Confessions logo

Please listen

Begging for attention

By Sohaib ShahidPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Can’t you hear that ? "My wise mother breathed , her words almost inaudible , gentle sounds blending with the slight night breeze.

Now what the heck am I supposed to hear ? , I was starting to get frustrated. I hated been asked to do something but felt silly like some one who doesn’t get a joke in a crowded room.

I tilted my head to the side and I could hear a deep Impatient grumble rolling around inside my chest. I held my breath and closed my eyes .

"Ahh , "she sighed , "what a beautiful song , its so delicate and fragile . Secretive and hesitant. “, she said in awe and reverence.

I started to hear a thumping heart beat inside my head , I felt light headed , and then realized I was still holding my breath . I tried not to pout , is this some ruse , a way to make me believe I am going deaf , or I don’t have the control to quieten by rabid hyperactive brain . Now I really felt like an imposter , a person who cant sit still and focus. Was I broken ?

“Listen “, she said … the word trailed out and fused and blended with the quiet night sounds.

“Close your eyes and feel the sounds with your heart.”

I almost said aloud " stupid hippie kuk , listen to what ? sound of me getting older , my old duck is probably picking up some radio station with her fillings . Good gracious me , hope I don’t go bat shit like this when I get older.” I was blasphemous and been inwardly rude. My eyes clenched together and I hoped I wasn’t grinning.

I listened. And inwardly resigned to just play along with my crazy old lady ,just agree with everything , nod and it will all be over soon.

I listened…

Then I heard the sound of the heavy night time air been displaced. A whistling tune.

That must be it , my brain congratulated itself for not being completely useless.

“THWACK”… it had to be the sound of thunder , a hand imprinted itself on my ear , and before any pain or ringing sound s assaulted my fiery hot ear.

" You never listen. Do I still have to smack you around the head to get you to listen ?”, barked my own mother who had just sucker slapped the side of head. I think she drew blood , ohh I am going to need counseling , I am getting abused I wined.

“And don’t think I never heard that potty mind of your vomiting up rude remarks about me been bat shit crazy.”, her words shot like thorny missiles into my swollen throbbing ear.

Well I at least know my ear drum is still intact. Small mercies

My mother paused and glared at me, her sea green eyes shimmered and glistened as if they glowed with a spooky inner nuclear fusion.

I held myself for another assault, ohh the indignity I cried inwardly , embracing the role of the victim and dramatically simpering reveling in such hurt ,really using my skills as an actor to go limp and boneless , my body language taking on the Oscar winning wet blanket posture with the beaten cowering look to boot.

I could hear my blood pumping in my swollen ear . It wasn’t that sore but I am going to milk this indignant brutality. Did I actually call her an old cow out loud , no… I would never tempt fate like that… but how did she.?

My mother burst out laughing. Her glowing cat like green eyes cooled down to a calm deep sea green. She squinted her eyes , and leaned forward and hugged me.

She held me in her grasp and whispered in my ear. " Listen , if you ever call me a crazy old hippie or and old goat again , I will smack you so silly you will hear those thoughts bounce around inside your scull.”

I tried to protest , and attempted to pull away and I had my hurt and pained expression ready for such scary accurate accusations. Supernatural accusations , she was a mind reader

"Don’t… "She said , “you can’t hide anything from me young man. I am your mother.”

She held her arms out and looked at me and said "and your acting skills need some work "

Funny , that’s one time I have never forgotten , I listened , and I heard what I needed to that day.

40 plus years and I finally listened

TabooFamilyEmbarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Sohaib Shahid

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.