Confessions logo

RAIN AFTER RAIN

…..

By Chisom PeacePublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like

"Hey Vic!"

That was Kunle hailing me as I entered into the Confrence hall of Dynamo Hotel and Suite, where my set were having our first ever reunion. Just like everyone else in the building, I was gay with happiness. You wouldn't blame us though as its been over 12 years since majority of us last saw ourselves. Here we are today all almost made for life, save for me actually. I guess life has always had a reason to single me out to be unfortunate.

Joining Kunle in a seat beside him, I had quickly looked around the hall and made momentary notes of my mates, smiling at almost all of them while my heart was laden with pain and my eyes heavy with tears. This was one of the moments I found myself questioning God as to my predicament.

Guess I wasn't going to be the last to join the event. Because just almost immediately Jessica the queen bee brisked in, coming straight towards me while greeting everyone that cared to look her way. Well with her, there has always been no love lost back then in school. Peace my then girlfriend and saviour always took the first position while Jessica and myself would always duel for the second position with the loser settling for third position. I would say Peace who joined us in the SSS 1 class came to be my saviour. Save for her, I'll always fall a prey to the ever scavenging claws of Jessica who would always have a reason to put me to public ridicule. I was the product of a single mom who hawked banana and groundnut, thus giving Jessica who was the daughter of the then Health Minister an overwhelming edge over me. Everything about me ranging from my threadbare uniform and worn out scandal were a mess. What was more, I trekked to school daily only to return home in the evening to join mom in making banana sales in traffic.

Getting to know Peace changed my life for good then. Just like Jessica, her father too was rich. She literally took over my upkeep, shielding me from the preying eyes of others and fending Jessica off. No sooner than later, my stratum changed in the class and some respects began to be associated with my name. Well all these were over 10 years ago.

Here we are, Jessica standing right before me, Peace sitting across the hall, my help far from reach. Of course we broke up 2 years after we left school. Here am I shivering before Jessica like a rain battered fowl. I was scared! I am sure she knows I did not further my education. I am sure she knows I am currently jobless, switching from being sales manager for malls to doing menial jobs at work sites. I am sure she knows I still live off my mom, as a matter of fact, my transport fare to the event center was courtesy of my mom.

"Hello Victor", her alto voice rang. "Hope you've heard, I will be leaving for Spain to further my education, of course this would be my second doctorate degree. That's by the way, my dad just gifted me a Toyata Yaris 2021 model as a sendoff package, besides this is my third car". At this point, I wished the earth would open up and swallow me, but she wasn't done yet. She went on and on. "What's up with you? I heard you didn't see the four walls of the university, how have you been coping considering the fact that the world have no place for illiterates these days. It's quite shameful that such a fine brain as yours isn't being useful for the society. That reminds me, Titilayo told me she saw you sometime last month at the Ikeja City Mall, behind the counter as a cashier, is that how low you've become?"

The hall was as silent as a graveyard, no one made any movement nor say a word. Instantly I realised how helpless the Biblical David must have been when he faced Goliath. I kept sniffing, trying to hold back the tears running riots in my eyes. Well it was her day, there and then I swore none of my unborn kids will have to go through this humiliation. Rather than allow my emotions get the better part of me, I saw myself smiling. If not for Okaphor who had assured me it was going to be all fun, I wouldn't have been here in the first place.

"Oh please enough of your self appraisal Jessica ". That was Peace from your other end of the hall, while walking towards us and she continued. "Rumors have it that your father paid his way to get you a degree because you were too occupied with parties and drugs to study". There she was again saving my ass while looking beautiful as always. "Well well if it's not the goody two shoes and her habit of not minding her business, then there will be nothing about about this Peace of a girl". One could easily pick up these words from Jessica as she muttered. "You've sure made someone else's business yours, I might as well make yours mine" Peace replied. "Whatever!" retorted Jessica as she stormed out.

Thank you Peace I said with a bright smile, "you've always been a saviour right from Secondary school". I didn't do it for you, I was tired of hearing her boast when we all know she's living off her father's money" Peace replied me with quite an expressionless face. The rest of the get together was rather uneventful till it almost got dark outside. I ensured I didn't leave without exchanging contacts with Peace once again.

Weeks later I had already maintained quite a decent friendship with Peace, we almost could basically not go a day without speaking on phone at least twice not to mention the chats too. At this rate deep down my heart I almost believed we would soon rebuild our long lost love life and become an item again, guess I was being mistaken. We soon decided to hang out the following weekend, Leasure Mall Surulere was our preferred destination. Your guess is right as I couldn't wait for the D-day to come by, I was filled with excitement.

The very day was soon here. I was smart dressed to the best of my ability and headed out to my date. We both met at the entrance of the mall, took a little walk around the premises before going in to see a movie at the cinema. Two hours later we were done, went to the video games arena and played for a couple of times. I was living the dream I almost ever wanted. We had to sit out and talk, discussing almost everything at the same time and I could swear she was having same feeling as myself because why not. We just didn't want the day to end, well there'll always be an end to every beautiful things and mine was about to end both literally and figuratively.

Soon it was time to go and rather than booking for a ride with Uber, she asked me to wait that a ride will soon come pick her up. Soon enough a blue coloured Toyota Camry pulled up right beside us and Peace beckoned on me to tag along while she graciously walked towards the car. We both entered the car, she at the front beside the young guy behind the wheels who I presume should be in his early thirties while I occupied a seat at the back. As the car sped off, Peace began a semi formal introduction. Turning to the young man while pointing at me she introduced me to him as her friend way back Secondary school. In her own words "honey this is Victor my friend from Secondary school, you must have heard me talk about him maybe once or twice before now". Referring to him as "honey" didn't probably sit well with me ,but I easily waved it off believing he might be a distant cousin of hers. Then she turned to introduce the young man.......

Regaining consciousness I soon became aware of my immediate environment, alas I was in the hospital. It soon dawned on me that I must have fainted, but why? I could only remember I was in a car with Peace and a young man. Suddenly like the speed of lightening, her last words hit me again.... "Victor please meet my Fiancee Maxwell, we'll be getting married in three weeks time".

On the D-Day, I sat at the back pew of the church disguised in sunglasses and a face cap. I watched the love of my life pledging her vows to someone else. I felt my world crumbing and enclosing in front of me. My heart tightened up and I was almost short of breath. It took a while till I realized that tears was streaming down my face. Oh! My Peace, my sweet little Peace.

EmbarrassmentTeenage yearsSchoolFriendshipDatingChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Chisom Peace

Life is hardly what it seems

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.