Confessions logo

My Restoom Horror Story

The most cringeworthy moment ever!

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm a tall girl. Not an amazon ( I wish!) but a healthy 5'9.5". So when I go out, I like the handicapped toilet better than the regular toilets. I feel like I am sitting on a regular chair, rather than a child's seat. Much easier to get up afterwards. Now I know that this might be frowned upon by some, kinda like stealing a handicapped parking spot. I assure you that I never go into the handicapped stall unless the restroom is empty and I'm the only one in there. (it's still shameful, I know.)

I try to avoid public restrooms unless it's a flash point emergency. Well, on this particular day at Walmart it was one of those dire situations. I noticed that I was the only person in there so I walked straight back to the handicapped stall and got situated. All of a sudden I heard someone speak. "It's ok Mom, just try to hold it." " The stall is occupied. I am sure they will be out soon."

"Sorry for your wait." I said, trying to be as polite as possible in a very awkward situation. I looked down through the gap under the bathroom door and saw wheels. "Oh my gosh, they're in a wheelchair!"I was mortified.

I quickly attended to my business, all the while sweating and stressing and trying to be as fast as possible. Not only was I an able bodied, ambulatory individual but there was a handicapped lady needing the stall that I had so selfishly taken for my own personal pleasure.

Suddenly someone started banging on the door, "I really need in there, please hurry!" I heard them say, followed by another voice "She's really got to go baaaad!" I was flustered and didn't know what to say back. "Should I say anything or just play dead?" "What am I going to do?" Well obviously the only thing that I could do for certain was to continue on with my buisness and hope for the best.

That's when I heard the rumbling, I could literally hear that poor woman's stomach and it didn't sound very promising. Her daughter was barreling her into the stall right next door. "Oh dear mercy, hurry!" By now the sweat is pouring down my back and i'm feeling peaked and faint. The sound of the metal wheelchair clanking and rubbing against the stall next to me was not helping my situation.

"Mama stand up for crying out loud! -

"I can't" -

"Get on the toilet!" -

"I can't" -

I heard them break into an inconvenient argument as the daughter was audaciously trying to help her mother. By now I have laid my head against the wall in pure disgrace.

Toot- tooooot- followed by a trumpetous Thpppppppt!

At this very second, when I heard that sound, I know for certain that I lost consciousness due to the overwhelming, sheer shame and humiliation that swept over me like scalding hot water.

"MAMA! Nooooo.!" -

-(woman crying)

"Well don't just sit in it!" -

"I can't get up!" -

"Well, slide them off and i'll go wash them out!" -

"Allison...I can't get up!" -

"Just sit there and i'll go buy you new ones." -

" No, don't walk out on me! "

I figured that while they were preoccupied I'd make my run for it and escape before they seen me. I slowly opened the stall door and tip toed out. The exit was in sight, I was almost out of there! Right then the stall door flew open and there stood the most angry and frustrated young girl that I had ever seen. Behind me next to the sink sat her mother. Both glaring at me like wild animals going in for the kill. I just dropped my head and scuttled away.

"Now that they're out of there we can go in and get you cleaned up." the daughter said.

That's when it hit be like a ton of bricks, I was so diligent in getting away unseen, I had forgot to flush. I almost broke out into a run trying to get to my car. I didn't even hang around to finish my shopping. I have never been so embarrassed in my whole entire life.

I am still guilty of using the handicapped stall in stores and restaurants, but not until after I have cased the area for those who might need it for reasons other than comfort. I have not since used the handicapped stall at Walmart, despite never having seen another wheelchair in that particular bathroom in the last five years.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.