Confessions logo

Society's Secrets

My Taboo Lifestyle Unveiled

By Ameer MuaviaPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like
Society's Secrets
Photo by Ryan Plomp on Unsplash

I have a confession to make. I live a lifestyle that most people would consider taboo, immoral, or even illegal. I am not ashamed of it, nor do I regret it. I am happy and fulfilled in ways that most people can only dream of. But I also know that my lifestyle is not for everyone, and that it comes with risks and challenges that I have to face every day. In this article, I will share with you some of the secrets of my taboo lifestyle, and how I cope with the stigma and judgment that I encounter from society.

What is my taboo lifestyle, you may ask? Well, I am a polyamorous person. That means that I have multiple romantic and sexual relationships with different people at the same time, with the consent and knowledge of all involved. I am not cheating on anyone, nor am I being cheated on. I am not lying or hiding anything from anyone. I am simply living my truth and expressing my love in different ways.

I know that some of you may be shocked or disgusted by this revelation. You may think that I am selfish, greedy, or immoral. You may think that I am hurting myself or others by engaging in such a lifestyle. You may think that I am violating the sacred bond of marriage or monogamy. You may think that I am spreading diseases or breaking the law. You may think that I am a bad person.

But let me tell you something: none of these things are true. I am not selfish, greedy, or immoral. I am generous, compassionate, and ethical. I am not hurting myself or others by engaging in such a lifestyle. I am healing myself and others by creating authentic and meaningful connections. I am not violating the sacred bond of marriage or monogamy. I am honoring the sacred bond of love and freedom. I am not spreading diseases or breaking the law. I am taking care of my health and respecting the rights of others. I am not a bad person. I am a good person.

How can I say these things with confidence? Because I have done my research, and I have lived my experience. I have read books and articles about polyamory, and learned about its history, philosophy, and practice. I have met other polyamorous people, and joined online and offline communities where we support each other and share our stories. I have talked to my partners, and negotiated our boundaries, expectations, and agreements. I have communicated openly and honestly with everyone involved, and resolved any conflicts or issues that arose. I have practiced safe sex and regular testing, and ensured that everyone was comfortable and informed about our sexual health status. I have followed the law and respected the privacy of others, and avoided any legal or social trouble.

But most importantly, I have felt the love and joy that polyamory brings to my life. I have experienced the diversity and richness of having multiple relationships with different people who each bring something unique and valuable to me. I have enjoyed the freedom and flexibility of being able to explore different aspects of myself and others without limitations or restrictions. I have appreciated the honesty and trust that polyamory fosters among all parties involved. I have embraced the growth and learning that polyamory challenges me to achieve as an individual and as a partner.

Of course, polyamory is not all roses and rainbows. It also has its drawbacks and difficulties. It requires a lot of time, energy, and resources to maintain multiple relationships simultaneously. It demands a lot of emotional intelligence, communication skills, and conflict resolution abilities to navigate complex dynamics among multiple people. It exposes a lot of insecurities, fears, and jealousy that need to be addressed and overcome. It challenges a lot of social norms, cultural values, and personal beliefs that need to be questioned and reevaluated.

But for me, these challenges are worth it. They are part of the journey of self-discovery and self-expression that polyamory offers me. They are opportunities for growth and improvement that polyamory provides me. They are tests of courage and resilience that polyamory empowers me to face.

I know that polyamory is not for everyone. It is not a superior or inferior way of living or loving than monogamy or any other relationship style. It is simply a different way that works for some people but not for others. It is a personal choice that each person has to make for themselves based on their own preferences, needs, and values.

I respect your choice if you choose monogamy or any other relationship style that suits you best. All I ask is that you respect mine as well. Do not judge me or condemn me for living differently than you do. Do not assume things about me or my relationships that are not true. Do not try to change me or my relationships to fit your expectations or standards. Do not harm me or my relationships in any way.

Instead, try to understand me and my relationships from my perspective. Try to learn more about polyamory and its benefits and challenges. Try to appreciate the diversity and beauty of human relationships in all their forms. Try to support me and my relationships as you would any other person or relationship that you care about.

I hope that by sharing some of the secrets of my taboo lifestyle, I have shed some light on a topic that is often misunderstood or misrepresented by society. I hope that I have inspired some curiosity and compassion in you, and maybe even some interest or admiration. I hope that I have opened your mind and your heart to a different way of living and loving that is possible and wonderful for some people like me.

Thank you for reading this article, and for being a part of my life.

TabooSecrets
Like

About the Creator

Ameer Muavia

I turn words into magic: As a content writer, I have a way with words that brings your brand to life. Let's make some magic together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.