Confessions logo

Miss Ledbetter Road

Sexy Shot Maker

By Timothy KincaidPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1
Photo by Canva Pro

---

It's the summer before 8th grade. I'm working on my basketball game to destroy the hearts and minds of every middle school baller in the county. I almost never thought about girls, well with the exception of Miss Americas beautiful naked body: Vanessa Williams.

Can you believe it? I saw a picture of her while at The Gardner Webb Basketball Camp in a girlie magazine. At that time, the early 1980's, she was the girl only girl I wanted a nut from.

But I digress.

I'm jogging back from the ball field, speed dribbling past Miss Mary's house. Although she had a fence, a huge German Shepherd live there. He was unpredictable.

Sometimes he would just watch you walk by, other times he would run up to the fence. Then he did something that would make me always run or dribble full speed past Miss Mary's.

He jumped the fence going after a neighborhood kid. To his defense the snotty nosed brat was taunting him. He didn't bite the knucklehead, but he scared the bejesus out of him. I was taking no chances.

As I slow down once past the beast, I get to the stop sign that intersects Academy and New Hampshire Street. I see what at first blush I thought was a beautiful mirage.

I had just completed a two hour workout in 90 degree heat so I thought I was seeing things. I stopped and watched her walk across the yard. Music start to play in my mind. She is in slow motion.

Candy Girl, you are my world, a love so sweet, your a special treat. She looks sweeter than any unwrapped slowly melting at the corner Hershey candy bar I had ever held.

Golden brown skin, long runner legs, cut off blue jeans shorty shorts. Shoulder length locks hanging perfectly in place. She goes into my auntie Carol's old apartment.

She looks like a smaller version of Vanessa Williams: Miss America. I thought: There she is: Miss Ledbetter. As she closes the screen door she looks right at me and smiles.

I start to hear bells, I think they must be from heaven, announcing the presence of an angel, here on earth. But it's a car coming up behind me blowing their horn.

"Tim, baby, get out the middle of the road, honey. You gonna get hit by a car."

"Sorry, Miss Tricia."

I'm too embarrassed to go to her door. I continue home and go straight to my room. Wow I think I just saw my Nutcracker.

---

New Hampshire Street Apartment Complex has 22 two-bedroom units and two 3 bedroom apartments, where my family stayed. There were anywhere from 15 to 20 girls, ranging from ages 8 to 18.

I thought most of them as my friends, with the exception of Nay. She was my best buddies sissy. I never considered receiving the elusive nut my friends spoke about from the neighborhood girls.

I even had second thoughts about Nay, she was my best friends sister for God sake. I tried to protect her from glaring eyes of older boys like she was my little sissy.

This new girl was as beautiful if not more beautiful than Nay. She seemed older and I had no sisterly feelings towards her. She's the closest thing that's probably ever going to come to Ledbetter that can stack up to Miss America.

I still wasn't sure of the how or when, but I was determined that somehow, someway, I was going to receive a nut from her and I wouldn't care what kind. Hell, I would willingly take even pistachio which I hated.

A couple of weeks have passed, I start to think maybe she wasn't real. This beautiful surreal hologram image replaced Miss America's flashing in my subconscious.

The x-rated picture of a naked Miss America now has a more wholesome picture of a sweet baby girl floating across the lawn.

It's a steamy North Carolina late summer night. Every apartment didn't contain an air conditioner unit. Central air is something rich people enjoyed. We had a window unit in the living room, but I needed a box fan in my room to keep cool in the stifling Carolina heat.

I never required many hours of sleep. Usually around 2 am, I would sneak out of my parents apartment and see how many free throws I could make in a row.

Our apartment complexes basketball goal was located behind our old building. I would cross the street to the small area where the hoop was located.

My stepdad had a small storage building behind the basket. A large street light strategically placed, made it possible to play in the middle of the night. It was at the far end of the building that for whatever reason; the end unit was always vacant.

I would walk off 6 paces and draw a line in the dirt court for my makeshift free throw line. I shot in increments of ten free throws at a time. The most I've ever gotten in a row was 67.

Tonight, I set my goal for an even hundred. It's so peaceful at 2 am. No cars only the sound of an occasional bark from a dog and a choir of singing crickets.

