Confessions logo

One Screw Loose To Psycho

We The Retail Workers

By Jessica TaylorPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Never in my life have I ever been treated the way I have while working in retail. My year and a half at this current place has caused me many health issues.

My time at this current retail job (which will remain unspoken here), started out fun and exciting despite the horrors that had been said about certain people. I still knew I needed the job to keep the apartment room I had found.

Everything was going great, until the world encountered covid-19. Suddenly, the world was in chaos. Hoarding water, food, toilet paper, and anything else people were afraid to live without. Then there was the quarantine; Shit got real..... As we have been considered an essential business, I got to work through it.

People were scared, including the entire team I was working with. Our managers gave us all the opportunity to either stay on and work or stay home for the quarantine. Most chose to stay home. Several weeks went by (so much for it'll only be 2 weeks of quarantine) and each week I remember my manager calling me to come in and work. 8 weeks of 50-80 hours per week; from open to close because there were so many call outs. And that's when my health troubles started.

From the start of covid until now things grow increasingly unsafe. The customers (though I know they're scared) have become more violent and unfortunately more stupid.

In these past months I have watched as people have gone to extended lengths to make life a living HELL for those of us who have been "essential workers."

Just the other day; in no less that 25 minutes, mind you: I watched a series of customers took advantage of 3 of my coworkers, the turn around to treat me like I was a piece of shit. These people decided to tell 2 of my coworkers that they needed help with something only to have the item thrown back at them in disgust from the customer. The third was my manager; who tried to appease the "irate customer" by giving a 20% discount to her entire order just so she would come back. Now, the item this customer had thrown at my coworker, was of heavy origin and left a very large bruise on my coworkers arm ( To be exact... a hammer). Yet, even after the second incident of her throwing something; my manager (MALE, HEAVY SET, AND BALD); after watching this woman's tantrum over nothing, still decided it was the employees who were at fault.

Afterward when I assisted in checking her out she proceeded to literally throw all of her 60 something items at me, including the hammer. I told my manager that i wanted to press charges and he brushed me off. At that point, I had enough. I looked at the lady and told her that we have been open through this whole ordeal and that her attitude was a horrible one. I cannot remember all the things I said to her, but, I remember her husband pulling her aside and saying something in a foreign language. After that her demeanor changed entirely. But, still, that type of shit shouldn't have even happened to begin with.

But, the one thing that pisses me off more than anything, is the woman who came in yesterday. This woman came in, looked at the carts, looked back at me, and asked me where the goddamn carts were. After answering as politely as I could and smiling at her, she said "I don't like any of these carts go to Kroger and get me one of theirs."

I giggled thinking she was joking which pissed her off to the extent of her going straight to my manager on duty and demanded he fire me. Lucky for me; my MOD was one who actually cares about his employees. I heard him say "if you want a Kroger cart so damn bad, then go shop there. But I'm not going to fire my best employee because you feel like being a bitch, and furthermore if you're going to treat myself or my employees like shit then you can get your old ass out my store and never come the fuck back." (it was a really bad day for us). She scoffed and did her shopping but, not in peace; every five minutes she was up asking the price of everything she wanted. After about two hours of checking prices for her she finally settled on a coke, kit kat bar and a 24 bottle case of water. She insisted that I give her fifteen large bags so she could clean out her car, but, my MOD, said we were running low on bags and it was our policy not to supply the world with bags because we were doing everything we could to help the planet. So instead he placed her two items in a small bag and double bagged it just to shut her up. But, alas my dearest peoples this is not the end of this story. After I had cashed her out she again demanded i at least give her two large bags for her case of water and that I had to lift it into her car for her. Now normally I would have happily helped her, however, we here in Tennessee had a snowstorm and I got caught out in it; falling at least three times and fracturing 2 bones in my wrist. When I called for help, this woman went off at me. I said "fuck this shit" and called her a bitch. I (being the decent person that I am) helped her get the water in the bag and when she picked it up by the handles it busted and she let it go and I let out a pain filled screech. Yes; it landed on the fractured wrist. And all she could say was "just think now you can claim work mans comp!" and laughed as she walked out the door.

The gentleman behind her caught her in the entryway and told her she was lucky that I didn't press charges and sue her to which she ran like hell to her car. Ten minutes later she returns the cart to the store leaving it in the path where no one could get out unless it was moved. By this time, I sighed, my tears were flowing like a river and the gentleman who confronted her shook his head and called her a bitch. I looked up noticing that I had a long line of customers; I felt myself becoming more and more overwhelmed as I called for backup. the gentleman who confronted her put her cart away, bought me a chocolate bar, attempted to give me a fifty dollar tip (we're not allowed to take tips) and handed me a tissue. He also had his wife; who is a nurse take a look at my wrist. (thank god there wasn't more damage done to it)

Some days its bad; some days its good; some days there are good people, some days there are bad people, but most days there are stupid people and people who have no common sense.

My main worry here is the fact that we as employees are not paid enough to deal with customers who abuse us, and there should be a law in place that protects us as employees.

And for that matter; what ever happened to common sense; punishing those who are in dire need of a lesson in manners... I mean my goodness; if I ever did that to someone and my mother was around she would beat my ass in front of everyone. We have kids who come into the store and run around like heathens; we are not a fucking daycare; your children should respect those of us who work hard. It makes me so mad that we; the retail workers are treated so bad. These are only a few stories from my archives in the retail world.

We; the essential workers have been your lifeline since before this whole mess of shit started. We; are the "hands that feed you" and the disrespect and abuse is unnecessary.

"DON'T BITE THE HAND THAT FEEDS YOU" because one day one of us just might poison your ass!

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Taylor

My deepest desire is to be able to help people; since I am too shy to be a professional speaker I decided that writing is my next best option. However, I do love the feel of the pen upon the page and the clicking of my keys on my keyboard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.