Confessions logo

Love Against All Odds

My Forbidden Love Story

By Ameer MuaviaPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like
Love Against All Odds
Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

Have you ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn't have? Someone who was off-limits, taboo, or forbidden by society, family, or religion? If you have, you know how hard it is to keep your feelings hidden, to deny your true self, and to face the consequences of your actions. In this article, I will share with you my own story of forbidden love, how I met the love of my life, and how we overcame the obstacles that tried to tear us apart.

I was born and raised in a conservative Muslim family in Pakistan. My parents were strict and traditional, and they had arranged a marriage for me with a man I barely knew. I had no say in the matter, and I was expected to obey their wishes and follow their rules. I was unhappy and miserable, but I didn't dare to rebel or speak up. I felt trapped and hopeless.

But everything changed when I met him. He was a Christian missionary from America who came to our village to teach English and spread the gospel. He was kind, gentle, and compassionate. He had a smile that melted my heart and eyes that sparkled with joy. He was different from anyone I had ever met before. He treated me with respect and dignity, and he listened to me with genuine interest. He made me feel alive and free.

We became friends, and then more than friends. We fell in love. We knew it was wrong, we knew it was dangerous, but we couldn't help ourselves. We met secretly at night, under the stars, away from prying eyes. We whispered sweet words of love and devotion, we kissed and hugged, we dreamed of a future together. We were happy and blissful.

But our happiness didn't last long. One night, we were caught by my father and his men. They were furious and violent. They beat him up and dragged him away. They locked me up in my room and threatened to kill me if I ever saw him again. They said he was an infidel, a kafir, a blasphemer. They said he had corrupted me and dishonored our family. They said he deserved to die.

I was terrified and heartbroken. I didn't know what to do or who to turn to. I prayed to God for a miracle, for a way out of this nightmare. I begged him to save my lover and reunite us.

And then it happened. The miracle I had been waiting for. A few days later, he came back for me. He had escaped from his captors and managed to contact some friends who helped him get a car and a gun. He drove to my house in the middle of the night and shot his way through the guards. He broke into my room and took me in his arms. He said he loved me more than anything and that he would never leave me again. He said we had to run away together, to a place where we could be free.

We grabbed some clothes and money and ran to the car. We drove as fast as we could, dodging bullets and roadblocks. We crossed the border into India and headed for the airport. We boarded a plane to America with fake passports and visas. We left everything behind: our families, our friends, our culture, our religion.

We arrived in America with nothing but each other. We faced many challenges and difficulties: language barriers, culture shock, discrimination, and poverty.

- Language barriers: We had to learn English quickly to communicate with others and find jobs. We enrolled in ESL classes at a local community college and practiced every day with books, movies, and podcasts.

- Culture shock: We had to adjust to a different way of life, with different values, norms, customs, and laws. We had to learn how to dress appropriately, how to greet people politely, how to use public transportation safely.

- Discrimination: We had to deal with prejudice and hostility from some people who judged us based on our appearance, accent, or religion. We faced racism, Islamophobia, and xenophobia at work, school, or on the streets.

- Poverty: We had to work hard to make ends meet, with low-paying jobs that required long hours and little benefits. We lived in a small apartment in a bad neighborhood with no furniture or appliances.

But we also found many opportunities and blessings: education, jobs, friends, and freedom.

- Education: We were able to pursue our dreams of higher education thanks to scholarships and financial aid programs that helped us pay for tuition and books.

- Jobs: We were able to find better jobs that matched our skills and interests thanks to networking events and career fairs that connected us with employers.

- Friends: We were able to make friends with people who shared our values and passions thanks to social clubs and volunteer groups that organized activities and events.

- Freedom: We were able to enjoy our freedom of expression, religion, and choice thanks to the democratic system and the human rights that protected us.

We got married in a small church with a few witnesses. We started a new life together.

It has been 10 years since we eloped. We are still in love as ever. We have two beautiful children who are our pride and joy. We have a comfortable home in a nice neighborhood. We have a supportive community of people who accept us for who we are.

We are happy and grateful.

But we also miss our families sometimes. We wonder how they are doing, if they are still alive, if they ever forgave us or forgot us. We hope they are well and at peace.

We don't regret our decision to follow our hearts. We believe that love is stronger than hate, that faith is bigger than fear, that hope is brighter than despair.

We believe that love can overcome all odds.

We are living proof of that.

FamilyTabooSecrets
Like

About the Creator

Ameer Muavia

I turn words into magic: As a content writer, I have a way with words that brings your brand to life. Let's make some magic together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.