Confessions logo

Manifest it like you mean it!

This is really happening!

By Ida LenoirPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
You have what you say!

My confession of a missed opportunity!

I've started my journey of enlightenment and I realize there is always good and bad, yin and yang, balance and counterbalance to every aspect of life. You can help yourself out by being realistic in your view of the circle of life. Planting and toiling, along with rain and sunshine are all needed to yield a bountiful harvest.

I've been reading scripture, meditating, manifesting, praying, hoping, working, being consistent, doing all the things I know to do. There is a bible passage that relays the moral of the story, "You shall have what you say." I've been holding on to that phrase. It's become my personal mantra.

Lo and behold, I was put to the test, and boy did I fail. It was an epic snafu, faux pas, royal "muck up". And it went like this...

I needed to go back to my home state to take care of some family business. It was to be a good occasion, blessings and all. My sons said they would travel to meet me and we could have a great family get-together weekend. Of course, I'm excited because I haven't seen them much since the beginning of the pandemic. We chose a mid-way point and decided to stay a few days in New Orleans.

We have a hotel chain we prefer, let me leave the name out, but it's a well-known, 5-star brand. We check in only to find out that there are no housekeeping services due to Covid-19 precautions. If we needed towels or sundries we had to pick them up at the desk. Ohhh, okay then! This isn't an overnight stay, we're here for 3 days and that's going to be a lot of laundry and tidying up for me to do.

To add to our inconvenience, early morning on the second day, someone thought it would be fun to pull the fire alarm. Yay! Let's walk down 16 stories to the sidewalk, wait for the fire department to come to clear us all and unlock the elevators. Now, let's wait our turn in line to take the elevator, one family at a time. Exhilarating! Back to our rooms to settle back in, and yes, pull the alarm again, why don't you? Repeat, stairs, sidewalk, elevators... Now, I'm feeling some type of way.

The next day, after I've cleaned up the room behind my sons, laundry, and take out for 2 days, I go to the front desk. "Sir, I'd like for you to think of a way to accommodate me on the inconvenience of this stay." I had prepared my pitch, but, I was not prepared for his response. "Sure, what can I do to make it up to you?'' I'm not used to that as a response to something that has gone wrong.

Here is my missed opportunity. I'm sharing with you so you don't make the mistake I did. Because I was not accustomed to receiving great things, I did not already have my script prepared. So, I said, "I want you to take one night off my stay". With quickness, he responded, "Yes, I will take of that for you right now." No comeback, no haggling, just yes.

In an instance, a still small voice whispered into my ear, "You have what you say, and you didn't ask for enough." Whoa, I was floored. The perfect opportunity to get exactly what I wanted, and I messed it up by being timid. Man oh man, did I want to rewind and take that moment back. I smiled and said "thank you" like I was really happy. Knowing I felt like a heel inside.

The moral of the story is this: Get ready for the thing you have been manifesting, praying for, hoping for, believing for, working toward. This is really happening! You have what you say! Say what you actually want to have! Now, in my mind, I'm already working on "scripts' of what to say when the answers are yes. What will I say when I make an offer on that new home, what I will wear to meet my husband, what color and finishes do I want on my new hellcat.

This encounter taught me in an instance; (1) Think bigger and (2) Get ready to receive what you ask for. So, needless to say, I kicked myself a bit, but ultimately went back to enjoying the get-a-way with my family. But from here on out, I'm waiting up for the lottery numbers to be called and I'm checking my tickets.

Manifest it like you mean it!

Humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ida LenoirWritten by Ida Lenoir

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.