Confessions logo

It's been a while

Still fabulous

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
https://www.google.com/search?q=growth&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwjGl8rRg-z5AhUOlRoKHXAJC4QQ2-cCegQIABAA&oq=growth&gs_lcp=CgNpbWcQAzIHCAAQsQMQQzIHCAAQsQMQQzIECAAQQzIECAAQQzIECAAQQzIHCAAQsQMQQzIECAAQQzIICAAQgAQQsQMyCwgAEIAEELEDEIMBMggIABCABBCxAzoFCAAQgAQ6CAgAELEDEIMBULMFWKMaYPUbaABwAHgBgAGhAYgB6wmSAQQxNS4ymAEAoAEBqgELZ3dzLXdpei1pbWewAQDAAQE&sclient=img&ei=Aq4MY8aOMo6qavCSrKAI&bih=781&biw=1707#imgrc=jY6G_aD88Q9bgM

It's been some time since I sat down and put pen to paper, or more accurately, finger to key. Life has become hectic and full of the day-to-day activities that make my daughter frequent the 'I'm bored' saying and see my dogs sigh 50 times a day. But am I bored?

Not really.

I have become a cog in an ever-turning clock that never stops, but I'm sorry a clock may be a clock but it is also a work of art right?

I rise, I work, I love, I lay. Of course, I eat, shout, occasionally walk and sigh in between myself. But bored? Nope, I am never bored.

I'm still fat, I'm still foul-mouthed when it becomes appropriate to be, (some would argue it never is) and I am still in love with the works of literature and the arts. Of course, nowadays, most of my appreciation of the arts happens on Netflix. Although, I still listen to Opera weekly and I am at the end of my Arts and Humanities module at University having achieved a pass. That counts right?

I am a 31-year-old, large-arsed, overweight wife, mother and all-around Queen that works 10-hour days and still has time to fit in a Uni course, veterinary course, dinner dates with my mum and muse and activity days with the fam. (I promise to never say fam again).

My house is forever evolving to the comforts we strive to build from our childhood, and my appreciation for weekends has evolved since obtaining a job that requires me to never work them.

This weekend we have planned a camping trip, by a lake, with no wifi and only a little stove to heat our food. A mistake? Maybe. Am I looking forward to it? Absolutely. Most of my happiest, craziest and all-around exciting memories come from some of the mistakes I have made, so maybe this mistake will turn into a tradition with the fam, (Sorry I lied).

So an update on said fam, (I can't stop, I think I need to relive some sort of baggy jeaned arse out youth). The husband is indeed now a husband, I said yes and we did it. And so much has changed...

Not

Life went on, we just officially love each other now, because apparently, it wasn't official for the first 14 years of our lives together.

He still sleeps in, he still works hard, he still drives me crazy and he still drives me crazy, (not a typo).

My daughter is a preteen mess of beauty. Grades? Could be better. Attitude? Could be better. Personality? There is no room for improvement in that department. A bundle of sheer crazy, loveable, exhausting humiliation of imperfections and strangeness. Dancing? Better. Coordination? Vaguely improved. She has had boyfriend(s) all of which have been arseholes. (No biased, they truly have been) She has fallen out with old friends, made new ones and cried over many of the above. Fashion? Still strange but ever-evolving, (mama is proud of the individuality). Legs up to my head, eyes are ones of my brown eyes girl and forever a daddy's girl. However, the department of appreciation in that department has ever evolved. Still very much a daddy's girl but with that essence of maturity to appreciate all that I do for her and her dad.

I love her.

Hopefully next time I visit sooner.

Peace.

Kay x

Family
Like

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.