Confessions logo

Karen Chronicles

The night I walked 200 guests!

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2

I am so happy now that I am in the position to share stories! One day I will be able to say that the pain was worth it.

We are almost there!

Once upon a time I was a full fledged Karen. Hay Dios Mio No Karen!

I wanted a career and nearly lost it all as a result. I lost folks that genuinely cared for me. I cared about a title, the money and I considered this an achievement. Fail Karen.. when you achieve you must help others.

Not with the life I had prior to Hospitality.. life prior to Hospitality was very much like the movie Slumdog Millionaire.

A miserable life for children who are used and abused by adults. That was me and I ok’d that.. fail again Karen. You are not supposed to Ok anything in this life.

The beauty of this life aka pain was that some folks at the workplace, actually treated me better than my own family.

I’m happy to announce that I will be that Slumdog Millionaire (Highland Ave in Yonkers New York)

Humble beginnings to say the least, why would I forget this?

Because us folks from the hood are trained to Ok trauma and demoralize Wellness.. this recipe is called ignorance and one year ago I said no more.. I’ve been blessed ever since.

One day I know I will be able to help others, this is my motivation.

I have experienced sadness for 39 years, 2021 I gave up.

I gave up on sadness and pain. I said yes to sanity and wellness.

It has been over one year now and I am proud of our accomplishments.

41 is looking sexy darling! Team Aries!

Back in 2014, I was depressed. However, I have always been goal oriented and becoming a General Manager at any NYC property was my mission.

I was only the Assistant Front Office Manager at the Park Central, so very early in that journey I’d say but at life I had already seen a few things by the time I landed at Park Central... I was gearing up for the point of no return!

Once a Karen always a Karen??

God said no! Not Diana Costas the motherfucking mark!

I am meant to be more than a Manager in this life.

I just needed to figure that out on my own.

And of course as an Aries...

I had to do it the hard way but at least I did it my way! Frank Sinatra style.

Back in the day I had no clue, I had to teach myself absolutely everything and today I can say this...

A lot of folks out there today do not have a clue and they are older than me.. Yikes.

That’s a sad life and no way no how will I sign up for that life ever again.

But back in 2014, I was ready, willing and able to be a full fledged Karen.

So much so that one day over at Park Central I walked 200 guests!

I used to work for a very well known Management company in New York City.

What were they known for? In hotel jargon this is known as Heads in Beds. Low rates, anything to sell the hotel out.

The Revenue Department is another beast in the game of Hospitality. For some folks percentage matters and for some folks ADR (average daily rate)

From my experience.. I want that ADR!

Thankfully, as a writer I can add comedy to the madness of my life.

Working at a Union strong property has taught me a lot about employment rules.

I am now thinking on a book on Employment Law! Knowing your rights matter.

As per usual, Diana learns the hard way. Fortunately back in 2014, I was on my way out.

Between Union drama, Life and Flames with No Names.. I needed a break.

One night I was even a Bellman! To this day I do not know the exact details.. I just know that hotel got a wake up call.

Union always wins fools!

General Manager’s walls busted by NYFD for breaking city codes.

Union employees were essentially on strike while on the job so us Managers had to do the dirty work.

I helped guests with luggage and walked 200 guests!

Forever and a day proud of myself for leaving that life behind. My love for writing is greater and I thank my baby girl Mia for reminding me of who I truly am.

I am not Karen Vasquez Paralegal, I am smart and I am a mom who loves to read, write, study and practice everything.

I have seen it all in these last 40 years, New York let’s do better ☮️

Humanity
2

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.