Confessions logo

Mind Trips And Looks At The Nightmares Of People

What if you could see into the past or look into the future? It's one hell of a party trick and freaks people out.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 9 months ago 14 min read
2
Image created using Openai

The Five Scariest Mind Trips Before Losing The Power

Before the brain closed up shop, possibly from bouncing against the sides of that rock-hard skull an excessive number of times, there were trips to the past and future that couldn't be explained. Having seen Quantum Leap, it was not the same. The trips weren't as long, and it was more like seeing the life-changing moments of other people's lives.

Imagine doing this or experiencing the odd phenomenon. Imagine that you can go through something so weird. Now, imagine having such an ability and not being able to control it when it happens.

How many questions would come to mind? How am I doing this? Why can I do such a thing? What does it mean? However, they aren't as important as what you'll see during your mind trip, and what you'll be able to do for the people whose minds you've jumped into.

This was the reality that I learned when I was younger. I called it mind-tripping. Be assured that there was no use of LSD, and this had nothing to do with the MK-Ultra program.

Now, in my 50s, I no longer care how crazy it might sound. We're living in a world where the U.S. Congress is pushing to tell the world the truth about extra-terrestrial life. There's an open admission about the belief that there may be biological matter on Mars. The world itself is in a perilous place and run by crazy people. Would someone having a special ability really be that crazy?

By Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

Trip #1-The Victim

During the first event, during the summer of 1988, there were many days spent on the beach area along the Mississippi, north of the Quad Cities. There was a group of us that were hanging out together that summer. Rebecca, Tina, Jess, Donovan, and myself all had formed a bond that summer.

Summer romance was in the air. Or, maybe it was summer hormones and youthful lust, depending on which of us specifically. It was an exciting summer for more than one reason.

When trip one happened, I thought it was a hallucination. I was sitting there, listening to music, watching the sun go down with the gang, and woosh. I wasn't there on the beach.

Where I was I didn't understand. Suddenly, I landed in a car with a stranger person. What was about to happen was one of the most bizarre experiences. I could see the stranger, the guy wearing the high school jacket. It wasn't from the school I went to, and later I'd know that it was from Bettendorf High School.

Fear overtook me. Why was I there? What was he doing? No...I know what he's doing, but it doesn't make sense. It's like someone's nightmare playing out and I'm experiencing it firsthand.

Then, as fast as I was gone, I came back to the beach and was with the gang.

It would be a while before I would experience trip number two. I didn't tell anyone about trip number one for a long time. Eventually, I told Donovan about the experience. He thought I was losing my mind, god rest his soul.

By Danie Franco on Unsplash

Trip #2-The Grandmother

Trip number two was the day my grandparents moved from their old home on the farm to a newer, smaller home. Grandparents, parents, and us, eventually downsize. Several of us were there to help with the move, and I was taking a break. The older furniture your grandparents own is much heavier than today's. Once upon a time, things were made to last.

My grandmother had suffered from Multiple Sclerosis for years and was in a severely debilitated state. She hadn't been able to speak for a few years, and by the time they moved, she was basically a shell of her former self. Yet, once in a while, she would smile from her wheelchair and let the world know her spirit was still in there.

I was only seventeen at the time. My grandmother would only be around for another year, and this was sadly my last communication with her.

Trip number two was like the first one, I was in one place, and suddenly, I was in an entirely different place. It was equally as startling and hard to understand. When I heard her voice there was nothing but darkness around. I wouldn't begin to fathom the meaning of what I saw afterward for many years.

I stood, watching two children, in strange clothing. Their attire was old. Behind them was an older, late-fifties pickup. I wondered, where the hell am I? Again, I believed I was having hallucinations, or that something was wrong with my brain.

Yet, as I started to regain the picture of where I was actually in the present day, I heard my grandmother's voice for the first time since I was 14. We were back at the new house, and she was smiling widely. Her lips didn't move, but as clear as a bell, I heard her say, "Tell your grandpa I'm glad I got to see the new house before I go."

I'm not ashamed to admit it, but a tear ran down my cheek.

