Confessions logo

Principles of Management

Berkeley College Edition

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2

Welcome to the vibe of knowledge! If I could sum up this journey in one word , that word would be.. WOW!

Titles really do it for some folks. Are you aware that’s just a name tag dear? You are are not your name tag, you are human. Let that sink in..

Managers/Supervisors/ Karen’s in training, I am begging you to do better.

Once upon a time, I was a Manager and after my baptism in 2017 I lost my zeal for hospitality.

I began to witness cruelty at the hands of Managers and I question myself.. was I ever that bad?

Naturally, I’m going say No but I can only think of one employee that I may have been cruel to.

This prompts me to reach out to her and ask that burning question... was I ever that bad?

My experience since being out of Management has been this..

Other Managers & employees drinking on the job and they fire me because I defended a Room Attendant who was being verbally abused by her Supervisor.

Another experience I personally witnessed was when I was a reservations agent, I come in at 11:04am and my shift starts at 11am. My Manager lost it, talking about the manual and how this was unacceptable.

From my experience as a Manager, I always thought there was a seven minute grace period. I could have been wrong in thinking this is the way at every job but to yell and literally throw the book at someone referring to the manual for being four minutes late sounds extreme.

May I remind you I have witnessed drinking on the job? For the simple fact that I do not kiss ass, I somehow some way have always found myself in some kind of trouble at the work place. I have a sectret...

If you do your job, at least what’s within your job description.. you do not have to kiss ass nor “switch up” because your Supervisor/Manager is around.

As long as your work is completed and you are respectful, there’s no need for the changing of your behavior because Management is around.

A confident employee is an awesome employee because the more productive a department the more income it’s bound to generate and you can only truly be successful when you have happy employees.

As a business owner, that is my ultimate goal as I intend on expanding one day how we treat others is highly important. I want my employees happy, work should never be stressful on purpose as we do not know what someone is going through in their personal life.

Sadly, in my journey I have witnessed folks behave much like elementary school children vs. adults at the workplace.

The wild emotional roller coasters/ temper tantrums.

The behavior was so bad at one job I asked the manager to fire me as she could not stop threatening my job. The all day daily threats finally got to me and I told her to just do it.

This Manager would talk about me behind my back, this was a very small office and I could actually hear her talking about me.

Single Mom struggles, I needed a job so I took it.

This behavior continues to this day unfortunately.

Fortunately, I trademarked The Vibe Podcast to include workplace culture.

However, because of this business venture I still have to work and sometimes experience this kind of treatment.

I’ve had a Supervisor tell me he’s going to write me up, no reason given and kicked me out his office.

When asked why he spoke to me in such a manner, because he was my Supervisor was the answer.

No where in my college studies is this behavior mentioned as being allowed, I know I did not sign off on this in my job description duties everyone has to sign when taking a job.

So, I don’t understand why some Supervisors/Managers think their titles entitles them to disrespect.

In the United States, that’s not allowed darling and I will break down how.

Because I do not understand this behavior, I was prompted to pull out my college notes and share them with the world!

We must do better, Americans do not want to work today and it’s not because we are lazy, it’s because we did not sign up for disrespect for eight hours a day.

As a former Manager, I agree! We must do better!

Let’s learn about the Principles of Management!

Wellness matters, even at the workplace we must take care of ourselves so I’m happy to share what I have learned at Berkeley College!

My major was Healthcare Administration Management.. no I did not graduate.

School is expensive! And I paid for it all myself!

But the good thing about an education is that you can apply this knowledge to your daily living.

I could not have trademarked our Podcast if it weren’t for my schooling at good ol Berkeley!

There are four major components in the art of Management.

POLC Functions- Planning, Organizing, Leading & Controlling.

Organizing departments, work relationships, coordinating, Human Resources.

You kind of have to be a Jack of all Trades, if you want to call yourself a Manager.

Motivating, encouraging, role modeling, evaluating, assessing, constructive criticism. Basic qualities to have in any departments.

What is your management style?

Please note controlling was mentioned last in POLC function, meaning not an area of major focus. Trust that you can indeed get more bees with honey, you try to force your way and you may get stung!

When you focus on other areas, you can control more easily.. that’s why it’s last so please be nicer to your employees.

Straight up controlling style of Management is dangerous as this is indicative of manipulative behavior.

I see this in today’s managers and I question.. where is this ship going Captain?

POLC methods are essential functions to assist Managers despite tremendous changes in their environment.

Means stick to the plan!

Roles of Managers-

1. Interpersonal- lead, liaison, figure head

2. Informational Role- Monitor information, disseminator. You are responsible for transmitting information about your organization and it’s goals to your employees.

3. Decision Maker- Entrepreneurial, disturbance resource allocation & negotiator.

Do you understand the seriousness of your position?

In my journey, I have witnessed Managers own their title but not own their positions.

Daring Diana will make you own your position baby.

Three skills of Managers- Conceptual, Interpersonal, Tech.

* If you do not possess these skills, please do not be a Manager.*

Main challenges- Diversity, personality, Religions, age, education. Technology, keeping current speed of communications. Globalization, how accessible is technology to all?

* Again, if you do not possess these skills, please do not be a Manager.*

Planning- Operational department tool for daily weekly goals.

In my journey I have witnessed many Americans not wanting to work and my experience has been that it is not due to laziness. I just don’t want to subject myself for eight hours.

I do want to work but please be kind!

I speak up for those who can’t!

Forever and a day proud I trademarked The Vibe Podcast to include workplace culture.

* Gentle reminder of what my notes meant on control. Controlling is about monitoring performance and making necessary changes in a timely manner. By controlling Managers make sure the organization’s resources are being planned properly.*

True success of a department is based upon respect. Please treat your employees respectfully.

Please use my college notes!

Workplace
2

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.