Confessions logo

My Best Friend

A bond that cannot be broken

By Mogomotsi MoremiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I remember the day I met my best friend like it was yesterday. It was a warm and sunny day in the middle of summer, and I had just moved to a new town. I was feeling lonely and overwhelmed by all the newness around me. That's when I saw her walking down the street, with a huge smile on her face.

She was wearing a bright yellow dress and carrying a stack of books in her arms. I couldn't help but notice how happy and carefree she seemed, and I found myself drawn to her energy. As she walked past me, she looked up and caught my eye, and I smiled at her. To my surprise, she stopped and walked back towards me.

"Hey there," she said, still smiling. "I'm Emily. Are you new around here?"

I was taken aback by her friendly demeanor and welcoming attitude, and I found myself opening up to her almost immediately. We started chatting about the town, the weather, and our mutual love of books. Before I knew it, we had exchanged numbers and made plans to hang out later that day.

Over the course of the next few hours, Emily showed me around town and introduced me to some of her friends. She was funny, kind, and incredibly easy to talk to. I felt like I had known her for years, even though we had just met that day.

As the sun started to set, we found ourselves sitting on a bench in the town square, talking about our hopes and dreams. Emily told me about her plans to become a writer, and I shared my passion for photography. We laughed, joked, and enjoyed each other's company as the night fell around us.

As we said our goodbyes that night, I knew that I had found a true friend in Emily. She was someone who made me feel seen heard, and valued, and I knew that our friendship was going to be something special.

Over the course of the next few weeks and months, Emily and I spent almost every day together. We went on adventures, explored the town, and talked about everything under the sun. We supported each other through the ups and downs of life, and we never judged or criticized each other.

Through Emily, I met some of the most incredible people I had ever known. Her friends were kind, creative, and passionate, and they all welcomed me into their community with open arms. I felt like I had finally found a place where I belonged, and I was grateful for Emily's role in making that happen.

Years went by, and Emily and I remained inseparable. We went to college together, moved to different cities, and pursued our dreams. But no matter where life took us, we always made time for each other. We called, texted, and visited each other as often as we could, and our bond only grew stronger over time.

As I look back on that day I met Emily, I realize how lucky I was to have stumbled upon such an amazing friend. She was the light in my life when everything else seemed dark, and she taught me the true meaning of friendship.

Now, many years later, Emily is still my best friend. We have been through so much together, and we have shared countless memories that will stay with us forever. I know that we will always have each other's backs no matter where life takes us.

Meeting Emily was one of the best things that ever happened to me, and I will always be grateful for that chance encounter on a sunny summer day. It just goes to show that sometimes, the most important people in our lives come into our lives when we least expect them.

FamilyTeenage yearsSecretsSchoolFriendshipChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Mogomotsi Moremi

Author and Web developer

Telling stories, one word at a time. Bringing worlds to life through my books and articles. #WriterLife #NeverGiveUp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.