The stillness of the night air offers a zen-like aura of protection against a thousand imaginary fans watching me. Half of whom wish me success, the other half hoping for my total destruction.

Little did I know there was an audience of One, keeping track of my makes. I'm up to 30 and as I'm walking back to the line, I hear a screen door slowly creep open and slowly close.

I look up to see it coming towards me. The vision has a smooth unassuming gate and a womanly silhouette. She walks into the light. It's Miss Ledbetter, live and in-person. The figment of my imagination actually speaks:

"30 in a row, do you eva miss."

I quickly look around to make sure she's speaking to me. I offer a smile.

"Sometimes, but only when distracted. I must admit, you are a beautiful distraction."

She walks right up to me, invading my personal space. I welcomed the invasion. My new friend smells of fresh baby powder; wearing cut off blue jean shorts and a white sports bra. Flip flops protect her delicate toes.

Her hair falls just below her shoulders. She has piercing green eyes and stud earrings. The kind you get when you first get your ears pierced.

"Where did you come from," I asked.

"The apartment two doors away. I was getting a drink of water when I hear a bouncing ball. I look out to see you shooting free throws. I had planned to watch you till you miss, but since that never happened. I figured I'd come and get a closer inspection."

"That's right, I saw you going into Donald's apartment."

"Yes, he's my uncle," she replies.

"Well, you almost got me hit by a car. You are pretty and dangerous." I joke.

"Well didn't your mama tell you not to walk in the middle of the road."

"Yeah, but I'm hard-headed." I reply.

"Well mister hardhead, I'm Destiny. What's your name?"

"I'm Tim, nice to meet you."

Don't stop on my account, I'll rebound for you," she says.

I pride myself to always, without fail, step up my game whenever girls are present. Usually they just watch me, but she wanted to participate and actually rebound for me. Could she be a baller?

I shoot my free throw: swish. She rebounds through the net, delivering an almost perfect chest pass. I'm taking a back.

"Do you play," I ask.

"Yes."

"Do you want to play around the world?"

"Sure." she replies.

The fact that she understands what playing "Around the World" means; my heart skipped a beat.

I walked to her and handed her the ball.

"You go first," I suggest.

The passing night is cooling off the steamy air, it's as if her presence has bought a sweet tasting cool breeze. My Ledbetter love misses her first shot and gives a cute pout. I speak up:

"Here take a couple more shots to get warmed up."

I send her soft bounce passes. I instinctively know how to pass to a girl. On Ledbetter, you learn to play with girls because they're so many. Destiny is starting to warm up, she's making shots.

I start to feel goose bumps watching her. At first I think it's my beautiful baller. I realize the breeze is cooling off my sweat beads. As she continues sinking shots, I'm enamored with her form.

I know right, but I'm referring to her shooting form. However, her body form is quite alluring. My lovely is about five foot six, mostly legs. They're absolutely stunning, with gorgeous brown silky smooth skin.

I can't look away from her mouth, each time she shoots, Destiny puckers her lips as if she's getting ready to give a kiss. I want to taste them. I quickly snap out of my trance when she speaks:

"What grade are you in, I'm going to the 8th."

"Oh cool, so am I."

"I will be turning 15 in a couple of weeks. My mom moves a lot so I had to stay back a few times."

"Cool," I reply.

I refrain from telling her I'm only 13. I'm now convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that I wanted a nut from Destiny. She was high school age; she looked like Vanessa; and to put the whip cream on the sweet potato pie: she was a baller.

A sexy shot-maker. We complete our game. I walk her to the back door of her uncle's apartment.

"Tim I had so much fun. You are by far the sweetest boy at these apartments."

"Thank you, Destiny. You are the prettiest girl I've ever seen in person, up close."

She takes my hand and reaches her soft supple lips up and kisses my cheek.

"See you tomorrow."

I wave goodbye and dash across the street. I sneak back into my parents apartment, lay on my bed, holding my left cheek. I fall asleep thinking about my first real kiss, from a girl. A princess no doubt; my Miss Ledbetter.

Teenage years
1

About the Creator

Timothy Kincaid

A freelance writer who offers ghostwriting ebooks, FaceBook posts, article & blog writing services. He works with B2B & B2C companies providing digital marketing content designed to drive traffic, increase conversion and SEO.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.