Confessions logo

Primate Encounters

Little Moments of Connectivity

By Judah LoVatoPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Primate Encounters
Photo by Valentin Jorel on Unsplash

I talked with a gorilla once.

Well, talked is a stretch, but we did have a bit of a moment there at the Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle.

It happened when I was tooling around Washington with some friends. Seattle was our final point of interest, but to get there we had driven from Billings, Montana through Spokane down to Mt.Rainier by way of Yakima, then west to the Olympic National Forest through Tacoma. We drove around the forest on the coastal highway and made a brief visit to Forks for our vampire enthusiast, finally making Bainbridge Island for the ferry across the Sound.

All that to say, by the time we had reached Seattle and the Woodland Park Zoo, it was day 4 or five of the trip and I was tired.

I forget why, but I had ended up wandering around the zoo on my own and made my way into the primate exhibits. I envied the energy of the monkeys and admired their abilities for a while, but then I continued my way through and found myself in the gorilla exhibit.

Gorilla always strike me as so regal, and I’m always reminded of a time we went to Henry Doorly Zoo in Omaha Nebraska when I was 12. There, we were taking pictures of the gorillas (with our single-use film camera mind you) and a particular ham of a gorilla saw the camera and struck a pose!

No such ham-ery at Woodland Park that day, but I did see a smaller gorilla sitting near the glass. I’m no expert on gorillas, but the gorilla struck me as a middle-aged female, and she sat there looking very much bored. I stood near the glass, perhaps two feet from her, and she looked up at me:

“Wow,” I thought, “You look as tired as I do,”

“Yeah,” She seemed to say, “today’s no good. Just dull, you know?” She almost shrugged.

“I can relate. It’s been a good trip, but I’m exhausted.” I glanced up at the enclosure, “Looks like they treat you well here?”

“I get by. The staff is acceptable, but you know- good help is hard to find when you’re as famous as I am.”

“Yeah? You have a lot of fans?”

“Naturally, and you humans are funny to watch most days- so easily entertained with your oo-ing and ah-ing. It’s true, I never leave the zoo, but I perceive that you all have your own enclosures you never leave either.” She yawned, “and I get fed every day without having to clean a zoo enclosure.”

“You have a point at that. Humans and our systems, I guess.”

“You’ll catch up to us eventually,”

“By the Grace, I suppose…” An awkward moment, “I should find my group I guess.”

“Yes, and I’m sure my other fans would like a moment.”

“Thanks for condescending to my level for a minute,” I nodded my head to her in a slight bow, “Been a pleasure,”

She nodded back, “Enjoy your visit.”

So I left her there to her own thoughts.

As I left, I saw a nearby human glancing curiously from me to the gorilla. I suppose she was confused by our brief exchange, but I like to think that she was jealous that I got to have a brief moment with a real celebrity.

Humanity

About the Creator

Judah LoVato

Dear Reader,

I hope you enjoy perusing my collection of works, and I would love to hear your thoughts on anything you read: what you liked, what you disliked, and any other feedback you may have.

I look forward to reading with you,

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Why am I smiling so hard right now? :)

Judah LoVatoWritten by Judah LoVato

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.