Just a year later, on a Sunday morning, I was hanging out at home while my mom and brother were at the grocery store. I was going to get lunch with my high school sweetheart at noon. When the phone rang just after 11 a.m. I answered, but I already knew. How I didn't know, but I knew the call was about my grandmother. She was gone.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Trip #3-Monsters Make Monsters

I got to trip number three several years later. The years in between my mind may have been too preoccupied. Between the trips, I was about to go through a lot of trials and experience more changes than Earth after the asteroid wiped out the dinosaurs.

I was about to learn something about mind trips if I wasn't crazy, to begin with. There was an answer about to present itself. How they happen became less important than how to control them over the years, so number three stands out because during number three I realized it was physical contact.

Trip number three was into the labyrinth of the mind of a woman I'd been dating. She had a complicated mind that rivaled being lost inside a maze in the depths of hell itself. Being there, I could hear her voice, but not the voice I'd come to know.

When I found the opening to where she was, I could see it in the face of the young woman in the reflection. Her eyes were unmistakable. The man she was staring down at I had never seen before. He was much older than she, and yet she was touching him.

Her touches, her soft kisses, and her body rubbing against his caused him to get worked up and that's when the vision got really strange. As the old man clutched his arm and dropped to his knees she took a strange amount of pride and joy in what was happening.

There was her hand, waiving in front of him, just out of reach, as she held a bottle of nitro away from the man. "You're a monster!" she yelled. "You took my childhood, did you really think you can take me as a woman? I told you what I'd do if you ever tried to touch me again!"

The man died of a heart attack, right there in front of her eyes, the eyes I stared through. Everything rushed past at the speed of light, and I was back in the little glass hut outside of the hospital. There was Laura, still sitting beside me, smiling at my hand on her thigh.

"Would you like to come over on Saturday?" she asked.

"Sure," I replied.

I went back to work after having that experience, wondering if someone put something into the cigarette I'd smoked. What the hell had I just seen? If it were real, what would it mean? How could it be real?

A return into the mind of Laura revealed more than I needed to know to understand the wild woman I'd been chasing after, trying to get closer to, unable to see that I should have been fleeing. I was completely drawn to her, for reasons I didn't understand.

She sat down on her sofa with me on Saturday, sipping from a glass of wine. She had something on her mind, something troubling. Laura held my hand and began to tell me that she liked me, even though she was worried about our ages. There was a twenty-ish year gap.

I believed I was hallucinating again. I could see the labyrinth, with me standing inside the middle of it, standing there with Laura in a heated embrace. We were both naked, holding each other, as we kissed passionately. We weren't alone.

At each entrance to the labyrinth were other Lauras. They were as real as she was, as I would learn from meeting them over time. Three years later, after three confusingly, often exciting, and challenging years, I would discover that she suffered from multiple personality disorder. By then, I knew the psychological theories that might explain why.

I blinked my eyes and was back there on the couch with her, just in time to hear her say the words, "Before I can go any further, there's something about me I want to share with you because it makes it hard for me to be comfortable with men."

Why, I don't know, but I blurted out what she was about to say. She had been abused by her father. Her father was a particularly bad man. The things he'd done to her robbed her of her innocence and created problems for her as an adult.

"You were sexually abused by someone as a kid until you were a teenager..." I didn't want to say anymore or finish the thought, as her face turned to one of uncertainty and shock.

How? She asked me how I could know. I wasn't even born when the abuse was happening and I was only two when he tried it the last time.

"Tell me about the last time," I told her. "Does it still haunt you? Does it haunt your dreams?"

"Well...yes. But, how do you?" she hesitated. "The last time it happened, he had a heart attack. He got so worked up that he needed his medicine. There was nobody there to get it for him."

Eventually, after several more trips into the labyrinth, I realized that the inhabitants of the labyrinth were all of the possibilities of what a person becomes after a more challenging life. I saw things a few more times. They were events that were frightening, alarming, and confusing. Even as I went through many more classes on human behavior and psychology I still couldn't believe what I learned from this one person.

Trip # 4-Not Being In The Picture

By Myron Edwards on Unsplash

A young woman chased after an older man. There are many reasons that this happens. If the older man is decent and smart, they might consider helping her see the error of what she's doing.

However, if the older man is caught at the wrong time and vulnerable to a younger woman who is the aggressor, he may fall prey to her charms. That was what happened a couple of months after my father's passing. I was caught off guard by the aggressive flirtations of a younger woman.

