Confessions logo

Rachael’s Musical Journey

How music has led my life

By Rachael FrazierPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
Rachael’s Musical Journey
Photo by Tobias Tullius on Unsplash

I have loved music since I started to walk. On my 4th birthday I remember hearing my first song Happy Birthday through the voices of my family.I definitely liked and wanted to try things out!I still remember since yesteryears! If I could pick 20 songs that I chose to live upon or hath shaped my life for the greater and betterment they’d be these:

1.Badinga-twerk

2.Where have all the cowboys gone-Paula Cole

3.Summer Girls-LFO

4. Smile-Lily Allen

5.Lithium-Evanescence

6. Tomorrow-Silverchair

7.One Week-Bare naked Ladies

8.Trynna find a way-Nelly Furtado

9. Lonely world-Limp biz kit

10.Kiss Me Sixpence none the Richer

11.Candy Mandy Moore

12.When I’m gone -3doors down

13.Swim-Madonna

14.Ironic-Alanis Morsette

15.Brother-For king and country

16. Love song-311

17.Butterfly

18.Broken Together-Casting Crowns

19.The Road In on-3doors down

20.Large in the Margin-311

So I grew up on these songs and they have helped shaped my life & each one has a trying significant story to tell. so badinga is a nowadays whole dance movement song that reminds me of I know it sounds weird but the inner city kids meeting the suburbial kids?! Example: The movie the mighty ducks//: it’s played such an such an inspiration in my life to where I (really enjoy life) with more fun and real-time friends involved. It resently made life fun for me. Glad I could live in it!2. Where have all the cowboys gone by Paula Cole! I one day said I wanted to fall in love and so I said one day I’m a be that girl and have the same style! Now that song is very second nature for me. Having lived here behind a horse unit I envisioned why ALL the cowboys are gone. I knew why in my heart. It was because of racial conflict. It can get tough out here. We live in a country/state where there is sad to say racial inequality.It made sense that it would cause a drought of love. Or why there would be no cowboys at all and that the land looked deserted!

Number 3 song on the list was LFO’s Summer Girls. I really was touched when I heard that song. It even was summer time when I got to visit down south. I related to these lines the song…

“You come from Georgia where the peaches grow they drink lemonade and speak real slow,dad took off when you were 4 years old.” When I was four my father took off with my mother to participate in the desert storm war! Doesn’t that sound awesome.

4. Smile by lily allen had me trying weird things out. It was about my mental health. It was a song to get better.

5. lithium by evanescence

Helped/ helps me get passed enough hardship. Helps me feel invincible! It was the “real” music video that did it for me. It’s when I got higher than a kite. I feel free and I added all my years of ice skating in plus the story of frozen. The video is set overseas. I’ve mapped out Germany.

6. Silverchairs Tommorrow lyrics and painted love visual had me really almost headed for southeast Oregon for love. However sooner or later if you don’t take the chance it’ll bite you. Or really bite you back. It’s hard when your young. It’s not safe it’s not a good idea. Your for real risking your life.

7. “One Week”Was fun in the sun with the bare naked ladies it’s a fun tongue twister song

8.Trynna find a way by Nelly Furtado was a moment of acceptance & love I had for an American man.Whom I catch his eye.

9. Lonely world is Limp biz kit I loved that song because it was to me (sneaking out to see my boyfriend by the creek)

10.Kiss me for my sixpence none the richer rendition

Songs 11-20 I’ll leave to your imagination.

DatingTeenage yearsHumanityFriendshipSecretsChildhood
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.