Confessions logo

My 1st Date & a glass of Merlot Wine

This was a date to end all dates

By Annette WilsonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
4
Wine and Conversation

It was march 21st the 1st day of spring. The sky was dark, thundering and raining. I had just pulled up, got out of my car with my umbrella and keys in hand. A high wind shifted toward my direction. When all of a sudden, I immediately felt a forceful shove. This nearly shook me and left me standing there froze, cold in my tracks. 5:30am I wasn't expecting anyone to be out and about lurking.

I heard a deep firm voice say excuse me, I'm so sorry..... are you Okay? Yes I replied as my heart was still racing fast. I'm Ronald he replied, I just came out for my early morning jog. I briefly greeted Ronald with an introduction.... Hello I'm Lizzy. The breeze combined with his freshly showered body and the scent of his cologne nearly sweep my feet from beneath me. The breeze heighted my euphoria, as I hung on to the smell of his cologne.

Mmmmmh..... mmmmhh, What a man!!!! Omg! I found myself stuck, just standing there checking him out. He was such a dark handsome man. He stood every bit of 6ft 4inches tall, 200lbs solid, with a chiseled physique. Tall and very good looking all I could say is whoa... before the rapid winds once again took my breathe away. His deep and gentle voice once again asking me are you sure you are alright? I then nodded my head as I softly said yes, I'm fine. He instantly replied I know how you look... Lol I was asking how you feel! I'm more than alright. He said I guess I'll see you around. Then suddenly he brisk away for his morning jog, as I stuck the key in the door to enter my coffee shop.

I couldn't help but to feel vulnerable after what had just transpired. I was intrigued as he left me curious wanting to know more about him. He definitely got my attention, I'm hoping he might be new to the neighborhood just passing through this mourning.

I must admit entering my coffee shop this morning was a sigh of relief for more than one reason. One reason being I didn't bump into some crazy this time of morning. Second I hadn't laid eyes on a man that fine, in I don't know when? And third I have been running my Organo gold coffee/cafe shop for 12 years and I'm not getting any younger. And last but, not least. Not to mention I've had my share of heartache relationships with abuse, mistrust and infidelity.

Several painful relationships forced me to decide a break up, and to end a toxic relationship three years ago. Since then I have been single, not even thinking nor, looking for a man. I agreed to put myself and my business 1st. Besides I know if I'm not able to hold down my own and take care of myself. And allow myself the much needed time to heal. What good would I be to anyone else in another relationship trying to love someone else and I'm still hurting after a bad break up? Instead of replacing my mixed emotions about men who once left me scared and wounded after so much mistrust.

No more men with weak tendencies, no goals, with no ambition, cornered by empty dreams and broken promises. I'm good!!!.... I'll wait! Until a real man comes along. I'll just keep focusing on my coffee business.

Clearly on the right path, I'm setting up shop before my early rising customers come in for a hot cup of joe. I decided to add an incentive. Every 50th customer that purchase a cup of coffee will receive a complementary bottle of Merlot wine. Theirs free to take home and enjoy.

I did a little research to fine the best wine that wouldn't break the bank. I found that Merlot wine has the most planted grapes in Bordeaux region of France. Merlot is among the top 5 grown grapes in Italy. Merlot is the second planted grapes that comes after Cabernet Sauvignon in Italy. It Pairs well with food, varietal selections of blends or single. The warm and the cool climates adds its distinctive taste. My every 50th customer today will receive a complementary bottle of IN VINO FINITO complements of Merlot.

My early morning customers were starting to slow down. I became curious If I would see him again. And there he was, Ronald had walked in my coffee shop but, he wasn't alone. He had a beautiful young lady with him. It was kind of hard to tell if they were dating. They looked so happy together. My life past experiences taught me not to jump to conclusions. I learned to remain calm, confident, and always cool.

Upon noticing him standing next in line waiting patiently for coffee. I immediately opened up another register, and yelled next customer please! Ronald was next in line. Anna then gave me a smile to express her excitement for me, as she scooted closer to her register to take care of her third 49th customer of today. Anna knew I had never done nothing like this before in her entire 12 years of her working for me. I began to take Ronald and the young women coffee order. I found myself trying to figure out who she was. I nearly almost forgot that Ronald was my third 50th customer to take home the prize wine. A Merlot favorite IN VINO FINITO.

I learned rather quickly that Ronald was a straight forward type of man. He stated hey, Lizzy I hope you didn't mind. I brought my daughter here to meet the beautiful woman I bumped into earlier today. My daughter is on Spring Break. She is away at college, and will be completing her degree in law. Lizzy this is Jessica,.... Jessica this is Lizzy. I was so relieved that the young lady was his daughter.

Ronald eagerly asked me for my phone number, he said he wanted to call me and ask me out on a date. I placed my business card in his bag with the bottle of Merlot wine. They walked away with their order of coffee and the bottle of wine as I took the next customer.

Then the glass shattered, lighting strikes, a loud scream, Woo!.... somebodies at the window. It's totally dark. the door bell rings, laughter gets louder and louder, as the thunder makes the car alarms go off. Then out of nowhere in total darkness, someone screams. All of a sudden silence hits to the point you can hear a pin drop. I grabbed Ronald and he held me in his arms as I asked him was he married. He instantly with a sigh stated not anymore.

Ronald explained that his wife had died from a car accident 3years ago. Ronald continued to speak, telling me his hardship. She was immediately taken to the hospital. The Doctor's did brain surgery after the car crash. The Doctor's and the Trauma Surgeon stated she had too much swelling around her brain. The swelling wouldn't go down she was pronounced brain dead. She had no brain wave and I kept her on a ventilator for two years breathing for her to give her a fighting chance, hoping she would live and somehow pull through. But, she never did! I noticed the excitement and trembles of Ronald's deep voice. I laid my head more into Ronald's chest as I began to reposition. I wanted to distract him from his hurt and pain.

In that moment, I realized we had both had torn hearts over the past three years. It was much needed time for us both to heal before meeting each other.

The suspense soon brought his attention back to the movie. My head laying gently on his chest brought him reassurance that every was going to be fine. He reached out his hand and touched the top of my head. He begun to gently stroke my hair. The day had took a toll on me. I awaken to people leaving the movie theater. Ronald began to laugh with calm and firm demeanor, then he said welp.., now that you got your nap out of the way. Why don't you consider going with me back to my place for a night cap? I have that bottle of Merlot wine I won at your coffee shop. As attractive as this man is, it did not take much to persuade me. Alright I said, your place Merlot it is.

I know this being our 1st date this might sound strange but, I'm not much of a drinker. I have never had Merlot wine, it's actually pretty good. Lol what could be better? Look at us newbies on a first date and our first time drinking this wine. The wine and conversation lasted the entire night. We talked about some of everything. It was as if we had been knowing each other forever. I laughed and said Ronald do you want to hear something funny? He said sure Lizzy what is it? I then said do you know what Merlot mean as I sipped some more wine? Then Ronald stated I'm sure you'll tell me? I giggled like a school girl. It means little black bird. We both laughed and said Who knew our 1st date, wine and conversation..... A little black bird would tell us that we would become soulmates.

Dating
4

About the Creator

Annette Wilson

I specialize in creative writing. Short Stories, poetry, books, music, movies, & more....Action ,thriller suspense. Rap....Hop Hip, R & B, hardcore, & gangsta lyric.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.