Can a younger woman be a predator? Yes, they can be predators. They can be so aggressive in what they want that it becomes a confusing time for the person they prey upon. So, we wound up becoming very close, against my better judgment.

One night, in an inappropriate way, she put her hand on my leg and asked me if I thought we'd be together five years from now. Then I flashed away from the scene, seeing her in a wedding dress. I wasn't there. I was looking at it from her point of view as she looked in a mirror.

I didn't want to hurt her, and part of me didn't want to admit what I'd seen. I was happy that I saw a happy future for her because I'd already taken a trip into her subconscious and seen what turned her into the sexually charged predator that she had become. Her uncle was a popular guy and entertained kids through their teenage years for a long time. He also loved her in the wrong ways. Her story wasn't going to end with a man 22 years older than her.

Rhetos, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons

Do such things as enhanced abilities, special powers, or psychic abilities exist? There's no definitive proof of such things. However, there are people that swear a psychic knew things they couldn't have known. People see and experience things that can't be explained.

Tripping into the minds of others and seeing their pasts, experiencing their deepest, darkest, most intimate secrets is not something to be trifled with. In the case of the first trip, a girl was sexually assaulted and it haunted her. Seeing and feeling that experience was terrifying.

Experiencing the pride of someone that can't speak was something special. My grandfather didn't believe that I had spoken with my grandmother. He was not open-minded enough to entertain that possibility. Watching, through her eyes, or her memories, as she watched her children play on the farm, was confusing until I saw pictures of my uncle and my mother at that age.

Experiencing the pain and sorrow, and the guilt and remorse others feel, is one way of understanding the people around us. Who exactly would choose to live that horror show?

Controlling the power meant shutting down, or becoming physically detached from the world. Emotions are a tricky thing, and when emotionally attached to someone, i.e. to love someone, it formed a bond with a few. The bond, however, seemed to only be formed with those that lived in the darkest of places.

Trip #5-The Revenge Trip

By Sander Sammy on Unsplash

Trip number five happened with someone that was bizarre. There was such a strong connection between us that it was strange, even magical. When I saw the memories that haunted her, it was memories of revenge. She would weeks later tell me how she was snatched in the parking garage of a hospital where she worked and violated.

Trip number five cemented the common denominator. Those people with whom I was able to see through their eyes, to experience the past, all were victims. I had grown to be a man large in stature and in decent fighting shape.

Why did so many people suffering this type of victimization seem to be attracted to me, to enter into my life? They were all slightly built and had been harmed by someone stronger, larger, and more violently capable of hurting people than they could defend themselves from.

I was their protector, and because I experienced their pain through their eyes, traveling into their pasts, I could empathize with what they had suffered, whether they consciously knew they had suffered such things or not.

Between age 16 and age 51, there have been several hundred trips into people's minds. The last trip was into the most screwed-up mind of the bunch. There was something in there, something other than the person I knew. This was not a personality or a defense mechanism.

In the case of my last trip, the person I went into, was a practitioner of the black arts. I was treated to a look at her inner sanctum, and the altar at which she worshipped. The rather bone-chilling experience rattled me at the time. Later, it explained a possible reason for the feeling that the other thing in her mind wasn't just a defense personality.

There was chilling darkness inside that one, and it yearned to be free. It needed control over a body and was slowly etching away at the walls that kept it there. After reading many books by people who've studied the paranormal and the supernatural, practicing the dark arts of witchcraft, opening herself up to something sinister, turned a happily married, well-adjusted woman into the second darkest soul I've ever encountered.

Just a few years after encountering something so sinister I couldn't put a name to it, I suffered my fifth diagnosed severe concussion. I would go on a number of drug treatments that were pretty strong. A doctor referred to one of the pills as being pharmaceutical heroin. Whether it was the drugs I got addicted to or the injury to my brain and it firing differently ever since I have not involuntarily invaded the mind of another since the injury.

CONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Fascinating. Thank you for sharing this with us, Jason. I'm glad that you were able to handle such experiences responsibly & not turn them into "party tricks" to gain attention. I was not. Adding hubris & insecurity into the mix is not at all healthy.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Wow!!! Impressive story, Jason!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.