Confessions logo

Letter to a Former Teacher

Eleven years later after and things changed since then

By Forest GreenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Letter to a Former Teacher
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

I am writing to you to let you how I felt back then and how I feel now. For the two years I had spent in Hall Elementary School, I could say I was not at a happy place. And I thought my home life was too much. Well it was, but matters at the school were probably the worst. You were a teaching supervisor, the one I was supposed to look up to like a mentor. But you were not a mentor to me or I believe anyone else I knew. You yelling at me did not help me with my confidence or made me focused thoroughly with my work. Your words stuck with me for thirteen years even as I became an adult. I could not sleep well at night worrying about how I might do on a test and the amount of homework I received everyday. As I sat by my desk doing with my work, I always worried about my future. Soon I then realized how much that pressure put on me might affect it. It was everyday that I dreaded going to school, not just because of you and possibly other teachers. Whenever I was having a problem with my classmates, who constantly made fun of me or put me down, it's like no one would help no matter how much I would ask. At the time, I did not realize how much it would affect my mind state especially for someone with a intellectual disorder. Even after all these years I still took full responsibility for everything that happened. I felt sick to my stomach about certain situations to the point I became sick one day. I remember that day and what happened during and after that Monday morning. My stomach was hurting real bad as I was about to prepare to go to school. I told my mother how I was feeling that morning and she let me stay home. But the pain worsen and I vomited in the late morning. I took the whole day to rest so I would feel better for the next day. Just recently the same happened again, but given the circumstances and the situation that I am now, it was not as bad as I first thought. You and Ms. Smith were supposed to lead me in the right direction, give me a sense of balance and confidence and help me make the right decisions. But I felt that I didn't get that from you or everyone else. I missed out on socializing with many of my classmates due to the large amount of work you had given me just because I could not get a multiplication problem. It was that one thing that got you treating me more harshly than the other students. Then again, they probably had gotten similar treatment from you. I always thought about why you did treated me that way. Were you that way with other students before I came along? Did you had a teacher from your school years who was like that with you? Then came fifth grade, my senior year, where things were still up and down but I was under the supervision of someone else. However half of my fifth grade class had tease me worse than what happened in fourth grade. I was probably at a much more difficult place than I was the previous year. I had never felt such hate towards me until sixth and eight grade. Those years were probably more worse but equally it depends. Then once I entered middle school, your words and their actions continued to get to me deeply and throughout sixth grade I had sudden illnesses. But it was my eighth grade year that was similar to fifth grade but worse in some ways. Once I graduated and went to high school, I still felt I couldn't be the student, all because of how you made me felt. But I found comfort and I am peace with myself and one day we might cross paths again.

School
Like

About the Creator

Forest Green

Hi. I am a writer with some years of experiences, although I am still working out the progress in my work. I make different types of stories that I hope many will enjoy. I also appreciate tips, and would like my stories should be noticed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.