Confessions logo

Letter to a Sister

How a person remain in contact with his sister

By Forest GreenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Letter to a Sister
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

For the past twenty something years, we have been having a bond that most people do have and others wish they do have as I consider us inseparable with our brother. Even though we are a few years apart, I still see you as my peer. When we always television shows together and the different show that originally aired at the time. Being just a kid in the early 2000s, I caught on to half of what I was watching and was deeply confused about the rest. However, because you were a preteen and later became a teenager, you could relate very much. When you watched the one hour teen dramas, I could not get it, well at least a few of them. Then once I became a teenager myself, that was when I fully understood how difficult being a teen was. However, the hard part was I didn't really experienced what my classmates had, like driving, going out, dating and some type of rebellion. The last part, I think you know why.

I remember all the times you would be in your room listening to music on your CD player. I can sometimes hear the music blasting but I did not know most of the words. Even playing games during the afternoon but mostly when you were babysitting. I also remember that we would watch the education shows that come on early in the morning. I would see the sunlight shine on the wall from the window. I remember around fourth grade, when I had a crush on the new girl in class and I somehow discussed this during dinner. I know this because we were having baked ziti with cheese that night. But I was in complete agony the whole school year because of the amount of school work I received everyday. I didn't even know if she liked me or not, and I couldn't even relax a little because I was stressed out about school. I appreciated that you took me to school when I had the fifth grade senior trip. The summer after I graduated and when you graduated from high school, that was when you were out of the house, staying with someone I forgot who it was. I think you were away for a few weeks or a entire month. It was the first half of that summer and our brother and I spent those nights watching cartoons until it was time for bed.

Then sixth grade came and I experienced changes and challenges. You were about to have your first child, while I was being bullied and dealing with some unruly teachers. Then when I entered seventh grade, you then moved out because of issues related to things I can't explain. I understand why you had to leave the house, but I wish you could have stayed. Eventually you did came back home to take care of some things and later moved back in. But when you started working by the time I was in eighth grade, I started to see you less and less. Especially that one time, well one night, I was worried about when you were coming home. Finally you did came home as you were running late, because of traffic.

I never really got to experience being in a relationship during high school as you have. I haven't gotten a chance to go out as much as I am mostly at home and when I do go out, it is mostly school or doing a one time thing like the movies. But the whole ordeal taught me how to enjoy life despite me being bored in aspects. I do wish that I could go out more to get that fresh air.

Family
1

About the Creator

Forest Green

Hi. I am a writer with some years of experiences, although I am still working out the progress in my work. I make different types of stories that I hope many will enjoy. I also appreciate tips, and would like my stories should be noticed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.