Confessions logo

Kindness and Empathy

Moment in life

By Khayam IlyasPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Kindness and Empathy
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

There are many moments in our lives that have a big impact on us, shaping who we are and who we become. One such moment for me happened several years ago when I was in my early twenties. It was a small moment, but it had a profound effect on me and helped me realize the importance of kindness and empathy.

At the time, I was working at a retail store as a cashier. It was a busy Saturday afternoon and I had been on my feet for hours. My feet were sore, my back was aching, and I was feeling tired and irritable. The line of customers seemed to stretch on forever, and I was struggling to keep up with the demands of the job.

Then, a woman approached my register with a cart full of items. She was older, maybe in her seventies, and had a kind smile on her face. As I began to scan her items, she struck up a conversation with me. She asked me how my day was going and made some small talk about the weather. I answered politely, but I was really just focused on getting through the transaction as quickly as possible so I could move on to the next customer.

But then, something unexpected happened. As she handed me her credit card to pay, she looked me in the eyes and said, "You know, I can tell you're having a tough day. I just wanted to say thank you for all your hard work. I appreciate you."

I was taken aback. No one had ever said anything like that to me before. I stammered out a thank you, feeling embarrassed by how flustered I was getting. But as she left the store, I realized that her words had made a huge impact on me.

In that moment, I realized how important it is to be kind to others, even in small ways. Her words of appreciation had lifted my spirits and given me the motivation I needed to keep going. It made me realize that a small act of kindness can have a ripple effect, spreading positivity and joy to others.

After that day, I made a conscious effort to be kinder to everyone I encountered. I started smiling more, making eye contact, and engaging in small talk with customers. I made an effort to be more patient and understanding, even when dealing with difficult customers.

To my surprise, I found that this change in attitude had a profound effect not just on others, but on myself as well. I felt happier, more fulfilled, and more connected to the world around me. I realized that being kind to others was not just something that benefited them, but something that benefited me as well.

Over the years, I've tried to carry this lesson with me in all aspects of my life. I've learned that kindness and empathy are powerful tools that can help us connect with others, build relationships, and make a positive impact on the world. Whether it's a small act of kindness like holding the door open for someone, or a larger act like volunteering at a homeless shelter, every act of kindness can make a difference.

Looking back on that small moment in my life, I am grateful for the impact it had on me. It taught me the importance of empathy and kindness, and helped me become a better person. I am reminded that even the smallest moments can have a profound impact on our lives, and that we should always be open to the lessons they have to teach us.

Teenage yearsHumanity
1

About the Creator

Khayam Ilyas

A man who is trying to write something for you.

Just having some fun playing with words.

Please press the 'like' symbol if you read one of my stories and think it's deserving enough.

Either way, thank you so much for reading my work.

❤️❤️❤️❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.