Confessions logo

My Brain Has Too Many Tabs Open

Dedicated to all those of us who have so much to do and absolutely no idea where to start.

By Jessica TaylorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Let me guess.. you are awake by some unforgiving mishap and your thoughts stray to the pains of labor that comes with the days workings/ going on's/ must dos.

Oh honey.. I get you... you're off work or not, and so far your list seems a million miles long. Whether or not you're at work, you still think of things that need to be done when you do get home. There's laundry to get done, dishes to be washed, bathrooms to be cleaned, and all the days activities that you've promised to get done for everyone else. Yes, yes, it happens to the best of us. And when the day is done, you look back to the day and ask yourself "What did I truly accomplish today?"

Then your mind starts racing through the day asking (or yelling if your brain is anything like my own) if you got anything on your list completed... The worst part is; as you look back; is that you realize you may not have gotten anything done that actually needed to be done.

After you realize exactly what you did accomplish throughout your day you find your brain freaking out on you. You either sigh a pitiful sigh or you cry tears of desperation. Trust me... I know it all; been there done that.

For me; I start writing down all the things that I did not get done throughout the day and start to wonder how in the Hell I faltered from this path I thought I so carefully planned and thought I followed. Unfortunate for me; my mind is a lot like Doug's from Disney's movie "Up". You know; the whole "I am on a mission... SQUIRREL!" thing.

I can be so focused on one thing in my life and think "this is great... I'm on a roll." and then the next thing I know that focus changes to something else that has nothing to do with the current subject. And that process goes on and on and on... and on.

Take this story for example... I started working on this at 3:00 pm on April 17,2021 and I am just now getting it out on paper (so to speak). Between the time I started until this time (or the time I finish) I still go back and forth or to and fro and far in between to other projects.

However, I find myself fidgeting with projects that could bring in revenue as long as I can keep the focus. (skeptical maniacal laughing at myself over here btw) It's not that I don't want to keep focus; trust me that's far from the issue. It's the fact that keeping focus requires my brain to close all other tabs it has open.... that; my dear readers is an issue I have struggled with for many, many years.

You see; I have one of the most active imaginations anyone in my family has ever known. And with that comes the responsibility (in my opinion) to follow through on as many different ideas as I possibly can. Not for the benefit of my life but for the benefit of so many others lives. I would rather share my imagination with a world willing to hear and understand it than to keep all this to myself. I am a dreamer who seeks to improve the dreams of other dreamers by touching on their dream and showing that the potential for that dream is unlimited. Therefore the amount of tabs my brain has open is also unlimited causing me and mine to jump from one subject to the next without a second thought.

So you see, that is why My brain has too any tabs open at all times.

But there is a way to combat that... it takes focus, dedication, and most of all perseverance when times get tough. For myself this can be hard so when I figure it out, I'll let all ya'll know. Wish me luck... I'm gonna need it.

Peace out my dear readers, until our next encounter.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Jessica Taylor

My deepest desire is to be able to help people; since I am too shy to be a professional speaker I decided that writing is my next best option. However, I do love the feel of the pen upon the page and the clicking of my keys on my keyboard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.