have not done. I regret the choices that I have made and the ones that I have not made. I regret the relationships that I have lost and the ones that I have not been able to hold on to. I regret the opportunities that I have passed up and the ones that I have taken. I regret the time that I have wasted and the time that I have not.

But, of all the regrets that I have, the one that I regret the most is the regret that I feel for rejecting someone. I have never been able to handle rejection well. The feeling of knowing that someone does not want you is something that I have always found difficult to deal with. I remember the first time that I ever felt rejection. I was in high school and I had just been rejected by the girl that I loved. I remember the feeling of agony that I felt. I felt like I had been stabbed in the heart. I had never felt that kind of pain before and I never wanted to feel it again.

Rejection has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. I have been rejected by friends, by family, and by lovers. I have been rejected by people that I thought loved me and by people that I thought would never hurt me. I have been rejected by people that I thought were my equals and by people that I thought were my inferiors. I have been rejected by people that I thought were my friends and by people that I thought were my enemies. I have been rejected by people that I thought I knew and by people that I thought I didn't know.

But, of all the rejections that I have ever experienced, the one that I regret the most is the rejection that I feel for rejecting someone. I have never been able to handle the feeling of not being wanted. I always feel like I am not good enough. I always feel like I am not worthy of being loved. I always feel like I am not worth the time or the effort.

Rejection is a feeling that I am all too familiar with. I have been rejected by people that I loved, by people that I hated, and by people that I didn't know. But, of all the rejections that I have ever experienced, the one that I regret the most is the rejection that I feel for rejecting someone.

First, it's important to remember that everyone makes mistakes. If you've recently rejected someone, it's okay to feel regretful about it. But don't dwell on the past – focus on the future.

Second, try to learn from your mistake. What can you do differently next time to avoid rejecting someone?

Third, don't be too hard on yourself. Everyone makes mistakes, and you can always apologize and try to make things right.

Finally, remember that there's someone out there for everyone. If you rejected someone, it's not the end of the world. There's someone else who is perfect for you, and you'll find them when the time is right.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Alain Saamego

Software engineer , Writer and Content Strategist at Selfgrow.co.uk

I'm a technology enthusiast, and I love learning about upcoming technologies. I also enjoy teaching and answering questions about new technologies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.